We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely place with a cat”
Review of Dos Palmitos

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Dos Palmitos
Ranked #7 of 79 Panama City B&B and Inns
Santiago, Chile
Level 4 Contributor
37 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Lovely place with a cat”
Reviewed March 26, 2013

My husband and I stayed here for one night. The place is great, in a quiet nieghborhood, fantastic breakfast with homemade yogurt, and nicely appointed rooms. Angelina really helps out with taxis and tours. I included the cat in the title, because there is no mention of animals on the website, and I am very allergic. The cat actually doesnt live in the hotel itself, but will sneak in from time to time--two times during my stay. Even so I was still sneezing and itching my eyes the whole time (as I said I am very allergic). Highly recommend the place for anyone without allergies.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank hbrown91
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
telma58, General Manager at Dos Palmitos, responded to this review, March 28, 2013
I am sorry to read that a cat that tried to enter the guest' living room spoiled the one night stay at Dos Palmitos, of this lady.
Let me assure our future guests. Animals are not allowed in the bnb because we know that people may have allergies. But we are in the tropics, and doors are frequently open.
We always disinfect the rooms and the beds after every stay. Our guests often go to Bocas del Toro or San Blas where there are a lot of sand flies. Inadvertently guests can bring sand in on their shoes or bags. We therefore always ask people to leave their shoes and stuff at the door and clean them. The last thing we want is bed bugs.
Our bnb however is situated in the green part of Panama city and we have the tropical rain forest in our back yard. Tropical birds, agoutis, deer, slots or iguanas may cross our garden to the delight of our guests. It is a pity that the sight of a cat is costing us points.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

186 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    145
    30
    6
    4
    1
See reviews for
24
105
25
7
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Ottawa
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed March 24, 2013

The room was perfect (clean, air conditioned), the breakfast was fresh and very tasty, there was a great sitting area, and a computer for your use (and/or wi-fi for your own devices). The owner was very helpful and friendly.

The only downside here is something completely out of the owner's control, and that's the location. While it is easy to many places via cab, including casco viejo and the domestic airport, there is only one restaurant within walking distance. If that doesn't bother you, then stay here for sure! It's a great place.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank beachloafer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed March 3, 2013

If you like staying away from the crowds and having a home away from home assisted by a very capable manager, this is an outstanding choice. Angeline, the owner/manager is superb in assisting her guests in their plans and goes out of her way to help them. Angeline is intelligent, thoughtful and feels responsible for her guests. The rooms are modest in size but they are very well maintained and the bathrooms are quite modern. Breakfast was homemade and excellent. If you liked you could sit on the terrace and meet and interact with the other guests staying there For both of the day trips we planned, the touring company picked us up at this location. At least two of the groups of guests staying during our time there were repeat customers.

Room Tip: The blue room is in the front hasa king size bed and is a slightly bigger room. You could have a tad...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank travel3055
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Princeton, New Jersey
Level 5 Contributor
48 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed March 3, 2013

Can't say enough good things about this place. The location is excellent, in the city but in the country. Four rooms at the base of acon hill, close to the causeway, the albrook mall, and the national airport (for David, Bocas, San Blas, etc). As good as the location is, the owner, Angeline is the main reason to go. She is a gentle, genuinely good person. She arranged for an EARLY morning (4:45 am) taxi for us to the airport, got up before us to prepare coffee and provided fruit for breakfast before returning to bed to get up for work later that morning. We had a very similiar experience with our stay last year (minus the early morning flight) thus the reason for our return. The rooms are bright, colorful and very tasteful with an excellent shower.

Don't hesitate to book this location.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank juno80503
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed February 17, 2013

We stayed here two nights. The room was nice. We loved the location - it was a quiet spot but very easy to drive or take a taxi wherever you wanted to go. The breakfasts were amazing - overwhelming amounts of delicious homemade food. I highly recommend the empanadas and the banana pancakes!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Emily227
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Worth, Texas
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed February 14, 2013

Dos Palmitos came as a very pleasant surprise. Firstly, my host Angeline (merci beacoup encore) was very hospitable and accommodating. She answered all my questions honestly and assisted me with planning my itineraries the entire time I was there. She's also quite a cook--everything she served to guests was homemade. Secondly, I was very pleased with the cleanliness, maintenance, and amenities of my room and the house itself. I traveled solo so I stayed in the "pink" room that came equipped with a comfortable double (?) sized bed, air conditioner, and your own bathroom. The kitchen that is available for use by guests is clean and the fridge is always equipped with milk, juice, and water. The living room is tastefully decorated and is full of travel books and pamphlets which provide information about Panama City and the rest of the country in several different languages. The collection of info here was more than one of the luxury hotels I stayed at the night before. Thirdly, the location is really central to most of what you want to see and do in Panama. You wouldn't realise it at first, but the distance to The Canal, Casco Viejo, and Microcentro are all relatively the same. Not to mention, that it is a mere 5 mins ride from Albrook Mall (a giant shopping mall), which is adjacent to the main bus terminal in Panama City. The location is also very quiet and relaxing since it is on the foot of the residential area of Ancon Hill.

When my travels take me back to Panama City, I will definitely stay here again and would highly recommend it to anyone traveling to the city.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Iris A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed February 14, 2013

My husband and I spent two lovely nights at Dos Palmitos in January 2013. The room was clean and comfortable, the shower was warm and the amazing breakfast on the back patio are some of my favorite memories of Panama City. The location is not super central--so if you are looking to be "in the middle of it all", this isn't your spot. That said, if you want to be in a bit quieter area that isn't far from anything via taxi, this is great. If you are a foodie, you'll love Angelina'a breakfasts. I loved just sitting looking at the great birds, enjoying homemade empanadas, fruit and coffee! This is also a great place to consider if you don't speak Spanish. Angelina is fluent in in at least three languages as far as we could tell and that make some logistics a lot easier. I also think that the price is very fair for the excellent service. We had several friends who stayed at fairly expensive hotels downtown and in the old city and I think we had just as lovely of an experience at a much lower price.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank WashingtonDCsPg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Panama City hotels
0.4 mi away
Wyndham Panama Albrook Mall
Wyndham Panama Albrook Mall
#6 of 114 in Panama City
1,506 reviews
2.4 mi away
Grace Panama
Grace Panama
#1 of 114 in Panama City
631 reviews
1.1 mi away
Hotel Casa Panama
Hotel Casa Panama
#59 of 114 in Panama City
174 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
American Trade Hotel
American Trade Hotel
#5 of 114 in Panama City
458 reviews
2.4 mi away
Best Western Plus Panama Zen Hotel
2.4 mi away
Hotel Las Americas Golden Tower Panama
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Dos Palmitos? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dos Palmitos

Property: Dos Palmitos
Address: Guayacan Terrace 0532B | Ancon Hill - Panama city, Panama City 080814, Panama
Location: Panama > Panama Province > Panama City
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 79 B&Bs / Inns in Panama City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our French/Spanish/English speaking staff welcomes you amidst the green surroundings of Ancon hill; close to all major places of interest in Panama City: the Canal, Albrook shopping mall, airport, bus terminal, as well as Casco Viejo. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Agoda so you can book your Dos Palmitos reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dos Palmitos Panama/Panama City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing