We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Ticked all the boxes”
Review of B&B Casa Margarita

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
B&B Casa Margarita
Ranked #13 of 79 Panama City B&B and Inns
Perth, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
39 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“Ticked all the boxes”
Reviewed October 29, 2011

We really enjoyed our stay here. The host family were great and always willing to help out.
Breakfast provided was very good.
The rooms were basic but were clean as were the bathrooms.
I have to agree with previous reviews about the location. Yes it is not in the centre of panama but it is cheap and easy to get a taxi down the road to go where you need.
We felt safe in the area even at night using taxis.
There is quite a bit of noise that comes from the school next door in the morning so of you like to sleep in bring your earplugs of you are there on a school day.
We would stay here again

  • Stayed August 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank OzSaltyDogs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

155 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    102
    44
    7
    1
    1
See reviews for
23
54
31
14
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Geneva, Switzerland
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed October 19, 2011

I stayed in Casa Margarita for 12 days recently. The B & B is really nice and well located. The staff is extremely kind and give personalized attention (extra serve of papayas for breakfast!). Breakfast is home-made and delicious, including local dishes like "arepas con queso". Gianni is very reliable, and punctual and will be there waiting in the airport for you. The rooms are clean with nice sheets and towels, and the mattresses firm and nice, the only downside is that windows in some rooms cannot be opened because of the mosquitos, but the air conditioner makes up and works welll. Thank you for a lovely stay in Panama...

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Clea P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BBMargarita, Owner at B&B Casa Margarita, responded to this review, October 20, 2011
Thank you so much for the kind words, it means a lot to my parents, my brother and myself!
God Bless!

Ida
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beirut, Lebanon
1 review
Reviewed October 6, 2011

We were referred to Casa Margarita and we loved our time here,,,NO REGRETS,,, we stayed a total of 10 days and each day the family were as welcoming and generous with us. We were supposed to stay here for less days but we canceled our other hotel, since we found Casa Margarita so homey.

We didn't feel we were in a B&B but more like in our own house. The owners are amazing. They try to assist in every way possible. Gianni their son is so helpful. The mother and father tried to give us many options to diversify our breakfast and were very generous.

The rooms were very clean and spacious, and the bathroom as well. They offer shower caps and soap. There is practically everything around the house a nice park, a big mall, as well as laundry services,,, and going around is very cheap. When you come back you feel you are back home.

The rates was fair for the service and as a couple the price was very convenient. Our friends stayed in a hotel and paid more and didnt get the same breakfast and didnt have our nice garden, plus the rooms were smaller.

There was very fast internet as well. Nice hammocks on the terrace.

Room Tip: Room #1 was great
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SeaGull294480
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BBMargarita, Owner at B&B Casa Margarita, responded to this review, October 20, 2011
Thank you so very much on behalf of my family! We are very grateful for all the wonderful people that we get to meet and welcome in our place!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Haifa, Israel
Level 5 Contributor
41 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed September 11, 2011

this place is very nice and the people are extremly helpfull. the breakfast is good and have a great variety.
location is also very good - there are some restaurants and a big supermarket whithin 5 minutes walk. multiplaza mall is also in walking distance (about 20 minutes)

the rooms are clean and comfortable. the only problem i had that they are a bit dated.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Yaarag
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Berne
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed August 27, 2011

We stayed in this hotel for a couple of nights, and it was absolutely correct. That said, we had to readjust our expectations a bit at our arrival. The house and the rooms are not as cosy and chic as we thought after reading LP. Then, the area is maybe safe, but at the same time pretty boring, you need a taxi to go anywhere. Finally, don't think about sleeping in because it gets very noisy between 6 and 7 am because of a school right next to the hotel. In light of all this, the rooms are probably a bit overprized. But still, not bad.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Marie_Line_8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BBMargarita, Manager at B&B Casa Margarita, responded to this review, August 29, 2011
We are very sorry that we didn't meet your expectations.
Indeed there is a school near our place and we cannot control the level of noise.
We are a small family owned and managed B&B and not a chain hotel so we do not decorate our rooms to that extent.
We strive to provide a clean and comfortable room, we are by no means “chic” or “fancy”, just plain clean and simple.
Lonely Planet specifies clearly the neighborhood location and accommodations, you can always visit our website and get a clear picture of our rooms and common areas, you can easily see from there that we are not a “boutique” hotel.
We are located in a very safe area of Panama very close to parks and restaurants; however we are not located near any clubs, pubs or such. If you are looking for nightlife you must choose a different area of town.
Finally we appreciate your business and we hope your visit was not all that bad!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Utrecht, The Netherlands
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed August 20, 2011

During our tour through Panama we spent 2 nights in Panama city. Margarita is not just an average hostel. On the contrary: It is a very welcoming b & b at the edge of the "real" center of Panama (just what you really call center). A great base to Panama city and from there to visit all the highlights. The rooms are clean and fully equipped. Breakfast in the beautiful garden is very good! Unlike many other neighborhoods in Panama city by dark you can take a walk around the block, eat or walk to the supermarket in the evening without any problem. Buses and taxis are also within walking distance which will bring you to bars, discos and restaurants for max. $ 2.
The personalized hospitality of the family is heartwarming and makes you feel at home!

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank J en M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richmond, Virginia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed August 9, 2011

I was in Panama City for a couple of days waiting for a flight out and had some papers to write, so this was the perfect place for that. This is not a "hostal" by any means, so not sure why they named it that way. It's a charming bed and breakfast. Spacious white room (nice linens, lots of pillows) with fast wireless internet, AC and TV. Bathroom was also spacious and clean (and after traveling many years for business and pleasure in nice hotels, I have to say their bars of soap might just be the best I've had). Nice garden area with dining tables outside, where lovely breakfast is served or you can do work. The owners and staff were very accommodating and kind. They don't really speak English, but their son who was around does. I got away with my very basic Spanish. It was $66 for one person, which was a bit pricey compared to other options, but totally worth it for the peace and comfort!

I highly recommend CM to everyone, except maybe those who want to be right smack in the center of things or who want their hotel to arrange tours and such in English.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ttn2n
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Panama City hotels
0.6 mi away
Best Western Plus Panama Zen Hotel
1.0 mi away
Hyatt Place Panama City Downtown
Hyatt Place Panama City Downtown
#11 of 114 in Panama City
838 reviews
1.0 mi away
The Bristol Panama Hotel & SPA
The Bristol Panama Hotel & SPA
#8 of 114 in Panama City
773 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Global Hotel Panama
Global Hotel Panama
#1 of 114 in Panama City
640 reviews
0.1 mi away
Panama House Bed & Breakfast
Panama House Bed & Breakfast
#9 of 107 in Panama City
76 reviews
0.2 mi away
Baru Lodge
Baru Lodge
#9 of 79 in Panama City
194 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to B&B Casa Margarita? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about B&B Casa Margarita

Property: B&B Casa Margarita
Address: Calle Las Dalias | Casa 97, San Francisco, Panama City, Panama
Location: Panama > Panama Province > Panama City
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #13 of 79 B&Bs / Inns in Panama City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Beautiful B&B (Non Smoking) located in the heart of Panama City, Panama. We are 5 minutes away from Centro de Convenciones de ATLAPA, 5 minutes away from Corredor Sur (via Tocumen) and 7 minutes away from the "zona bancaria". Family owned, in one of the best areas of Panama: San Francisco,just a few minutes away from great dining, bars, night clubs and shopping as well as very close to Omar Park. All our rooms are equipped with air conditioning, cable TV and free internet access and WIFI. Our simple but cozy rooms are cleaned daily, and we serve a delicious breakfast every morning, which includes: fresh fruits and juice, cereals, yogurt, fresh bread, ham and cheese and a selection of local products. And if you like international foods ask Margarita about her Arepas from Venezuela! All served in our lovely terrace with tables, chairs and hammocks. We offer airport pick-up and delivery as well as city tours. Please inquire via email for tours since price is based on volume and location. Please come and enjoy our family atmosphere and the great service and warmth that only a family owned accommodation can offer!!! Excellent price/value! Breakfast included! We offer Airport pick up and delivery from Tocumen Airport and Albrook. We are looking forward to welcoming you in our home in Panama City!!!! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda so you can book your B&B Casa Margarita reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bed And Breakfast Casa Margarita
b&b Casa Margarita Hotel Panama City
B&B Casa Margarita Panama/Panama City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing