We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good option to see the canal”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Radisson Summit Hotel And Golf
Ranked #24 of 114 Hotels in Panama City
Certificate of Excellence
The Hague, The Netherlands
Level 6 Contributor
149 reviews
76 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
“Good option to see the canal”
Reviewed January 14, 2014

We stayed here for 3 nights. It was a good option to see the Panama Canal, at Miraflores. The hotel has a free shuttle bus to both there and the Albrook Mall (a tip, the trip back from the mall in the afternoon can take 1.5-2 hours due to the traffic, if we had known this we would've booked a taxi back earlier instead.
The rooms were of a good standard, everything working. Breakfast was good, with a wide variety of things on offer, included fresh waffles, omelettes and eggs cooked at a station.
The pool was nice, not a huge amount of room to sit around it, only around the childrens pool which was a shame, since they can be noisy!
Dinner in the restaurants was ok, nothing special but adequate.
We enjoyed our stay here.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank claphamaj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

916 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    416
    335
    116
    31
    18
See reviews for
350
338
20
85
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (107)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Copenhagen, Denmark
Level 6 Contributor
200 reviews
81 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 186 helpful votes
Reviewed January 10, 2014

We arrived late in the afternoon and the place felt like a ghost place with lots of staff who seemed there only for us! There were only 3 cars in the parking lot (including hours and we reckon the other 2 were staff!). The facilities are nice and really comfy and we had some delicious creative sushi as a snack in the bar.
The morning after the hotel was completely transformed as hundreds of golfers turned up!
Still, that left the pool mainly for us.
The location is NOT great for Panama city but for us it was good as were returning driving from Boquete (close to the Centenary Bridge) and the access to the Miraflores locks and the Allbrook airport is great.
The setting is very beautiful with lots of green areas. There is short nature trail with allegedly interesting creatures but we didn't spot many.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank HendrikM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Europe
Level 6 Contributor
294 reviews
275 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 247 helpful votes
Reviewed January 9, 2014

The Radisson hotel is located approx. 45-60 minutes (depending on traffic) from the International airport and about 15-20 from the national airport at Albrooke. The Miraflores locks of the Panama Canal (with visitors centre) are 10 minutes away. In the surroundings are many good hiking opportunities (we especially enjoyed the ‘pipeline’ hike). We paid 72 euro a night (breakfast buffet included). A good price and we enjoyed the facilities (nice lobby, two beautiful swimming pools, good size gym, butterfly garden and a well maintained 18 holes golf course). The rooms are as well of a good size, with a comfortable king size bed, chair, desk, fridge, bathroom with a nice shower and, depending on which room, a very small balcony (without table or chairs). Free, good functioning Internet. Breakfast buffet with cereals, different kind of bread, meat/cheese, fresh fruit and ‘eggs/waffles to be prepared as you wish”, So far so good. Why do we score rather low? We experience quite some less positive aspects:

1) at check in we were given a room with 2 queen beds (we had requested a king) but were told that we had ask for a queen. Our booking indicated however a king. We had to wait for a hour before this issue was solved in a nice manner by the manager.

2) service in the restaurant is slow and some of the waiters are unprofessional and do hardly speak English

3) there are two restaurants (one is a sport bar) and the other decorated without any atmosphere (definitely not for a cosy evening dining out). Strange is that both serve the same menu (with many –fat- options and not that many choices for vegetarians).

4) reception was often under staffed which resulted in rather long waiting. Staff was not aware of any suggestions for activities such as hikes in the surroundings.

Conclusion: a nice place with potential but it lacks quality of staff, service and food. This is what needs to be improved at Radisson Summit.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JAEMH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Jose, Costa Rica
Level 6 Contributor
21 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed January 8, 2014

I have had the fortune to play golf in 100s of courses and I can honestly say that this course is the worst I have played.

The greens were awful and no kept up. They had bald spots and clumps of weed in them. The sand traps - most did not have sand and the others had actual seashells in them. The service at the pro shop was depressing - like they didn't want to be there.

The only positive thing was the starter - a very nice guy that took the time to care.

The three of us felt like fools having paid $90 to play this course. Golfers stay away!!

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rohrmoser
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adrienne C, General Manager at Radisson Summit Hotel And Golf, responded to this review, January 9, 2014
We apologize you were not satisfied with the condition of the golf course during your stay. We appreciate you taking the time share your experience. Your comments are valued, and your suggestions will be used to consider improvements in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed January 2, 2014

My husband and I stayed at the Radisson Summit Hotel for 3 nights in November. The property itself is very nice. The lady who checked us in was a bit stand-offish - not very friendly. We told her we had asked when making the reservation for a crib to be put in the room since we were traveling with our infant daughter, and she assured us it was there. However, when we got to the room, it was not, which wasn't a big deal, but still annoying.

The room was small but very nice, same with the bathroom. Our balcony overlooked the golf course, so we had a pretty view. There is free wireless internet throughout the hotel as well, which was a nice touch.

The first day we were there, we went down to the pool. There was an infinity pool, which looked nice (but there was some sort of construction going on around the entrance to the pool, so it was unclear whether people were allowed to go in it or not), and there was a large regular pool as well. The "regular" pool had leaves and bugs floating in it everywhere, which is not an overstatement - there were things floating all over the place, likely due to the fact that the water level was incredibly low. It was about 2 - 3 feet high throughout the entire pool, so the water never reached where it needed to go to get filtered, which likely explains all the floating debris. The next day it rained, so the pool filled a little, but it was very strange that the water level was so low. The patio area around the pool was nice - plenty of lounge chairs and such.

The gym was just okay. There wasn't a lot of cardio equipment. The newish treadmill kept flashing an error message, so I had to use one that looked like the one my parents bought when I was a kid in the 80's. It WORKED, but still... They never replaced the towels in the gym either, so bring your own.

Breakfast was included in our rate, so we went to the one restaurant on the property (they advertise 2 restaurants, but only one was open, and there was hardly anyone there...) each morning. The breakfast was good - standard fare of eggs, bacon, omelettes, cereal, etc. For dinner, we went back to that same restaurant, just on the other side (the "two" restaurants are connected and apparently share the same menu). The hostess and waitresses speak almost no english, so communicating was a challenge... I get that it's Panama, and the language there is Spanish, but there has to be at least SOME modicum of understanding of basic English. High chair? You've never heard someone say "high chair?" Come on. The service at dinner was painfully slow. There was one other family in the restaurant. ONE. So, it's not as if there were dozens of people to serve before us.

On the second night there we ordered room service, which came well after it was promised. When we were finished, we put our plates outside the door, assuming that room service would come back and collect them. The next morning, they were still there. That evening, they were still there. THE FOLLOWING MORNING THEY WERE STILL THERE. That means that housekeeping SAW these dirty plates with food still on them multiple times and just left them there! Pretty gross.

Overall, the experience and the hotel were just okay. Certainly nothing to write home about, but nothing terrible either.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GTMBA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Myers
Level 5 Contributor
47 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed January 2, 2014 via mobile

Pros
1- our room was upgraded and it was very spacious
2- location near Panama Canal and the national park was convenient
3- the grounds were pretty and the butterfly garden was a nice touch / good playground for kids/ 2 pools
4- reception was friendly and efficient
Cons
1- service in the restaurant was lacking and the food was not particularly good
2- limited options for other local restaurants / you're kinda stuck at the hotel unless you want to go all the way back to panama cty
3- the tile floor in the room was extremely dirty
4- the game room was dirty, smelly, humid, and disgusting
5- I found the concierge did not provide much useful information - maybe a language barrier?

All in all this hotel was nice but could use a little improvement

  • Stayed December 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank travelsnobFortMyers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paramaribo, Suriname
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed December 12, 2013

The hotel in itself is good. I had a good room with a beautiful view of the golf fields. The grounds are very nice and you can visit the butterfly house. My biggest problem with the hotel was the fact that is almost 30 minutes drive from the nearest mall. And even though the hotel knows this they did not make any effort to make it more convenient for their guests to move around.

But overall is was a good hotel.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank gina g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Panama City hotels
8.7 mi away
DoubleTree By Hilton Panama City
5.3 mi away
Holiday Inn Panama Canal
Holiday Inn Panama Canal
#23 of 114 in Panama City
553 reviews
8.4 mi away
Tryp by Wyndham Panama Centro
Tryp by Wyndham Panama Centro
#22 of 114 in Panama City
1,165 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.1 mi away
Hotel Riu Plaza Panama
Hotel Riu Plaza Panama
#20 of 114 in Panama City
2,662 reviews
8.5 mi away
Best Western Plus Panama Zen Hotel
9.2 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Panama Canal, Panama
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Radisson Summit Hotel And Golf? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Radisson Summit Hotel And Golf

Property: Radisson Summit Hotel And Golf
Address: Avenida Omar Torrijos H, Panama City 0844-2014, Panama
Phone Number:
Location: Panama > Panama Province > Panama City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Romantic Hotel in Panama City
#6 Best Value Hotel in Panama City
#6 Family Hotel in Panama City
#17 Luxury Hotel in Panama City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Radisson Summit Hotel And Golf 4*
Number of rooms: 103
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Radisson Summit Hotel & Golf Panama is surrounded by 160 acres of lush rainforest around the Panama Canal, and is approximately 30 minutes from downtown Panama City. Lodging at our Hotel is a quiet alternative to downtown accommodations, while still providing free shuttle service to top attractions like the Miraflores Locks and the Albrook Shopping Center, both just a short drive from our hotel’s address in the Panama City area. While visiting our Panama hotel, you’ll also have access to exceptional on-site amenities, including our professional 18-hole golf course, full American breakfast, airport transportation, free wireless Internet access, two outdoor pools and a nature trail with a butterfly exhibit. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Carlson, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Cancelon, Hotwire, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Radisson Summit Hotel And Golf reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Radisson Summit Hotel And Golf Panama/Panama City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing