We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Best hostel in Panama City!”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of La Jungla Hostal

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Panama City
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
La Jungla Hostal
London
1 review
“Best hostel in Panama City!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 6, 2009

A brilliant hostel. We stayed for a week and it had a great location in Panama City, close to shops, restaurants, bars and nightlife, and was the perfect base for trips further afield - the staff offered excellent advice on and were extremely helpful in arranging trips to a local indigenous village and to the San Blas islands. The advice also extended to what else we should see in Panama and Central America after we left the hostel, and helped set us up for the rest of our trip. The hostel is also a lot of fun, with a great balcony for chilling on, drinking and meeting other travellers. The owners are good fun too - make sure you play a round of drinking Golf with Ryan! It might be worth paying an extra dollar or two to upgrade to a private air-conditioned room as the dorm did get quite hot, but other than that this hostel is excellent and comes highly recommended. I will definitely stay here next time I visit Panama City!

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Whiterz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

27 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    6
    6
    5
    8
    2
See reviews for
1
9
7
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
belgium
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 20, 2009

Definitely,,, it is the best hostel in Panama city, the staff is very friendly and ready to help you,,,This hostel is close to restaurants, spots bar, casinos, and mini markets,,,, I just had to walked 3 minuts and you will find it.. they made me feel realy save and secure.
I loved the Mrs. Martha's Pacakes that were delicious and FREE!!!
I WILL BACK THERE AGAIN.

  • Stayed November 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ivan2477
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
noruega
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 19, 2009

Great location and friendly staff make it excellent place to stay. The hostel is very clean.
Pleasant place, clean, beds comfortable, close to the centre of town and esy to get anywhere. Friendly atmosphere depending on which gueats are around

  • Stayed November 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cotote
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
usa
1 review
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 23, 2009

i didn't really like this place much, it didn't deliver what i thought it would form reading reviews online. i won't be going back and i definitely won't be recommending it to anyone else on my travels.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank itchy_feet12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Panama City hotels

Plantation, Florida
Level Contributor
21 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 6, 2009

I traveled with a group of 10. We were absolutely exhausted after traveling all day from Boquete. I made arrangements beforehand to stay at La Jungla for one night. When we discussed the details with the owner, she told us that we'd be able to have two of our own rooms and she'd be able to arrange a large van to taxi us to the airport the next morning. Needless to say, neither happened. When we arrived we had one room for 8 alone and the other 2 had to go in another room on a different floor. This just made getting up 3 am for our flight a bit annoying. Someone had to run upstairs to wake up the 2 girls. As far as the taxi the next morning, the owner wasn't able to get a van for us to take to the airport in the morning (The man she normally used didn't want to wake up). Fortunately, we saved the number of another taxi guy we used when we flew into Panama City. Our stay in La Jungla was ok. not fantastic. Not terrible. The spaces were decent. There are nice balconies and common areas. The bathrooms are clean as well. I don't know that I'd ever stay at LaJungla again, but, on the same token, I don't know that I'd ever want to spend much time in Panama City again.

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank slhicks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Level Contributor
12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 24, 2009

Central location in business district which is safe to walk around and enjoy the amenities at night ....good restaurants, shops, casino's, bars and nightclubs. Spacious small family hostel ...the cleanest I have ever stayed in. Lovely balcony, huge kitchen and spacious lounge. All rooms are big with good storage. Felt very safe. Did not see the swimming pool and although they advertised aircon it was only a fan but it was cool at night.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Saltydog66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Panama City hotels
0.1 mi away
AZ Hotel & Suites
AZ Hotel & Suites
#68 of 116 in Panama City
3.5 of 5 bubbles 112 reviews
0.2 mi away
Ramada Panama Centro Via Argentina
0.2 mi away
Tryp by Wyndham Panama Centro
Tryp by Wyndham Panama Centro
#18 of 116 in Panama City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,110 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
The Saba Hotel
The Saba Hotel
#57 of 116 in Panama City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 139 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Milan
Hotel Milan
#56 of 116 in Panama City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 326 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Panama
Hilton Garden Inn Panama
#25 of 116 in Panama City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 723 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to La Jungla Hostal? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Jungla Hostal

Property: La Jungla Hostal
Address: Calle 49a Oeste y Via Argentina, Panama City, Panama
Location: Panama > Panama Province > Panama City
Hotel Style:
Ranked #65 of 110 Specialty Lodging in Panama City
Number of rooms: 26
Also Known As:
La Jungla Hostal Hotel Panama City
La Jungla Hostal Panama/Panama City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing