We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“My first hostel - and it was great!”
Review of Hostal Mamallena

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hostal Mamallena
Certificate of Excellence
Bayville
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“My first hostel - and it was great!”
Reviewed May 12, 2009

For my 50th birthday, I wanted to try something different. So I decided on Panama City/Kuna Yala. And why not stay in a hostel for the first time in my life? I read alot about Mamallena, but wasnt sure about the whole hostel thing. I sent numerous emails and countless questions to Stuart at Mamallena, each one answered promptly. Feeling more at ease, I booked a room. When we arrived, we met Stuart - one of the nicest people you could ever meet, and full of information about the city. Mamallena was fantastic - comfortable (small) room for 2, ample CLEAN shared bathrooms and showers (never a wait), and a very fun croww. Stuart also booked a trip to Kuna Yala for us, and arrannged a perfect city tour by taxi (take the tour!). Out of 7 nights in Panama, we only spent our first 2 a Mamallena, as we travelled out of the city, but those 2 nights set the tone for an amazing vacation.

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank fm11709
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

481 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    219
    145
    70
    25
    22
See reviews for
22
142
148
5
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (58)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Vancouver, Canada
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed April 2, 2009

Mamallena is pretty popular and nearly always fully booked the entire week we were there, especially the private rooms. So make a reservation before you get there. Stuart the owner is helpful and accommodating, the place is organised, has a balcony for hanging out, a working kitchen, laptops for internet, tv for watching dvds, free storage room, ample clean bathrooms and toilets. free pancakes for breakfast.

We got a private room for around $27 which isn´t dirt cheap but the room has AC that works very well, the room is clean, bed firm and comfortable, good sheets and free towels. Get a private room if you are travelling with a friend, it was a much needed respite for us from the heat of the day and the bugs at dusk.

  • Stayed April 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank aliila
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed February 26, 2009

First thing - the lonely planet address is WRONG! We got really lost trying to find it and ended up being dropped off in a sketchy part of Panama City near the hostal very late at night - not fun! This is not near the center of Panama City but can take taxis around which is cheap. its owned by brothers and one of them is kinda snootty about being a true backpacker or something ... and the other brother was very good about giving information and being nice. There is another hostal in the old part of town we were told is closer and similar accomodations. The good thing is you meet a lot of people there, there are two large common areas and for NYE they put together a party at a local bar, which was great because we didn't know that Panamanians leave the city or spend with their family NYE... so it was pretty dead.

  • Stayed January 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CNP_NYC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, WA
1 review
Reviewed February 11, 2009

a pretty traditional hostel, although exceptionally clean, with an interesting mix of people, mostly american and australian. stayed in a private room, which was fine for sleeping but not great to hang out in at all. hostel had apparantly moved recently - BE AWARE if you are using Lonely Planet Panama that the address and map of this hostel ARE INCORRECT. Download the map and taxi instructions from their Web site instead. i actually wandered around for about two hours with Lonely planet map and a compass trying to find a restaurant that was supposedly nearby (I guess it was before the hostel moved!). There is a book store on Via Espana near the hostel selling street maps, i advise getting one of those upon arrival.

The price seems a little high ($27.50 for a private double), considering you can get hotel rooms for $30 two blocks away. The free internet and Engligh speaking staff and tourists might be a draw though.

  • Liked — Very Clean
  • Disliked — Semi-bad neighborhood, young party crowd
  • Stayed January 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank UrsieMonster
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Panama City hotels
1.0 mi away
Tryp by Wyndham Panama Centro
Tryp by Wyndham Panama Centro
#20 of 114 in Panama City
1,151 reviews
1.3 mi away
Best Western Plus Panama Zen Hotel
1.4 mi away
Luna's Castle Hostel
Luna's Castle Hostel
#6 of 105 in Panama City
581 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 mi away
Hostel Casa Nativa
Hostel Casa Nativa
#8 of 105 in Panama City
33 reviews
1.3 mi away
Los Mostros Hostel
Los Mostros Hostel
#12 of 105 in Panama City
150 reviews
0.7 mi away
Panama Central Loft
Panama Central Loft
#19 of 105 in Panama City
19 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hostal Mamallena? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hostal Mamallena

Property: Hostal Mamallena
Address: Casa 7-62 Calle Primera | Perejil, Panama City, Panama
Location: Panama > Panama Province > Panama City
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 105 Specialty Lodging in Panama City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 20
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld so you can book your Hostal Mamallena reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mamallena Backpackers Panama City
Hostal Mamallena Panama/Panama City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing