We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Radisson Summit Hotel And Golf
Ranked #25 of 115 Hotels in Panama City
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed August 5, 2012

Pretty surroundings on the continental divide with the rainforests all around. It was a good location for us since we were going on a 6:30am tour of Lake Gatun to see wildlife and to do some fishing. Our tour guide Juan was very good and knowledeable about the area. We did see a lot of wild life and also caugh 6 fish!
The hotel staff was also very nice, very helpful.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 02JLS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adrienne C, Manager at Radisson Summit Hotel And Golf, responded to this reviewResponded August 8, 2012

Dear Guest,
On behalf our our entire staff at Radisson we thank you for your business and we hope to see you again when your travels bring you back to the area.

Best Regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (933)
There are newer reviews for Radisson Summit Hotel And Golf
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

315 - 321 of 933 reviews

Reviewed July 16, 2012

Great location, clean and comfortable rooms, huge shower, pretty view, good breakfast, helpful staff...highly recommend!

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PTYtravelers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adrienne C, Manager at Radisson Summit Hotel And Golf, responded to this reviewResponded July 24, 2012

Dear Guest,
Thank you for your positive feedback. We look forward to your return.

Regards,
Adrienne

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 11, 2012

This hotel is a reflection of Radisson style and values, and I would stay here again. Other reviewers correctly point out that this is not in Panama City, so if you are looking to walk around from your room after dinner, stay downtown! Rooms were spacious and clean, bathroom was beautiful (I am thinking of a remodel of my on home after seeing this one), staff was courteous, helpful, and someone nearby always spoke English. The restaurant was very nice and diners complimented the food. Hotel is about a 15 minute cab ride from the Miraflores Visitors Center (without traffic), and the front desk can arrange a lift. They use their own van when available, but do charge for the ride at about the same rate as a taxi. Trip to the international airport can take over an hour during the AM rush hour. Trip to the domestic airport and astonishingly large Albrook mall is about 20 minutes and $20-25. Another reviewer wrote that a trip to downtown was $45-50 - this seems very high to me. I think $30 is about right, but as always, agree to a fare before you get in the taxi. The fast WiFi service is free. Not sure if it would be so fast during high season when the place is (presumably) packed with golfers.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank LarryBoston
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management response:Responded July 13, 2012

Dear Guest,
On behalf of our entire staff at Radisson Summit Hotel & Golf Panama, we would like to thank you for taking the time to provide us with your valuable comments. Feedback like this always help us improve our service.

Best Regards,
Adrienne

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 22, 2012

I am trying to book this hotel for Dec 25-31. The Radisson web site lists a special rate that is discounted 30% for every second night. The regular rate includes a buffet breakfast. However the rate information for the special rate does not list the buffet breakfast. Since the charge for two persons for the buffet breakfast is likely to be more than the difference ($25) between the regular rate and the special rate I do not understand the claim that the special rate is a discount. It is like getting a discount for buying a car that is ordinarily sold with tires and finding that with the discount there are no tires!

Since the manager of the hotel reads TripAdvisor I am hoping that he will agree that the rate information for the discounted rate is in error, and change the rate description so that the discounted rate includes breakfast. Otherwise I will regard the so-called 'discount' to be a 'bait and switch' tactic.

Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
Thank marcoithaca
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management response:Responded June 25, 2012

Dear Mr. Marcoithaca,
Thank you very much for taking your time to give us your valuable comments. Unfortunately, the rate that you are inquiring about is a discounted rate and as such, the breakfast buffet is not included. For your information, our breakfast buffet is not $25.00, it is much less, and you also have the option to choose from our regular breakfast menu should you desire.

Our intent is and will always be to provide you with a wonderful experience while staying with us, and the discount rate that we are offering for this time of the year is very reasonable.

Best Regards,
Adrienne
VP

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 15, 2012

I stayed 1 night here and enjoyed the view and rooms. The drive outside the city can take a while, although it is close to Miraflores which is probably a big part of your itinerary if touring Panama City for the first time.

Our room had a damp smell to it that may have been exacerbated by the small openings in the windows that we didn't notice until late at night. Be sure to close this for sleeping to avoid bugs visiting!

The included breakfast was good, if basic, and service was attentive, especially by local standards. Wi-fi was free and reasonably fast [adequate for browsing and audio calls on Skype, etc.] The bathroom had especially nice rainfall showers with pebble flooring that we enjoyed.

Oddly, the hotel stated at check-in that they appeared to be overbooked the 2nd night, and in the end the staff asked us to change hotels the 2nd day. I'm not sure if something got lost in translation. At any rate, we were provided a free ride to the Holiday Inn a few miles closer to town. I would've liked to explore the amenities further [pools looked nice] but we were OK with the change in the end.

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank joephoo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 15, 2012

Literature states the hotel is situated just outside of Panama City and just minutes from the Panama Canal. Well, if you consider a $45-$50 taxi into the city, one way, ‘just outside Panama City’ or, depending on traffic, an hour-plus drive into the city, then it would be a true statement.

Yes, its setting is tropical with beautiful views. And, the hotel is nicely appointed, clean lines, modern. But unless you golf or simply want to 'do nothing', there really isn’t any reason to choose this hotel.

We’d heard that taxis in the city are regulated and cheap, so we didn’t think that being ‘outside of town’ was going to be a mistake. But, even the ride to the Miraflores Locks (10 minutes) costs you anywhere from $20-26 one way. And, since you’re out in the boonies, you’d best have a relationship with a taxi driver from town, otherwise the hotel up-charges for a taxi into town. Thankfully, we’d made friends with Transporte Torres (907) 6624-1668. They picked us up when we arrived in Panama and delivered us to Albrook. From Bocas del Toro to Panama City, they again picked us up at Albrook and took us to the Radisson Summit. One night we used them to take us into town for dinner and they also did our early morning departure flight back home to the states. Great father/son Taxi Company -- reliable and dependable.

Our first night at the hotel, we had dinner at La Jacana. This is their full-service restaurant and they were supposed to offer international and gourmet cuisine. Two of the selections we ordered they didn’t have, so we had to figure out what else sounded good. The food was horrible and cold. The drinks were expensive for what we got and the restaurant was anything BUT ‘exceptional’ as they state on their website. And, you’re a captive audience. Sad when there are so many world-class restaurants in the city.

PROS:
Nice hotel/layout/public spaces
Clean
Adequate amenities in room
Daysi at the front desk is very helpful
They adjusted our bill due to water outages
If you golf…I’m sure it’s a great place to stay
Pool area is nice and there is plenty of shade
Coffee/water/tea and snack bars in the lobby if you have an early flight
Birds and butterfly watching is good

CONS:
Both mornings of our stay, the hotel was without hot water (not good when getting ready to travel 20 hours home!)
They up-charge for everything they can (do not book activities through hotel, nor transportation)
Restaurants are not good including the breakfast buffet
Way too many Americans; older clientele

My recommendation: Stay in the city when you’re spending time in Panama City. Stay at Radisson Summit if you’re a golfer or an older American who wants to stay in a hotel that feels familiar...or you simply want to lay around in an nice hotel.

Room Tip: Forest view on a top floor
  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank PALTravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jcalvoc, General Manager at Radisson Summit Hotel And Golf, responded to this reviewResponded May 21, 2012

Dear Guest

On behalf of our entire staff at Radisson Summit Hotel & Golf Panama we apologize for the concerns you shared about your experience at this hotel. We are working diligently to correct these issues and I am grateful that you brought them to my attention.

Just Want to let you know that we decided to cancel the current private taxi services and provide our own transport services for the benefit of Radisson Summit guests. Part of this new service is a Free Shuttle Service to a from Albrook Mall twice a day for the moment. Transportation servicies to the city will be even less than a regular taxi in Panama city.

Please again accept our sincere apology and we will do our best to correct our services inmediatly

Warmest Regards
Jose Calvo
GM

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 11, 2012

It’s hard to know where to begin. We picked this hotel because we spent several nights in Panama City, and we wanted a relaxing place with a pool outside the city in the rain forest. The Radisson seemed to fit the bill.

Things went wrong immediately on our arrival. We booked a “Stay and Drive” package on the Radisson website months before our trip. We were interested in staying at the hotel only if we had a car, because it is not near anything. When we arrived at the hotel, the staff said they never heard of the package, even though it was listed on our confirmation. At one point, they had a brainstorm and said that the car must mean a golf cart….

Anyway, we never ended up with a car. The next day we were told we would have to pay more for the car, beyond the package price. After we pointed out that our rate included the car, it finally arrived. It was pretty dinged up with no gas or map of the hotel’s area …so we had no idea where we could even get gas. We ended up sending the car away. It was supposed to come back with a full tank of gas and a map, but it didn’t. After much discussion, the hotel let us use the shuttle without a charge when it was available, but even that became stressful when the shuttle didn’t pick us up one afternoon from the Miraflores Locks.

Regarding the hotel itself, the rooms are nice, and the staff was very apologetic and tried really hard to correct the problems. We liked the employees and appreciated their efforts on our behalf. On the other hand, the food was mediocre, and the dining room was completely empty when we were there.

The puzzling thing is when we returned to the U.S. and told Radisson that it booked a package that the hotel didn’t know about, the representative said the hotel creates its own packages, and the staff must have known about the “Stay and Drive” option. So, both sides blamed the other. In the end, Radisson did give us a voucher for a night at any of its hotels.

Needless to say, we lost a lot of our short vacation time trying to straighten out the mess…and it was far from the relaxing stay that we had initially envisioned.

Stayed: April 2012, traveled with family
1  Thank jag1jag1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jcalvoc, Manager at Radisson Summit Hotel And Golf, responded to this reviewResponded May 17, 2012

Dear Madam,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review for our hotel at tripadvisor.

On behalf of our entire staff at Radisson Summit Hotel & Golf Panama we apologize for the concerns you shared about your experience at this hotel. I have addressed all the situation to our Front Office Manager so we can work inmediatly to correct this hotel package service with our team, and I assure you we are working diligently to ensure a similar situation does not occur again in the future.

This is totally our fault and I will make sure that any offer should be inspected and operate before put it in any of our systems. Our Staff maybe did try to make you feel comfortable but as you mention everything start at your arrival as the first impression.

We appreciate the feedback and will use it to fine tune our operations in the hope that upon your next visit we can exceed your expectations.

Sincerely
Jose Calvo
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Panama City
5.3 mi away
Holiday Inn Panama Canal
Holiday Inn Panama Canal
#24 of 115 in Panama City
573 reviews
8.7 mi away
DoubleTree By Hilton Panama City
8.5 mi away
Best Western Plus Panama Zen Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.4 mi away
Tryp by Wyndham Panama Centro
Tryp by Wyndham Panama Centro
#20 of 115 in Panama City
1,182 reviews
24.3 mi away
Melia Panama Canal
Melia Panama Canal
#1 of 9 in Colon
622 reviews
9.1 mi away
Hotel Riu Plaza Panama
Hotel Riu Plaza Panama
#19 of 115 in Panama City
2,695 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Radisson Summit Hotel And Golf? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Radisson Summit Hotel And Golf

Address: Avenida Omar Torrijos H, Panama City 0844-2014, Panama
Phone Number:
Location: Panama > Panama Province > Panama City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Romantic Hotel in Panama City
#6 Best Value Hotel in Panama City
#6 Family Hotel in Panama City
#18 Luxury Hotel in Panama City
Price Range: $60 - $88 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Radisson Summit Hotel And Golf 4*
Number of rooms: 103
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Radisson Summit Hotel & Golf Panama is surrounded by 160 acres of lush rainforest around the Panama Canal, and is approximately 30 minutes from downtown Panama City. Lodging at our Hotel is a quiet alternative to downtown accommodations, while still providing free shuttle service to top attractions like the Miraflores Locks and the Albrook Shopping Center, both just a short drive from our hotel’s address in the Panama City area. While visiting our Panama hotel, you’ll also have access to exceptional on-site amenities, including our professional 18-hole golf course, full American breakfast, airport transportation, free wireless Internet access, two outdoor pools and a nature trail with a butterfly exhibit. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Carlson, Hotels.com, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Radisson Summit Hotel And Golf reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Radisson Summit Hotel And Golf Panama/Panama City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing