We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“I Highly Recommend This B&B!”
Review of Dos Palmitos

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Dos Palmitos
Ranked #7 of 78 Panama City B&B and Inns
Agawam, mass
1 review
“I Highly Recommend This B&B!”
Reviewed April 23, 2012

WE stayed in Panama for a few nights in April, and I'm glad I found this place. The property is nicely landscaped and the common area and rooms are super clean, quiet and comfortable. Angeline was very friendly and engaging and makes a wonderful breakfast which she served on the outside deck. She was extremely helpful in arranging a tour of the canal and the Presidential Palace as well as in recommeding places to see in panama and a driver for the days we were there. One of the days she went shopping with us in Cosca Viejo and picked a great restaurant for lunch.

Room Tip: All the rooms are quiet, have air conditioning and flat screen TVs.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Joseph g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

185 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    144
    30
    6
    4
    1
See reviews for
24
105
25
6
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Calgary
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed April 17, 2012

Our hostess, Angeline, arranged a taxi driver to pick us up at the airport which was extremely helpful as we did arrive late and did not speak Spanish.. She continued to amaze us with her quiet confident manner, arranging a tour of the locks for later on and pick ups by taxi cab drivers. We stayed the one night and continued our tour of the country but decided to come back to be taken care of by Angeline.

Our second stay of three nights was quite heavenly with hot water for showers, air conditioners, fresh towels daily and a wonderful breakfast with many choices. Since we wanted to hit the markets and get good deals we were very appreciative when she volunteered to come with us. We had a very easy day, much laughter, good food and ease of travel because of her being with us... and we felt we got good deals!

Although the B&B is well equipped to meet all of our needs, what was more important was the fellowship, stories and laughter shared with our hostess and other guests. I urge you to come and share a visit with Angeline.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Eleanor W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Missouri City, Texas, United States
1 review
Reviewed April 17, 2012

My husband and I stayed here the week of March 3rd thru March 9th and had thoroughly enjoyed our stay. Angeline greeted us with open arms and the hospitality was top notch. We saw toucans while we ate our delicious breakfast on the balcony, this experience would not have been possible if we stayed at a hotel. Angeline was extremely helpful in helping us navigate our way around town. Breakfast was a delight with generous portions and her homemade yogurt is addicting! We also made some new friends at the Country Store which was a short walk from DP. Angeline arranged for a taxi to take us to the airport, we were saddened to leave! We cannot say enough good things about Dos Palmitos and Angeline. We hope to visit Panama again and this time take our daughter with us and without any hesitations we will stay at DP again.

Room Tip: We stayed in the first room towards the front, this corner suite was lined with windows along the fr...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank caspraggon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed April 15, 2012

The smell of mould in the room we were given was strong. In the middle of the night, i had a bad asthma attack as a result. We were supposed to stay 4 nights but explained the next morning we had to leave because the room was making me physically ill.
The woman who runs the place was horrible. Not only did she not even care to ask me if i was feeling better, she didnt inquire what could have caused my asthma attack ( i would've pointed out the mouldy smell) and to add insult to injury, she made us pay for a second night!!!
She obviously only cares about money and won't help you if you're in need.
She's a cruel person.
Besides her nastimess, this place is far away from everything. You must cab everywhere so forget about meandering out the door to get your bearings. The pillows were also so flat i was better off just putting my head right on the mattress.

  • Stayed April 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Lavamika
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
telma58, Gérant at Dos Palmitos, responded to this review, May 12, 2012
This review is a typical revenge attempt of two youngsters who wanted to leave ourBnB for another hotel without paying.
When you make a reservation in a hotel for four nights you normally pay up front and you will not be reimbursed if you leave early. This couple finally wanted to stay in the Casco Viejo. That is their right. But they had reserved the room with us for over a month. We refused potential guests
for those dates.
So they are angry that we made them pay 50usd. We took most of the loss for our account.
And now they use this site in an attempt to hurt our good reputation and invent all kind of nonsense. Mould? Astma?
Our rooms are spotless, there is fresh air and air conditioning. Clean sheets every two days. We always care to know if our guests have slept well, if they need blankets, extra pillows etc.
This couple said all was fine, that breakfast was great etc. I am very surprised that Tripadvisor publishes these lies.
The Dos Palmitos team does not include horrible people.If money was the main importance with us, we would have charged for the four nights. We regret the absence of intelligence with this category of vacationers. Fortunately the great majority of our guests were happy to stay with us and find reason to come back.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ukiah, California
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed April 6, 2012

Dos Palmitos is in a beautiful location with beautiful landscaping and birds. The breakfast is super good, and the hostess, Angeline, really takes good care of you. She arranged two different tours for us, and saved us quite a bit of money by doing it herself. Angeline has a cadre of taxi drivers that she works with, and she will arrange your pick-ups, trips and shopping for you. There is a large great room and a kitchen for guests to share. The decor is charming, and everything is very clean and well kept. The beds are very comfortable, too. (We stayed at Dos Palmitos on 2 different occasions and were in 2 different rooms during our visit to Panama.)

Room Tip: The Blue Room is the most spacious.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank EMR6349
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tokyo, Japan
Level Contributor
201 reviews
155 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 302 helpful votes
Reviewed March 22, 2012

The room was a fairly standard B&B room, rather plain, but everything is OK and in good condition (except there's no blanket). The breakfast is very good.The location isn't that good - it's in a pleasant area in Alcon, convenient for the domestic airport - but not within walking distance of any restaurants or other faciltiies. Your host, Angeline, is superb - friendly, and exceedingly helpful. If I returned to Panama, I wouldn't hesistate to stay here again, and I'm happy to recommend Dos Palmitos.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tnbms162016
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal
Level Contributor
35 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed February 17, 2012

We stayed here the 1st night (January 30/12) because of our late evening arrival into PC and early departure next AM from Albrook Airport. Angeline arranged for a taxi from the airport which was great because the taxi drivers can't seem to find it.

The rooms are smallish but very clean and comfortable. We returned at the end of our trip for 4 more nights, February 9th – 12th. It is well located in the sense is only short rides away from local airport, bus station, mall, Artisan markets, the causeway, Miraflores locks. We also liked the fact that it is located in a nice quiet neighbourhood, however trying to get back there yourself in cabs can be a challenge. SOLUTION: Ask for a business card, on it are written the magic words to ensure you get back: Entra Ancon en frente Mercado Abasto, 1era calle derecha, 1ere calle izquidrda y derecha. This worked well for us. Or you can get the driver to call Angeline and she will give them directions.

The breakfasts were always fresh and plentiful and there was a menu to choose from. We also made good use of the fridge in guest kitchen.

Angeline also had arranged for us to do a rail trip to Colon with a great bilingual driver Roger who picked us up at Colon rail station and brought us to tour Gatun locks, St-Lorenzo & Portobello.

We enjoyed our stay here and found the place well suited to our needs.

Room Tip: Our room was located at the back of the house, facing the patio and was very quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Moqueen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Panama City hotels
0.4 mi away
Wyndham Panama Albrook Mall
Wyndham Panama Albrook Mall
#7 of 113 in Panama City
1,476 reviews
2.4 mi away
Grace Panama
Grace Panama
#1 of 113 in Panama City
628 reviews
1.2 mi away
American Trade Hotel
American Trade Hotel
#5 of 113 in Panama City
453 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.4 mi away
Best Western Plus Panama Zen Hotel
0.7 mi away
The Balboa Inn
The Balboa Inn
#4 of 78 in Panama City
419 reviews
1.2 mi away
Magnolia Inn
Magnolia Inn
#2 of 105 in Panama City
606 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Dos Palmitos? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dos Palmitos

Property: Dos Palmitos
Address: Guayacan Terrace 0532B | Ancon Hill - Panama city, Panama City 080814, Panama
Location: Panama > Panama Province > Panama City
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 78 B&Bs / Inns in Panama City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our French/Spanish/English speaking staff welcomes you amidst the green surroundings of Ancon hill; close to all major places of interest in Panama City: the Canal, Albrook shopping mall, airport, bus terminal, as well as Casco Viejo. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Agoda so you can book your Dos Palmitos reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dos Palmitos Panama/Panama City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing