We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place to stay and very good rate”
Review of Toscana Inn Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Toscana Inn Hotel
Ranked #22 of 115 Hotels in Panama City
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed November 20, 2012

What a great find. We were truly happy with this choice.

Check in/Front Desk:
Kind of a small reception but it’s all they need and it works for them. There’s two elevators and stairs all within 5 feet of each other. We arrived early for check-in but were able to get a room on the third floor overlooking a small parking lot. In a city where you’re there to sightsee – that’s a good thing as it cuts down on night time noise. We spoke to the agent later about the hop-on/hop-off bus that we found out about via another TA member and we were able to pay (cash only) right then and there for the tickets, which was great.

Room:
Very clean and tidy, nice bathroom with a shower stall, working fixtures, a safe, tv, hair dryer, huge king bed where I’d lose my wife at night. There’s a nice thick curtain too so the room gets very dark and makes for a good sleep. There’s a desk, club chair, tv with plenty of channels, a safe and plenty of storage for clothes.

Dining:
Breakfast was included for us, and there was more than enough food. They had amazing carrot and banana bread squares, several varieties of bread for toast, plenty of fruit, scrambled eggs, fried plantains, cooked lunch meat, chicken fingers (I know right), and of course some cereal, juice and coffee. We had no complaints about breakfast other than that on Sunday’s it doesn’t open until 7:00 (usually 6:30). We had to catch a taxi at 7 for a ferry so missed breakfast on Sunday. We did grab some banana bread and some banana’s though – so that was good.

Location:
Great location. It was about a twenty minute walk to the Multi-Centro, less than a five minute walk to a Casino and several restaurants. It’s on a side street that isn’t too busy so noise isn’t really a factor either.

Staff:
We only interacted with two staff, and both were pleasant, well groomed and one was very helpful booking the hop-on/hop-off bus.

Overall:
Very happy with this choice and wouldn’t hesitate to stay here again.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank FlexitarianCouple
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (998)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

465 - 471 of 998 reviews

Reviewed November 17, 2012

My husband and I stayed here for 3 nights; we'll be checking out tomorrow for our flight to Bocas del Toro, and will miss this hotel very much. The hotel is perfect....perfectly located in the El Cangrejo neighborhood of Panama City, and convenient to everything. Our room on the top (6th) floor of this boutique hotel was lovely, spacious, and has the most comfortable king bed we've ever slept in.

The room is beautifully decorated with upscale furniture, a large desk and chair, a recliner, a refrigerator, large closet, safe, great air conditioner, and free wi-fi in the room. Good bathroom amenities as well. The room and all common areas are super clean. The lobby is beautiful, and the small restaurant has excellent food. We had a great dinner here our first night, and a full, hot breakfast is included in the rate.

The staff couldn't be more helpful, from the front desk, the waitstaff, the doormen, and the taxi drivers always waiting outside. We're sorry we only have a few days here, but highly recommend the hotel. In this part of the city, there are many mega-hotels and familiar chains, but for excellent service and accommodations on a smaller scale, you'll love this hotel.

Room Tip: We were on the top floor (6th) and it was very quiet. As in any hotel, the farther from the elevator...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Alyse L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 16, 2012

I thought this hotel was overrated by TripAdvisor. While the location was decent and the price point was good, unlike others, I did not find it to be clean. And the breakfast left something to be desired. Staff was decently friendly, but I had a weird experience when someone that may have been a call girl walked in with a dubious gentleman, and when I looked up at them in the lobby the receptionist gave me a conspiratal look. I don't know what that was about. In short, I went on business for a couple of nights and it worked just fine, but if I were to return on vacation I'd stay someplace nicer.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Kermie9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 16, 2012

If you are planning to stay downtown this hotel is a great choice. The room that I got was pretty spacious. Great bed; a little refrigerator, free wi-fi. I would only add more lighting in the room, as it is kind of dark, with the exception of the bathroom. There is an additional mirror which is pretty useful. Breakfast is standard, being the fruit the best part, but I appreciated that it was included.
The staff is very polite and make you feel at home.
I recommend 100%

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Katris
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 5, 2012

Not a huge resort or big hotel amenities, (about 90 rooms) small to medium compared to
some big hotels in Panama city, But you will be pleasantly surprised to find warm and relaxed
service, neat bedrooms and bath, modern appliances (TV, AC, refrigerator).

Conveniently located, breakfast is not spectacular but is good.

Highly recommended hotel for business travelers

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank alacayo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 3, 2012

Great location, great rooms with lots of amenities Places to eat all around and easy access to all the great sites of Panama City. Taxis are easy to get and it not so costly. Staff is helpful. Casino is very close and lots of fun. Chica friendly area if you know whati mean. Wine bar is excellent with huge selections of wines and the food is good too. This is a great town with lots to offer. Will come back for this city and boca del Tora.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank MnTreker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 3, 2012

This was my first time in Panama, so it was nice to arrive at a comfortable and classy little hotel.

The staff were very friendly upon arrival and spoke English very well, which was a nice relief for us. They led us to our beautiful room - spacious, clean, nicely decorated, comfortable beds and it included good TV channels, wifi and plenty of information booklets. Also included were a safe, iron and slippers.

Not sure if all bookings include breakfast but we do recommend including it in the cost. We had fresh fruit, juice, eggs, toast and coffee before starting our day in Panama City.

The hotel is well located in what felt like a very safe area. Cabs were generally $3 to get anywhere but there were shops, restaurants and a main road (Via Espana) within walking distance. There is also a guard that stands outside overnight.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank SarahLarsen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Panama City hotels
0.2 mi away
Best Western Plus Panama Zen Hotel
0.2 mi away
Tryp by Wyndham Panama Centro
Tryp by Wyndham Panama Centro
#19 of 115 in Panama City
1,202 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Coral Suites
Hotel Coral Suites
#27 of 115 in Panama City
312 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Novotel Panama City
Novotel Panama City
#17 of 115 in Panama City
821 reviews
0.4 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Panama Distrito Financiero
0.4 mi away
DoubleTree By Hilton Panama City
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Toscana Inn Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Toscana Inn Hotel

Address: Via Espana, Calle D, El Cangrejo, Panama City 0819-09389, Panama
Location: Panama > Panama Province > Panama City
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Panama City
#1 Family Hotel in Panama City
#1 Business Hotel in Panama City
Price Range: $71 - $121 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Toscana Inn Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 91
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Whether you're traveling to Panama City for business or a vacation getaway, we make all visits to Toscana Inn Hotel comfortable and relaxing with exceptional service, a welcoming staff, and beautifully appointed hotel suites. Perfectly located in Panama City's prestigious El Cangrejo district, Toscana Inn Hotel in Panama offers effortless access to everything you might want to see or do - from the sparkling beach to exclusive shopping, vibrant nightlife, fascinating cultural and historical sites, and more. Rated one of the best hotels in Panama by Trip Advisor, our focus is on the comfort of our guests and the quality and value of our rooms and services. Let Toscana Inn Hotel be your host in Panama City. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Priceline, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your Toscana Inn Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Toscana Hotel Panama City
Toscana Inn Hotel Panama/Panama City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing