We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Take it for what it is”
Review of Hostal Mamallena

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hostal Mamallena
Certificate of Excellence
Mobile
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Take it for what it is”
Reviewed November 8, 2010

The only thing special about this backpackers hostal is Stuart. He makes the place run- good information given, connections made, groups formed, events facilitated, rooms reserved, and so on. When he heads South to Colombia, the place heads south too. If he wants to remain among the top places for backpackers in PC, he has to get reliable people to staff the place. Beside Luna's Castle is way more fun.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank beenthereonce2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Casa762, Owner at Hostal Mamallena, responded to this review, November 17, 2010
Wow, I`m special!! Cool, thanks, first time anyone has said that, I`m embarrassed now.......

I`m sorry to hear that you think the hostel goes downhill when I`m not there though. Thats a shame but unfortunately it`s hard to avoid in a small business. But I do have 100% confidence in my staff and think that they are the best you will find in Panama. They are some of the friendliest and most helpful that I have seen in any of the hostels. And rememebr we are in Panama, many places ehre rate their staff as reliable on just the fact that they come to work! I also think that Will does a great job, at least as good if not better than myself. He can often be more friendly than me!! Send us an email though, let us know where we fell down so that we can fiix the mistakes.

I think it`s also ubfair to say that Lunas is more fun. They`re different than us and we don`t try to be like them. They`re big, hot and hectic. We try to be more organised(apparently not all the time!!), friendly and more like a family. We don`t try and organise your fun for you but we provide the location for you to do it yourself with other guests. Our layout makes it us more of a relaxed place as well. We also have AC and I think that can be hard to beat.

Thanks for the good comments, and anything you can suggest to make our operation better would be greatly appreciated. It`s just hard for me to be there 24 hours a day!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

480 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    219
    144
    70
    25
    22
See reviews for
22
142
148
5
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (58)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Key West, Florida
Level 5 Contributor
83 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
Reviewed October 28, 2010

Mamallena is in a perfect location if you want to see everything! A 30 min walk to Casco Viejo, 15 min walk to Calle Uruguay with all the lounges/clubs, and a $3 taxi to Ancón, the causeway, the bus terminal and downtown. It's on the main road where all the markets and real Panamanians live. Safe around there to walk both day and night but they will give you more information on that. There are plenty of toilets and showers. Free wifi in the seating areas both in and outside. Small enough to meet people but large enough to have privacy. They also have connections to many tours including the boat trip to Cartegena that we will be doing next week. The have beer, soda, juices and water for sale at a decent price. It is very secure with locks and video cameras to enter. The rooms are decent size with air-condition but they smell a little moldy when it rains. I am heading back there on Sunday for 2 more nights so yes I would recommend staying here.

  • Stayed October 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank beelann
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland, New Zealand
Level 5 Contributor
53 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed August 21, 2010

Stayed here for 4 nights and enjoyed it. Had a private room which was a little small/'cosy' with no natural light which is why it gets 4 stars. Otherwise can't fault the place. Some great outside areas to relax and read your book.

Other reviews have said it all. The highlight of panama was a tour you can book through the hostel. It's a Jungle tour that is really good. $55 well spent, a great day out.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Welsie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
137 reviews
137 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 135 helpful votes
Reviewed July 14, 2010

The hostel is located in a residential area with not many restaurants around, especially at night. Will need to get cab and buses most places. Stayed in a private room for $29.50 which is a little overpriced for panama considering the room had one double bed and no bathroom. There were plenty of bathrooms around the place though with toilets and showers with cold water. Place includes free makeityourself pancakes but kitchen always full so never bothered. Wifi only works upstairs in the common areas and not the rooms. We booked a cab through the hostel for US$20 for 3 people to the airport. Hostel booked with their driver and advised the cost. On arrival at the airport the driver says its $25 due to an airport tax for more than 1 person? Driver called the hostel who we spoke to, hostel said we need to pay the $25 as we never told them it was 3 people (which i did). Told the hostel they need to advise people of the additional cost as its deceptive, not real apology from them. Just beware.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Shannonluke
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Casa762, Owner at Hostal Mamallena, responded to this review, July 20, 2010
I`m so sorry about that with the taxi. $20 is the price for 3 people and thats all you should have been charged. I seriously doubt that my staff would have said it was $25 for 3 people because the taxis we deal with have never charged that much. I`m wondering if the driver called a friend or something. But this is the first complaint we`ve had like this. You should have sent me an email when you got home and I would investigate. If you can send me the name of the taxi driver and when you went, I`ll have words with him, and we won`t be using him again.

I`m sorry about that again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Panama City, Panama
Level 4 Contributor
44 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed June 18, 2010

Great place to stay in, clean beds, real friendly staff, lots of movies, free coffee!!!! The area is the typical latin american neighbourhood, so if you are looking for the real thing, go ahead and stay at Mamallena.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RoundandAround1981
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed May 13, 2010

This hostel has both double rooms and dorm beds. We stayed in a double without aircon on the first night as there were none with aircon left. It had three fans and wifi in the room so we were happy if a little hot. The second night we moved into a dorm and they are airconditioned at night which was lovely.

There are free computers in the loby a long with a big TV and lounges. The kitchen is well equiped and the staff are absolutly lovely. There is all you can eat pancaked breakfast any time of day, which is a nice touch.

There are some great outdoor spaces and loads of shared bathrooms around the place. It was a laid back and yet very social place. Good for tourist information and they also have info on boats heading over to Colombia.

I would highly recomend you book in advance to ensure you get a bed as they were fully booked during our stay.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank FantastiCally
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Netherlands
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed April 13, 2010

Well, everything that one can say about Mamallena has already been said in the previous reviews, so I'm not going to repeat all that This is simply an excellent place to stay.

What we also liked is that this place seems to attract a very mixed public rather than just the standard backpacker crowd. We've seen bikers and even people who could have been our parents.

Alltogether this makes Mamallena a very relaxed place to stay.

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Simon_Neijkamp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Panama City hotels
1.0 mi away
Tryp by Wyndham Panama Centro
Tryp by Wyndham Panama Centro
#20 of 114 in Panama City
1,148 reviews
1.1 mi away
El Machico Hostel
El Machico Hostel
#1 of 105 in Panama City
485 reviews
1.5 mi away
Magnolia Inn
Magnolia Inn
#2 of 105 in Panama City
609 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Hostel Villa Vento Surf
Hostel Villa Vento Surf
#4 of 105 in Panama City
307 reviews
1.4 mi away
Luna's Castle Hostel
Luna's Castle Hostel
#6 of 105 in Panama City
578 reviews
1.9 mi away
Hostel Casa Nativa
Hostel Casa Nativa
#8 of 105 in Panama City
33 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hostal Mamallena? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hostal Mamallena

Property: Hostal Mamallena
Address: Casa 7-62 Calle Primera | Perejil, Panama City, Panama
Location: Panama > Panama Province > Panama City
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 105 Specialty Lodging in Panama City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 20
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld so you can book your Hostal Mamallena reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mamallena Backpackers Panama City
Hostal Mamallena Panama/Panama City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing