We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“TripAdvisor reviewers got it right”
Review of Toscana Inn Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Toscana Inn Hotel
Ranked #14 of 114 Hotels in Panama City
Certificate of Excellence
Escondido, California
Level 4 Contributor
40 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“TripAdvisor reviewers got it right”
Reviewed March 24, 2014

Chose the Toscana inn Hotel in Panama City, Panama based on the reviews on TrapAdvisor. I was not disappointed. It is a nice very clean, friendly, safe, and a great location, just as stated by the reviewers.
I was there for nine days, all the staff that I encountered were friendly and helpful. One of the staff a bell person, Jose Eligio make my trip for me. He was so helpful in lining up tours and answering my hundred and one questions of where to eat where to see Etc. Jose found me a driver and car and took me off the beaten path to places I would never found on my own.
If I were to go back to Panama this would be my only choice. I am a walker and I went out during the day and evening and never felt in harms way.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Don M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

994 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    603
    309
    68
    8
    6
See reviews for
194
372
93
140
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (150)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
play del rey, ca
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed March 24, 2014

This is a first class hotel and outstanding bargain. Just stayed here and highly recommend it. Price includes a good breakfast, plenty of reading material ion loby, rooms updated and well appointed, free pc use in lobby - they do a great job

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank jjkeady
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sierra Vista, Arizona
Level 6 Contributor
121 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 119 helpful votes
Reviewed March 21, 2014 via mobile

The hotel's motto is "calor de hogar lejos de su hogar", which means "The warmth of home far from home.". That description aptly fits the Toscana Inn. The beds are so comfortable. The room is large with lots of places to put suitcases. It has a refrigerator, hair dryer and iron. It even had a scale, which helped with weighing our suitcases to ensure that they were under 50 pounds when we departed. The buffet breakfast, included in the price, is in a bright dining room with lots of options, including a variety of fresh fruits. The staff is friendly and helpful. The hotel is located close to lots of restaurants in the El Cangrejo section of the city.

Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
Helpful?
3 Thank Scullyster
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
england
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed March 19, 2014

We stayed for 3 nights for a short city break. The bedroom and bathroom were spotless, the bed very comfortable with a cosy duvet, toiletries that were replenished every day, everything electrical worked and a reasonable choice of breakfast items with different items changed every day (e.g. porridge, pancakes, different fresh fruit juices)

Staff were really helpful

Good restaurants nearby and within walking distance of the main promenade that leads to the old town

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank jkw1959
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
High River
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed March 18, 2014 via mobile

We stayed at this hotel for a week and were very comfortable. The beds and linens are more like you find in a 4 star hotel. The food in the restaurant was very good. The staff was excellent. A bonus was the top floor terrace which we enjoyed every evening. The area around the hotel seems very safe and there are lots of good restaurants available. Should we return to Panama City we would not hesitate to stay here again.

Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank Patricia F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tampa, Florida
Level 5 Contributor
80 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
Reviewed March 15, 2014

We stayed at the Toscana our first night in Panama City----- left the city for a few days--then returned to stay at the Toscana for three more nights. On our first stay, I opened the room darkening curtains to find that our room was facing a claustrophobic wall. I am a "window" person, so I requested a room with a view for our second stay. We were not disappointed. Our second room on the 5th floor had a nice view of the city. The beds were very comfortable with lots of pillows. Most channels on the TV were in Spanish with the exception of CNN which was in English. There is room service, but I didn't use it. Wifi worked well. There are two computers for use in the lobby. Sixth floor garden patio was nice but only had a few hard concrete benches. An early riser, I sat there reading until breakfast started at 6:30 a.m. Would have been better with a few tables and comfortable chairs. Nice view of the city. The bird songs added to the atmosphere of peace.
Back to the room: detest those "anti-theft" clothes hangers. I'm short and it is difficult to get the metal ball back in the hole to hang my clothes! A few inexpensive plastic hangers would have helped. Bathroom had shampoo, lots of towels, etc. The room was very quiet and conducive to sleep except when the bathroom light switch is flipped on. A loud exhaust fan automatically comes on with the light. Light sleepers (including my husband and I) might have a problem remaining asleep during all the racket. The two elevators were fast and quiet. Breakfast was excellent and varied. Entire staff from front desk down to housekeeping and door man were excellent, friendly, and accommodating.
The hotel is close to restaurants (loved the spaghetti Bolognese at Cafe Pomodoro), small shops with souvenirs, groceries and electronics. Within walking distance of a beautiful old church, Nuestra Senora del Carmen under renovation but still open. As another reviewer commented, beware of the sidewalks--at least those within walking distance of the hotel. They are in deplorable condition with cracks, bumps, and gaping holes. Garbage is strewn everywhere. Keep your eyes on the ground to prevent tripping.

Room Tip: If you are a "window" person, make sure you ask for a room with a view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Vista_Sultans
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rio Grande
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed March 14, 2014 via mobile

Our room on the top floor was clean and comfortable. The solar heated hot water took a few minutes to get hot, but was otherwise fine. Several more electrical outlets in the room would be useful. A breakfast buffet was included and ok - not as many choices as I'd like that appealed to me. The staff was the best. They were gracious and helpful at every turn.

Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank Joanne C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Panama City hotels
0.4 mi away
Grace Panama
Grace Panama
#1 of 114 in Panama City
632 reviews
0.2 mi away
Tryp by Wyndham Panama Centro
Tryp by Wyndham Panama Centro
#20 of 114 in Panama City
1,151 reviews
0.4 mi away
DoubleTree By Hilton Panama City
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Hyatt Place Panama City Downtown
Hyatt Place Panama City Downtown
#11 of 114 in Panama City
829 reviews
0.9 mi away
Hard Rock Hotel Panama Megapolis
0.2 mi away
Best Western Plus Panama Zen Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Toscana Inn Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Toscana Inn Hotel

Property: Toscana Inn Hotel
Address: Via Espana, Calle D, El Cangrejo, Panama City 0819-09389, Panama
Location: Panama > Panama Province > Panama City
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Panama City
#1 Romantic Hotel in Panama City
#1 Family Hotel in Panama City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Toscana Inn Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 91
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Whether you're traveling to Panama City for business or a vacation getaway, we make all visits to Toscana Inn Hotel comfortable and relaxing with exceptional service, a welcoming staff, and beautifully appointed hotel suites. Perfectly located in Panama City's prestigious El Cangrejo district, Toscana Inn Hotel in Panama offers effortless access to everything you might want to see or do - from the sparkling beach to exclusive shopping, vibrant nightlife, fascinating cultural and historical sites, and more. Rated one of the best hotels in Panama by Trip Advisor, our focus is on the comfort of our guests and the quality and value of our rooms and services. Let Toscana Inn Hotel be your host in Panama City. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Travelocity, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Toscana Inn Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Toscana Hotel Panama City
Toscana Inn Hotel Panama/Panama City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing