We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellet B&B in Ancon hill area”
Review of Dos Palmitos

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Dos Palmitos
Ranked #6 of 79 Panama City B&B and Inns
Reviewed June 29, 2013

This is a very nice bed and breakfast. They have very kind and serviceminded staff.
They serve great breakfast of very high quality. B&B is located in a secure area of Panama City.
Cerro Ancon and Panama Canal head office is within walking distance from the B&B.
You will be treated with a nice veranda for breakfast. AC in the room free WIFI point. Rooms are spotlessly clean. I highly recommend this Bed & Breakfast place in Panama City. I stayed for six days and will absolutly return if I came back to Panama City in the future.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jan-OlofO
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
telma58, Manager at Dos Palmitos, responded to this reviewResponded July 16, 2013

Hello Jan Olaf,

Thank you so much for your kind words. Thanks to people like you our Trip
rating stays at an interesting level. I hope you are enjoying your stay in Colombia
and to meet you in person, next time. Jorge says hello and thanks. Greetings A

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (192)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

33 - 39 of 192 reviews

Reviewed May 1, 2013

Simple, well-run, comfortable, generous breakfast, helpful management, just what we needed on way to airport.
Loads of juicy fresh fruit, good Panamanian specialities, lots of good coffee
Lovely garden overlooked by the breakfast deck, and great place to see birds there and in the woodland behind
Angeline even went out of her way to get us souvenirs! WOW!

Room Tip: Almost outside the city, therefore quiet ,but town is accessible on foot, best with a torch after da...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Brenda A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
telma58, General Manager at Dos Palmitos, responded to this reviewResponded May 3, 2013

Thanks Brenda for your positive review. I am glad to have contributed to the success of your Panama vacation. One correction how ever, Ancon Hill is between the Panama Canal and Plaza 5 de Mayo where the Panamanian parliament is seated.. So very much inside the city...but since everything is so green around here, you almost feel like the city is far away..!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 26, 2013

Dos Palmitos is a lovey little B&B on the slopes of Ancon Hill in Panama City, far from the bustle and noise of the city. However, it is only a 20-minute walk or 10-minute cab ride to the Casco Antiguo and within easy reach of other parts of the city, the Allbrook (domestic) airport and the Miraflores Locks. Our rooms were not large, but they were clean and comfortable with king-size beds, full bathroom, A/C (if you need it) and ceiling fans. Breakfast, served by our hostess, Angeline, was wonderful -- vast plates of fresh fruit, local pastries and breads, excellent coffee, fresh-squeezed juice and a choice of cooked eggs, bacon etc. Eating on the back porch we could see toucans, parrots and many other birds in the garden and in trees of Ancon Hill. I would 100% recommend this B&B for your stay in PC.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SandyGrim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 14, 2013

We had a lovely stay at Dos Palmitos, we took over three of the four rooms for our families, and it worked out well. The bedrooms are smallish but nicely done, the living room is great for hanging out, and is full of travel books and info. Each bedroom has both a ceiling fan and an air conditioner,so you can adjust things to your liking. The house is in the Ancon Hill area, which is cool and breezy compared to the hot city, and the hill itself makes for a great day hike.
But what really makes this place so great is Angeline, the owner, as other travelers have mentioned. We were looking forward to the wonderful breakfasts: homemade yogurt, lots of delicious fruit, eggs, pancakes, French toast, Panamanian coffee...and we weren't disappointed. But Angeline surprised us by packing us lunches on the day we went out on a day trip too early for breakfast. She helped us figure out where to go and what to see, made arrangements for us, answered our unending questions, helped us with rides and cabs, even gave us cream for a bad sunburn. We felt comfortable and well taken care of, which made all the difference.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Fingerlakes_Express
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 4, 2013

This place is excellent when you want to get a relaxing break from the hustle and bustle of the city.
My fiancee and I stayed here for three nights after we returned from Bocas Del Toro. It was great for us because it was close to the Mall and public transporation.
We found the accommodations to be exceptional.
We feasted every morning for breakfast, so much so we usually skipped lunch.
On our last day, before we left for a 7am flight we were given fresh made empanadas to snack on during the trip to the airport.

We slept on comfy beds and had zero issues with outside noise.
We would definitely stay here again if when return to panama.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Aaron H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 1, 2013

This place really worked well for us. We aren't much interested in Panama City, just a little sightseeing, the locks, parks, Causeway, etc. It's more just to have a place to stay upon arrival and departure. This worked because there is a Country Store restaurant within easy walking distance of Dos Palmitos that has very good food, in a neighborhood setting. No hassles after a day of sightseeing is so nice. You can also walk 5 small blocks down to the big street, wave a taxi down, and be on your way, or have the lovely owner call you one if you want to go out after dark.
We were going over to Isla Contadora and had to leave early before her breakfast hours started but she got up and fixed us a delicious full breakfast which we much appreciated. She knows her way around the kitchen, too! Had a big new van waiting for us.
This is the same price as La Estancia and so much more relaxing and a better value.

Room Tip: There aren't many rooms, all pretty much the same, I think.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank treeshaker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 26, 2013

My husband and I stayed here for one night. The place is great, in a quiet nieghborhood, fantastic breakfast with homemade yogurt, and nicely appointed rooms. Angelina really helps out with taxis and tours. I included the cat in the title, because there is no mention of animals on the website, and I am very allergic. The cat actually doesnt live in the hotel itself, but will sneak in from time to time--two times during my stay. Even so I was still sneezing and itching my eyes the whole time (as I said I am very allergic). Highly recommend the place for anyone without allergies.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank hbrown91
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
telma58, General Manager at Dos Palmitos, responded to this reviewResponded March 28, 2013

I am sorry to read that a cat that tried to enter the guest' living room spoiled the one night stay at Dos Palmitos, of this lady.
Let me assure our future guests. Animals are not allowed in the bnb because we know that people may have allergies. But we are in the tropics, and doors are frequently open.
We always disinfect the rooms and the beds after every stay. Our guests often go to Bocas del Toro or San Blas where there are a lot of sand flies. Inadvertently guests can bring sand in on their shoes or bags. We therefore always ask people to leave their shoes and stuff at the door and clean them. The last thing we want is bed bugs.
Our bnb however is situated in the green part of Panama city and we have the tropical rain forest in our back yard. Tropical birds, agoutis, deer, slots or iguanas may cross our garden to the delight of our guests. It is a pity that the sight of a cat is costing us points.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Panama City hotels
9.1 mi away
Casa Anita
Casa Anita
#1 of 2 in Las Cumbres
251 reviews
0.7 mi away
The Balboa Inn
The Balboa Inn
#2 of 79 in Panama City
423 reviews
1.2 mi away
Casa Sucre Boutique Hotel
Casa Sucre Boutique Hotel
#7 of 79 in Panama City
165 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
11.9 mi away
Monkey Lodge Panama
Monkey Lodge Panama
#3 of 79 in Panama City
217 reviews
2.7 mi away
Lemon Inn Panama
Lemon Inn Panama
#9 of 79 in Panama City
126 reviews
2.8 mi away
Baru Lodge
Baru Lodge
#8 of 79 in Panama City
196 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Dos Palmitos? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dos Palmitos

Address: Guayacan Terrace 0532B | Ancon Hill - Panama city, Panama City 080814, Panama
Location: Panama > Panama Province > Panama City
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 79 B&Bs / Inns in Panama City
Price Range: $66 - $84 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our French/Spanish/English speaking staff welcomes you amidst the green surroundings of Ancon hill; close to all major places of interest in Panama City: the Canal, Albrook shopping mall, airport, bus terminal, as well as Casco Viejo. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Dos Palmitos reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dos Palmitos Panama/Panama City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing