We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Friendly, chilled out place to stay with restaurants nearby”
Review of B&B Casa Margarita

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Panama City
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
B&B Casa Margarita
Ranked #13 of 79 Panama City B&B and Inns
Reviewed January 7, 2013

Sonia and others we met were very welcoming and happy to answer any questions we had. Also, breakfast was lovely in the garden. There are a few restaurants nearby so worth asking for directions as it's not immediately obvious where they are. This was a quiet and relaxing location to be in and would be a good option on arriving or leaving Panama City and needing a few nights to start/finish. The only challenge we had was in getting taxis back when some either got lost or wouldn't take us as they said ti was too far. Could have been bad luck on our part rather than a problem. Panama City hotels are pricey so Margarita was good value

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Diane_Ldn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BBMargarita, Gerente at B&B Casa Margarita, responded to this reviewResponded April 6, 2013
Google Translation

Muchas gracias por tus comentarios, para quienes nos esforzamos a diario para hacer que tu estadía en Casa Margarita sea confortable, relajante y placentera, es altamente satisfactorio saber que hemos logrado nuestra meta. Desafortunadamente el conocimiento de direcciones por parte de los taxistas en bastante limitado ya que San Francisco es uno de los Barrios mas antiguos, céntricos y exclusivos de la ciudad y deberían conocerlo muy bien.
Agradeciendo tus comentarios quedamos en la espera de recibirte en este tu hogar en Panamá nuevamente en un futuro cercano.
Saludos

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (155)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

32 - 38 of 155 reviews

Reviewed January 1, 2013

Owners were very attentive- helped with dinner reservations, made restaurant suggestions, called an airport taxi, etc. Breakfast was one of the best we had in panama - on the patio with fresh fruit, eggs to order , cereal, and the like. The only downside is that the hotel is not within easy walking distance to restaurants, but that is a problem that plagues much of panama city. It's not very pedestrian friendly ( but the neighborhood is very safe and we did walk around- there just isn't much around there at night).

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank galatea256
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BBMargarita, Gerente at B&B Casa Margarita, responded to this reviewResponded April 6, 2013
Google Translation

Muchas gracias por tus comentarios, para quienes nos esforzamos a diario para hacer que tu estadía en Casa Margarita sea confortable, relajante y placentera, es altamente satisfactorio saber que hemos logrado nuestra meta. En efecto como dices en Panamá los lugares para visitar están un poco dispersos... pero afortunadamente en San Francisco hay muchas opciones de restaurantes y otras opciones a los que se puede llegar de forma fácil y segura aun en las noches.
Agradeciendo tus comentarios quedamos en la espera de recibirte en este tu hogar en Panamá nuevamente en un futuro cercano.
Saludos

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 4, 2012

Considering this was an "Our Pick" in Lonely Planet (not that they're always current), I thought the hotel was overpriced.

I paid $57 for a single room w breakfast. I have previously stayed at the Hostal Aleman, getting the same for less hassle for $20 in Panama Viejo.

The most off-putting part of my stay was that the latches has been removed, so windows don't/can't open. I did not like being in a room without fresh air, especially considering what I paid.


I also found the manager difficult to work with, not knowing bus information from Albrook or being able to help with the windows, though she is aware other travellers have complained about this. I did not get the impression that she cared much about my concerns, or had a desire to help.

If this B&B/hostel were $30 or $35, it'd be a good deal, but at near $60, I would not return.

  • Stayed: October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Brittany D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BBMargarita, Owner at B&B Casa Margarita, responded to this reviewResponded October 11, 2012

We regret that your experience was not a desirable one. We cannot open the windows because of bugs. We are not located by the beach or by the mountains so not sure why you would like to let the noise and bugs come in. Also please consider that transportation services are limited, again you are in a very new country, buses are not that common, must people take taxis. We are a family owned and managed B&B, nothing fancy but clean and customer service oriented, we regret that you felt that our staff didn’t have a desire to help. As far as our prices I believe we are competitive and fair. Anyway thanks for your business and God bless!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 25, 2012

We stayed here our first two and last two days in Panama City and really enjoyed it. They arranged for a taxi from and back to the airport. Parque Omar is worth the visit and is a close walking distance from Casa Margarita. Breakfast was great, served outside on the patio overlooking the garden. A taxi cab is a short walk to a one of the major roads. Sonia was very nice and helpful. We definitely would stay here again!

Room Tip: We stayed in two different rooms. #1 is larger, closer to the front door, however it is more diffic...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank wallbs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BBMargarita, Owner at B&B Casa Margarita, responded to this reviewResponded September 27, 2012

Thank you so much for the kind words my parents and our staff work really hard to make sure everyone has a good experience. Thank you also on behalf of Sonia that makes everything happen around here! On behalf of our team THANK YOU!!!!!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 4, 2012

Enjoyed our stay. The hotel is basic, but very clean. The beds are comfortable (lots of pillows), shower is great, breakfast is generous and served on the patio overlooking the garden. The location is in an upscale residential neighborhood, safe and near major streets so it's easy to get a taxi, but without a lot of street noise. It is walking distance to the convention center.

Sonia the manager is wonderful. She was always smiling and very helpful with getting taxis and handling phone calls in Spanish.

Would definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank bocasbeachbum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BBMargarita, Owner at B&B Casa Margarita, responded to this reviewResponded September 27, 2012

Thank you so much for your kind words, from all of us, the owners, Sonia and all our staff. We appreciate your business, we hope you will return and we thank you for your stay and for your review!!!!

All the Best!!!!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 11, 2012

The staff was very friendly and rooms were basic but clean. However, it was quite expensive for such basic accomodations. There was no view out the window and windows were encased with metal bars. No good selection of restaurants closeby. Despite breakfast being included in the price of the room it was not desirable...a lot of fried food and not sure what it was. At least there was fresh fruit to eat and juice and coffee.

Room Tip: Too much in a residential area and not convenient to restaurants. Right nextdoor to a school which...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank llw2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BBMargarita, General Manager at B&B Casa Margarita, responded to this reviewResponded August 16, 2012

We are sorry that your experience with us was not as good as you expected it to be.
We are a small B&B family owned and managed and by no means, nothing fancy. We pride ourselves in providing clean rooms, and good customer service. We are not located by the ocean or a park, we are in centric area so of course there is no “view”. However you can see our photos and also others guest photos and get an idea, prior to make a reservation. We don't advertise to be somthing we are not.
We are a Latin family and must of the time we offer Venezuelan breakfast (arepas, scramble eggs, etc.) I am glad that at least you liked the fruit, juice and coffee.
Thank you again for your business!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 6, 2012

I read about this wonderful place in Lonely Planet. It was absolutely delightful. The staff helped me arrange tours and even advised me on the appropriate fares for taxis.The breakfasts were tasty, varied and plentiful. The location near the beautiful Parque Omar was great for recreation.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dkbill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BBMargarita, Owner at B&B Casa Margarita, responded to this reviewResponded February 21, 2014

Hi, How you doing? thanks for your review. It is a pleasure to take care of you.
Please come by to drink a coffee and share a while with us.
Regards from your friends at Hostal Casa Margarita

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Panama City hotels
6.8 mi away
Casa Anita
Casa Anita
#1 of 2 in Las Cumbres
251 reviews
2.6 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Panama
Hilton Garden Inn Panama
#38 of 115 in Panama City
826 reviews
2.8 mi away
No photo provided
Hotel Valencia
#43 of 79 in Panama City
9 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.2 mi away
Hotel Riu Plaza Panama
Hotel Riu Plaza Panama
#21 of 115 in Panama City
2,793 reviews
7 mi away
The Westin Playa Bonita Panama
2.6 mi away
DoubleTree By Hilton Panama City
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to B&B Casa Margarita? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about B&B Casa Margarita

Address: Calle Las Dalias | Casa 97, San Francisco, Panama City, Panama
Location: Panama > Panama Province > Panama City
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #13 of 79 B&Bs / Inns in Panama City
Price Range: $60 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Beautiful B&B (Non Smoking) located in the heart of Panama City, Panama. We are 5 minutes away from Centro de Convenciones de ATLAPA, 5 minutes away from Corredor Sur (via Tocumen) and 7 minutes away from the "zona bancaria". Family owned, in one of the best areas of Panama: San Francisco,just a few minutes away from great dining, bars, night clubs and shopping as well as very close to Omar Park. All our rooms are equipped with air conditioning, cable TV and free internet access and WIFI. Our simple but cozy rooms are cleaned daily, and we serve a delicious breakfast every morning, which includes: fresh fruits and juice, cereals, yogurt, fresh bread, ham and cheese and a selection of local products. And if you like international foods ask Margarita about her Arepas from Venezuela! All served in our lovely terrace with tables, chairs and hammocks. We offer airport pick-up and delivery as well as city tours. Please inquire via email for tours since price is based on volume and location. Please come and enjoy our family atmosphere and the great service and warmth that only a family owned accommodation can offer!!! Excellent price/value! Breakfast included! We offer Airport pick up and delivery from Tocumen Airport and Albrook. We are looking forward to welcoming you in our home in Panama City!!!! ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Bed And Breakfast Casa Margarita
b&b Casa Margarita Hotel Panama City
B&B Casa Margarita Panama/Panama City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing