We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cold water, noisy but in a neat location”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hospedaje Casco Viejo
Reviewed April 3, 2013

I agree with Welshie22's review. After reading this review, I decided to pack ear plugs. You're going to need it. The hostel is rundown. As Ania Z points out, the shower water is indeed cold. It's in a quaint, work-in-progress neighborhood. Parts of this area, however, are a bit desolate and dangerous at night. Other parts are gorgeous with attractive restaurants. The Bella Vista area of Panama City has more hotel options and it's a bit more clean, convenient and safe.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank k o
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (179)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

83 - 89 of 179 reviews

Reviewed March 9, 2013

We arrived quite late at night in Panama City after a bus delay. This was literally the only option for me and my boyfriend, and even then we had to share a single bed! The shared bathroom was unclean, the bin in the bathroom was overflowing with used toilet paper. Don't waste your money - stay at the 'sister' hostal two streets away called the Panamericana! Much nicer, cleaner and newer!!

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank SettledinSpain
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 11, 2013

This place was a very nice, no frills place to stay in Casco Viejo. The security was great, the location was great, our room was clean. The shower was cold and uncomfortable, but the room was $25 a night, so not a surprise. Free wifi. It fit our needs perfectly.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ania Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 18, 2013

Stayed here for a night only since it was a busy season and every single place was packed. They had a room free even though we popped up out of nowhere. Me and my boyfriend stayed in one of the second floor rooms (might be third since reception is in a second floor already). Room had high ceiling and the contruction itself was according to the surroundings, old looking and not meaning that in a bad way. We didn't know breakfast was included so came down to the kitchen almost a bit too late, but the few buns we could eat were nice! It can be a bit noisy, but it is an inexpensive place to stay if you can put up with that.

Room Tip: Don't miss out on the breakfast!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BlueFoodie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 15, 2012 via mobile

This is the cheapest option. BUT.....

Run by locals i get the impression this hostel feels as though it can charge similar prices to the other big hostels in the area whilst offering very little apart from fast Internet.

Cold showers
Water ran out in shower
Leaking room
Noisy at night

All this for a dollar cheaper per person.

Needs to be $5-8 cheaper for what you get.

  • Stayed: December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank hudbry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 7, 2012 via mobile

After reading all of the bad reviews and this place being the only one with a free private in our budget range, we decided to give it a go. I read this place is basic, lets say it only has a bed in the room - that's it. And it was quite comfortable actually!
The shared bathrooms are a nightmare. Flush not working, hair balls everywhere and dirt - lots and lots of it.
All the doors in the room have one of those old school openings, so it's EXTREMELY LOUD AT ALL TIMES! We went to bed at 23:30, at 1AM I got the courage to tell the people to turn off the music and shut up. At 2AM they went to bed. At 5 AM the cleaners started cleaning up and talking. It woke the rest up, so at 6 AM every one was awake including us. We left at 8 in the morning and went to Mognolia Inn. Horrible experience!

  • Stayed: November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Alena1205
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 2, 2012

ok the place isn't too clean or organized, however staying in places in Casco Viejo is expensive, and this is the cheapest one that maintains some decency, at least they have good customer service. So I rate this place for the price, and because I know other hotels in Casco Viejo and I am aware of the options.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank traveling_moon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Panama City hotels
0.2 mi away
Hotel Casa Panama
Hotel Casa Panama
#66 of 115 in Panama City
196 reviews
0.1 mi away
Tantalo Hotel / Kitchen / Roofbar
0.2 mi away
Luna's Castle Hostel
Luna's Castle Hostel
#3 of 112 in Panama City
693 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Magnolia Inn
Magnolia Inn
#2 of 112 in Panama City
636 reviews
2.1 mi away
El Machico Hostel
El Machico Hostel
#1 of 112 in Panama City
526 reviews
1.9 mi away
The Panama Hat Hostel
The Panama Hat Hostel
#12 of 112 in Panama City
61 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hospedaje Casco Viejo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hospedaje Casco Viejo

Address: C 8a con Avenida A. | Casa 831, San Felipe., Panama City, Panama
Location: Panama > Panama Province > Panama City
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Kitchenette Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #47 of 112 Specialty Lodging in Panama City
Price Range: $13 - $25 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 16
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld so you can book your Hospedaje Casco Viejo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hospedaje Casco Viejo Hotel Panama City
Hospedaje Casco Viejo Panama/Panama City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing