We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pretty good, but beware of the cab organised through the hostel”
Review of Hostal Mamallena

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hostal Mamallena
Certificate of Excellence
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
139 reviews
139 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 135 helpful votes
“Pretty good, but beware of the cab organised through the hostel”
Reviewed July 14, 2010

The hostel is located in a residential area with not many restaurants around, especially at night. Will need to get cab and buses most places. Stayed in a private room for $29.50 which is a little overpriced for panama considering the room had one double bed and no bathroom. There were plenty of bathrooms around the place though with toilets and showers with cold water. Place includes free makeityourself pancakes but kitchen always full so never bothered. Wifi only works upstairs in the common areas and not the rooms. We booked a cab through the hostel for US$20 for 3 people to the airport. Hostel booked with their driver and advised the cost. On arrival at the airport the driver says its $25 due to an airport tax for more than 1 person? Driver called the hostel who we spoke to, hostel said we need to pay the $25 as we never told them it was 3 people (which i did). Told the hostel they need to advise people of the additional cost as its deceptive, not real apology from them. Just beware.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Shannonluke
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Casa762, Owner at Hostal Mamallena, responded to this review, July 20, 2010
I`m so sorry about that with the taxi. $20 is the price for 3 people and thats all you should have been charged. I seriously doubt that my staff would have said it was $25 for 3 people because the taxis we deal with have never charged that much. I`m wondering if the driver called a friend or something. But this is the first complaint we`ve had like this. You should have sent me an email when you got home and I would investigate. If you can send me the name of the taxi driver and when you went, I`ll have words with him, and we won`t be using him again.

I`m sorry about that again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

477 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    215
    145
    70
    25
    22
See reviews for
22
141
148
5
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (59)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Panama City, Panama
Level Contributor
44 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed June 18, 2010

Great place to stay in, clean beds, real friendly staff, lots of movies, free coffee!!!! The area is the typical latin american neighbourhood, so if you are looking for the real thing, go ahead and stay at Mamallena.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RoundandAround1981
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
Level Contributor
10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed May 13, 2010

This hostel has both double rooms and dorm beds. We stayed in a double without aircon on the first night as there were none with aircon left. It had three fans and wifi in the room so we were happy if a little hot. The second night we moved into a dorm and they are airconditioned at night which was lovely.

There are free computers in the loby a long with a big TV and lounges. The kitchen is well equiped and the staff are absolutly lovely. There is all you can eat pancaked breakfast any time of day, which is a nice touch.

There are some great outdoor spaces and loads of shared bathrooms around the place. It was a laid back and yet very social place. Good for tourist information and they also have info on boats heading over to Colombia.

I would highly recomend you book in advance to ensure you get a bed as they were fully booked during our stay.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank FantastiCally
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Netherlands
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed April 13, 2010

Well, everything that one can say about Mamallena has already been said in the previous reviews, so I'm not going to repeat all that This is simply an excellent place to stay.

What we also liked is that this place seems to attract a very mixed public rather than just the standard backpacker crowd. We've seen bikers and even people who could have been our parents.

Alltogether this makes Mamallena a very relaxed place to stay.

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Simon_Neijkamp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ajijic, Mexico
Level Contributor
58 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 118 helpful votes
Reviewed April 12, 2010

I spent a week at Mamallena's and loved it. It was my first day in Panama City, so it took a day or two to adjust to the trash in the street, sidewalks, traffic, etc., but once I got over that, I got in the Panama City groove, and staying at Mamallena's made the week a fun one. The staff, especially Will and Victor are friendly and helpful...the rooms are clean and so are the bathrooms, it's quiet at night, the courtyard is great for socializing with fellow travelers or just having a cold beer in the hammock. There are 3 high-speed pcs to use for free, the coffee is GREAT, the pancakes are as big as you want to make them, and it's in a great location, walking distance or a 25 cent bus ride to just about everything. They also line up group trips for you to sign up for right there, several times a week, and if you're feeling tired from all the walking and partying, you can laze around on the sofas and watch movies on the big screen TV. The cooler is stocked with water and cold beer, and the kitchen is great for preparing the cheap veggies you bought at the local food stands just down the street. My favorite treat was the ensalda de las frutas, fruit salad, that I got just across the street for $1.25...yum. I had a bunch of dental work done right down the street which saved me a bundle, and staying at Mamallena's was the icing on the cake! ENJOY!

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BetsyinOregon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
24 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed March 23, 2010

I was here for 4 nights. Great location, staff was awesome. I arrived after a night bus ride at 6am thinking I was going to have to drop my stuff and come back later to check in. Not so, got there and they said my bed would be ready in 20 minutes and sure enough it was. They are very open to trying new tours, I went on a test one to Noriega's beach house, a cigar factory and a jungle walk. They need to work a few bugs out but they honestly wanted our opinions on what we liked what we didn't etc. Because the trip was a test run we only had to pay $15.00 for a 9 hour day of activities. Cost of a dorm room was $11.00 and includes all day coffee/tea and pancake mix (recommend a trip to the store for a couple of bananas and some pineapple for topping). Location is great pretty central and safe, walked around at night with no problems

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank losttrekkers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bolzano, Italy
Level Contributor
12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed March 9, 2010

The hostel is a good starting point to Panama. First, make sure u organize the city tour, for the extra experience, book a stay on one of the San Blas Islands - it's just wow's all over the place. The Hostel itself was simple, good rooms (though the double romm had no window), nice yard, a terrace. Only downside - it was quite hot in the communal rooms. But after two days in Panama u adjust to that!

  • Stayed December 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KatGoesRoundTheWorld
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Panama City hotels
1.1 mi away
El Machico Hostel
El Machico Hostel
#1 of 105 in Panama City
479 reviews
1.5 mi away
Magnolia Inn
Magnolia Inn
#2 of 105 in Panama City
606 reviews
1.4 mi away
Luna's Castle Hostel
Luna's Castle Hostel
#6 of 105 in Panama City
565 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 mi away
Hostel Casa Nativa
Hostel Casa Nativa
#8 of 105 in Panama City
33 reviews
1.3 mi away
Los Mostros Hostel
Los Mostros Hostel
#10 of 105 in Panama City
150 reviews
0.9 mi away
The Panama Hat Hostel
The Panama Hat Hostel
#9 of 105 in Panama City
60 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hostal Mamallena? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hostal Mamallena

Property: Hostal Mamallena
Address: Casa 7-62 Calle Primera | Perejil, Panama City, Panama
Location: Panama > Panama Province > Panama City
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 105 Specialty Lodging in Panama City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 20
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld so you can book your Hostal Mamallena reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mamallena Backpackers Panama City
Hostal Mamallena Panama/Panama City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing