We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Comfort With Care” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Toscana Inn Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Toscana Inn Hotel
Ranked #6 of 116 Hotels in Panama City
Certificate of Excellence
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Comfort With Care”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 9, 2013

During my two nights and two days the staff helped with ease and pleasure. I had computer issues and needed transportation etc. I brought food back from a restaurant and they reheated it the next day with a smile. I asked for a drink of water downstairs and they insisted that I bring an ice bucket filled with ice and a flask of water to my room. House keeping did an immaculate job. I will return.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Zyanna
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

939 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    584
    285
    60
    6
    4
See reviews for
178
351
85
134
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (142)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
18 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 9, 2013

Quiet, small and with good service. Small street (and very dirty and with bad smell) but quiet. Several nice restaurants just around the corner. Hotel assistants to not push you an expensive taxi, which is a must in business travel. Will return for sure, but price is similar to better hotels (with stand service, not as personal like this). Note that there's no Pool or fitness center.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank L F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Erie, Colorado
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 7, 2013

My husband and I stayed at this hotel two nights (one night on each end of a trip to/from Bocas Del Toro, Panama) at the recommendation of a VRBO owner. We were pleasantly surprised at how nice the rooms were! Comfortable beds, TV in English (this is huge in a primarily Spanish-speaking country!) and in a location that was safe. Included breakfast. Great deal for the price. The front desk clerk and bell boy were incredibly polite and helpful. Would highly recommend this hotel if you want to stay in the city.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank TAGirl1962
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Kelowna, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 7, 2013

Hotel is small but clean, good complimentary breakfast and comfortable beds. Had a tour of the Panama Canal with Ricardo and he was amazing. Spoke perfect English which was a treat after our first two weeks in the country. Learn Spanish before going!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank DarlaM936
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
137 reviews
68 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 100 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 7, 2013

I stayed here in February with a friend for 3 nights and found this an excellent choice. When checking in which was very quick and simple and coffee was offered and accepted. We were taken to our room on the 3rd floor facing the side so it was very quiet and the room was very spacious with lots of storage for 2 people. It was extremely clean and the beds were very comfortable, and the pillows were exceptionally comfortable. The breakfast, served buffet style, I thought was more than ample, with lots of fresh fruit, assorted breads for toast, eggs, cereal, yogurt and other choices and they served delicious coffee. We also ate dinner there which was delicious, what was also extremely nice is that since the water is drinkable right out of the tap it was possible to have a fresh salad with your meal. They also had a really delicious soup which was vegetarian and lovely ceviche and for dessert I had an ice cream sundae with chocolate sauce. Yum.

The wi-fi was free and at times could be a little slow but it was fast enough for me since I was hardly in my room for any length of time except to sleep. The roof deck on the 6th floor was quite spacious with some limited views of the buildings around, it was open and airy with lots of plants and a place to sit and have coffee or tea, an oasis to unwind after a busy day of sightseeing.

I also have to commend all the staff at the hotel, without exception, they made my stay here a wonderful experience. They were warm and friendly and extremely helpful in so many ways. It was delightful to stay here and I would do so again if, as I hope, I return to Panama

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank judytraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dove Canyon, California, United States
Level Contributor
37 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 2, 2013

We stayed at the Toscana Inn for 3 nights in March. This was our first experience in Panama. We found the hotel thru all the wonderful Trip Advisor reviews. The hotel is exceptionally clean, the rooms are very large and comfortable, and the staff is very friendly. Jose, the night bellman, was very helpful with advice and making sure we knew all about the hotel. Breakfasts (included) were good and coffee and tea were always available. We had dinner here one night and it was very good. The wait staff were eager to please and took great delight in my son's happiness with his chocolate milkshake and ice cream sundae.

There were only a few negatives: 1). The lighting in the rooms could be improved for reading. However, they have a clever system that requires your room key to turn on the lights. This ensures that lights cannot be left on when there is no one in the room. 2). Know what taxi fares should be before getting a taxi at the hotel or you will definitely overpay. For example, the ride to Casco Viejo should cost at most $4-5. Our first day we paid $10. Although our Spanish is extremely weak, we thought the bellman said this was a good fare. Either go to the main street to catch a taxi, or know the fare and negotiate. Subsequent rides were always about 60% of the first price quoted. Whether this was an issue with overcharging tourists or just our poor Spanish, I don't know. Lastly 3) Although the hotel was great, the street is not. There was garbage littering the street, bags thrown everywhere and broken open. It was quite smelly. Not very pleasant when walking to / from restaurants. According to an expat we met, this is a common issue in Panama City. I don't know if this is an issue around more upscale or American chain hotels. It was the only significant downside to this hotel.

All in all, a great hotel, very reasonably priced, but street sanitation could definitely be improved!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jill H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
48 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 29, 2013

We stayed here before leaving Panama. The staff was helpful and friendly. The rooms were spacious and well appointed. They served you coffee in the room whenever you asked for it. The free breakfast was spectacular. They even had lattes. Our only complaint was that the big fluffy comfortor was way too warm for Panama. They need lighter bedding. Otherwise our stay was perfect.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lottridge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Panama City hotels
0.4 mi away
Grace Panama
Grace Panama
#1 of 116 in Panama City
4.5 of 5 stars 447 reviews
0.2 mi away
Best Western PLUS Panama Zen Hotel
0.2 mi away
TRYP Panama Centro
TRYP Panama Centro
#20 of 116 in Panama City
4.5 of 5 stars 947 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.2 mi away
Wyndham Panama Albrook Mall
Wyndham Panama Albrook Mall
#8 of 116 in Panama City
4.5 of 5 stars 1,111 reviews
0.9 mi away
Hard Rock Hotel Panama Megapolis
0.7 mi away
Le Meridien Panama
Le Meridien Panama
#3 of 116 in Panama City
4.5 of 5 stars 699 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Toscana Inn Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Toscana Inn Hotel

Property: Toscana Inn Hotel
Address: Via Espana, Calle D, El Cangrejo, Panama City 0819, Panama
Phone Number:
Location: Panama > Panama Province > Panama City
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Panama City
#1 Business Hotel in Panama City
#1 Family Hotel in Panama City
#8 Best Value Hotel in Panama City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Toscana Inn Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 91
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Whether you're traveling to Panama City for business or a vacation getaway, we make all visits to Toscana Inn Hotel comfortable and relaxing with exceptional service, a welcoming staff, and beautifully appointed hotel suites. Perfectly located in Panama City's prestigious El Cangrejo district, Toscana Inn Hotel in Panama offers effortless access to everything you might want to see or do - from the sparkling beach to exclusive shopping, vibrant nightlife, fascinating cultural and historical sites, and more. Rated one of the best hotels in Panama by Trip Advisor, our focus is on the comfort of our guests and the quality and value of our rooms and services. Let Toscana Inn Hotel be your host in Panama City. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Hotwire, Travelocity, getaroom.com, Odigeo and Expedia so you can book your Toscana Inn Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Toscana Hotel Panama City
Toscana Inn Hotel Panama/Panama City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing