We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great typical panamanian fare” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of El Trapiche

El Trapiche
Ranked #25 of 963 Restaurants in Panama City
Price range: $5 - $12
Cuisines: Caribbean, Latin, South American, Central American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Dining on a budget, Large groups, Families with children, Kids, Local cuisine
Dining options: Lunch, Breakfast, Brunch, Dinner, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Off-Street Parking, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Street Parking, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible, Wine and Beer
Description: At El Trapiche we specialize in Panamanian traditional cuisine since 1983. Our mission is to provide our guests with the best examples of our culinary traditions in a relaxed, casual atmosphere.
Buenos Aires, Argentina
Level Contributor
28 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Great typical panamanian fare”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 24, 2014

El Trapiche offers tasty typical Panamanian food, good service, and a very traditional sort of environment. This is not a fancy place, rather it is more down to earth and authentic. I visited the one at Albrook Mall and very much enjoyed it.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank Marrworldtrotter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,029 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    358
    432
    178
    33
    28
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
74 reviews
45 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Great Panama food”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 23, 2014

Good place to get authentic Panama cusine. Recommend bistec picado (beef) and tamale de oilla (Tamale is baked in a pan instead of the usual steamed in corn husks)
The sancocho (chicken soup) is big! They even give crayons to kids to color the placemats

  • Visited June 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank neko888
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
92 reviews
66 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Typical Panamanian Food”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 18, 2014

We had garlic, clams, seafood soup, seviche, pork all of it excellent, the service was execellent and the cerveza very cold

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank WarDogDaddy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tampa, Florida
Level Contributor
16 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“First Experience with Panamanian Food”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 7, 2014

We visited El Trapiche 2 times during our recent stay in PC - first for dinner and another time for breakfast. Dinner was our first try at Panamanian food. I got the Fiesta Panamena and my husband had the Arroz con Pollo. The chicken soup was wonderful, the rest of my meal was ok. Service was ok, however the older lady (dressed in a special outfit) help make a phone call to our driver to come pick us up when dinner was complete. At breakfast it was a little chaotic and it took a little bit to get our server to focus on our table. The breakfast was decent and cheap. Again, the owner helped us use the phone to call our driver for a return pickup since we didn't have cell phones that worked in Panama. Not sure if I'd try this place again, but glad it was recommeded by friends. Others might enjoy it a little more.

  • Visited May 2014
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank AB627
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
“Dry and tasteless”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 4, 2014 via mobile

We ordered the panamenian dish (house speciality). It was a plate full of incoherent dishes. We tried a bit from each but it was all dry (microwaved?) and didn't have much taste. The only nice thing was that we didn't had to pay for the panamenian dish.

  • Visited June 2014
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Ronnie v
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed El Trapiche also viewed

Panama City, Panama Province
Panama City, Panama Province
 
Panama City, Panama Province
Panama City, Panama Province
 
Panama City, Panama Province
Panama City, Panama Province
 

Been to El Trapiche? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing