We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book On TripAdvisor Bonus Book your hotel on TripAdvisor — then save 20% on things to do for your trip. Use code BOOKTOSAVE.

“the locals know” 4 of 5 stars
Review of El Trapiche

El Trapiche
Via Argentina y Ave 2a B Norte | y Albrook Mall, Panama City, Panama
+507 269-4353
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #24 of 803 Restaurants in Panama City
Price range: $5 - $12
Cuisines: Caribbean, Latin, South American, Central American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Dining on a budget, Large groups, Families with children, Local cuisine
Dining options: Brunch, Breakfast, Lunch, Dinner, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Off-Street Parking, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Street Parking, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible, Wine and Beer
Description: At El Trapiche we specialize in Panamanian traditional cuisine since 1983. Our mission is to provide our guests with the best examples of our culinary traditions in a relaxed, casual atmosphere.
unguidedmissal
Level Contributor
86 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
“the locals know”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 1, 2013

Taken here by our taxista. Very crowded for lunch with what appeared to be almost entirely locals. Food was totally local Panamanian food but lot's of it, lots of choices, lots of looking at each other and saying, "what is this?". But whatever it was, it was very tasty. Staff were very busy but patient and helpful. Would love to go back.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank unguidedmissal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

759 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    269
    329
    115
    28
    18
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
San Ramon, California
Level Contributor
46 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Plan for Lunch”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

We always plan time to go here for lunch once when in Panama. Great Panamanian "Tipica" food at a great price. Still the same rustic spot for years and has not changed. Do not go here if you are in a rush. Service is good but slow, as are a lot of restaurants in Panama. We are never disappointed each time we dine here.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank ChachiJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Best for authentic menu and friendly quality service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 2, 2013

During my numerous visits to Panama city this is always a must place to go. Here you will have all the variety of food types tipical of Panama at a reasonable price and with all the food safety and service standards that you would expect in a modern restaurant.
There is always someone on staff that speaks english and will gladly explain the different dishes and how they are prepared.
Parking can be a problem during busy times but by taxi it is not an issue. Any panamanian taxi driver will know how to get you there, just ask for restaurante "El Trapiche".

  • Visited March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank JE779
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beja, Portugal
Level Contributor
68 reviews
39 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“A true taste of panama”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 31, 2013

We stayed at the Toscana Inn Hotel for one night in Panama City on the last day of our visit to Panama. Our lovely taxi driver Jose ( jmtourism@hotmail.com) recommended this restaurant as we had said we wanted to have true Panamanian food. We were not disappointed. I can`t remember all that I had but I know I had a local chicken soup. It was so delicious.
It was lunchtime and packed with locals, so it had to be good. If ever in the city again will revisit. Cost was very reasonable.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Loose2Boots
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Panama City, Panama
Level Contributor
67 reviews
38 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
“Panamanian food at affordable prices”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 28, 2013

This restaurant feels like old grandma's place. Comfort food at affordable prices. Service is good sometimes and others is Ok.

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
Thank AutumnSkylar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed El Trapiche also viewed

Panama City, Panama Province
Panama City, Panama Province
 
Panama City, Panama Province
Panama City, Panama Province
 

Been to El Trapiche? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing