We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good hostel but not good to meet people”
Review of Hostal Mamallena

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hostal Mamallena
Certificate of Excellence
Los Angeles, California
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Good hostel but not good to meet people”
Reviewed January 17, 2014

I stayed here for one night and it was really nice. The common room has windows and doors that are always open which is great since it's so humid. This hostel isn't the best place for meeting people. Everyone mostly kept to themselves.If I come back I don't know if I would stay here. There is a hostel down by the Canal that I would want to try. It's a nice place though.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lifeisapancake
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Casa762, Owner at Hostal Mamallena, responded to this review, January 18, 2014
Hey, really glad you enjoyed the place but a shame you might not come back. Meeting people can be a hrd thing, it often depends on the group that are there and on you yourself, so its very subjective. It can be hard when you're only there for one night as well. I do get what you mean though, we have a number of different social areas and people do tend to spread out amongst them, as compared to our hostel in Cartagena where people tend to stay in the one area.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

486 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    222
    145
    72
    25
    22
See reviews for
22
146
148
5
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (58)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed January 15, 2014

This hostel disappointed in every regard. Rooms were dirty, air conditioners didn't work, staff was rude, and the location was not the best. Also, they plan trips to San Blas and other places, but use caution because they do not plan them well. Total disappointment and a word of caution to anyone trusting them with their money and planning to stay there. Panama is beautiful, and there are plenty of other hostels.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Alex M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Casa762, Owner at Hostal Mamallena, responded to this review, January 18, 2014
Well, at least you are the sort of person that follows through on your word. When you threatened to put a bad review on Trip Advisor if you didn't get your way we weren't sure if you would follow through after we did all we could to fix the problem. It was unfortunate that you were turned away from San Blas because you didn't have you passport, but we did tell you you needed to take it. Its also the law that ALL foreigners in Panama have to carry their passports at all times. I don't think you can blame us that you were ignorant of that law. It is rather childish of you to start to make other complaints because you didn't get your way, and to say that we are untrustworthy with money, it did give me a little giggle :) I'm not sure what you based that on, but anyway, thanks for the review, they do say that any publicity is good publicity.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Antwerp, Antwerpen, Belgium
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed January 9, 2014

friendly staff, good pancake breakfast, nicely decorated to make it a pleasant place to stay, especially in the communal areas, that offer books, films, games, and travel info. The only downside were the small rooms that were very hot and had noisy airconditioning.

Room Tip: private rooms on the ground floor are small with noisy a/c
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Eliene V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Panama City, Panama
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed December 29, 2013 via mobile

Great location, great vibes, great staff!

And *bonus* free pancake breakfast, lots of places to chill and relax in hammocks, and tones of movies, books, with dorms or private rooms which have air conditioning!!!

Definitely recommend hostel Mamallena!

Stayed December 2013, traveled solo
Helpful?
Thank RJsThoughts
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed December 22, 2013

This review is in regard to the sailboat booking service offered by this hostel. They're probably fine if you don't have any questions beyond the information they provide, but if you do, prepare for multiple insults. They say they welcome questions, but if you dare ask, their response may be quite hostile and offensive, and include a clear message that they would rather send you away than deal with you. Perhaps they have no trouble booking their boats, so they can afford to be highly offensive to anyone asking for further information on their services.

Room Tip: The people at Blue Sailing are very helpful.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank vamosalaplaya333
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Casa762, Owner at Hostal Mamallena, responded to this review, December 29, 2013
We're sorry that you felt this way about our service. its a shame that you didn't contact us directly so that we could find out exactly what happened and which staff member it was. Coming to us first is usually a sign that you'd like the problem fixed rather than just venting on the internet about something that we don't know the details of. We do pride ourselves on offer a good service with regards to the boats between Panama and Colombia, and I am sure that most of the thousands of people that we send each year are happy with that service. It can be difficult sometimes and I know that I myself get frustrated with some of the questions that people ask. We do provide general information about the trip, and thats enough for most people. We don't always know what you will have for breakfast on the third day, nor how much time you will spend on an island on the second day. Some people can't always accept that and our frustration does show, we're normal.

I don't know if that was the case with you, but either way it isn't our intention for that to happen. And really, if you're the only person to have that as a real complaint about our service, out of thousands, then I think we are doing a pretty good job.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
1 review
Reviewed November 24, 2013

Mamallena was one of my favourite hostels in 8 months in Central America. The dorms are big and comfortable with clean big beds, there is a kitchen for use by guests, and a bunch of communal areas for chilling in hammocks or watching films. Such a nice hostel for meeting people as everyone congregates in the communal areas and kitchen to get to know one another. The staff are so friendly and welcoming, gave me lots of great info on the city and showed us around the bars in the evening which was such an awesome and fun introduction to the city.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 970alicer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Taganga, Colombia
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed November 20, 2013

Mamallenas is a fun backpackers hostel in the buzzing Getsemani district. You will find it is very well run hub of activity for all things travel in Cartagena and beyond, ask them for sail boats to Panama, kitesurfing trips to Guajira or mountain biking in the Sierra Nevada, they have the contacts to make it all happen. When we were there the bar was pretty buzzing maybe something to do with great value happy hour deals and some pretty damn tasty pizza!
Only problem is lots of mosquitoes about so would have preffered a mosquito netting on the dorm beds.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Elemento Outdoo... A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Panama City hotels
1.3 mi away
Best Western Plus Panama Zen Hotel
1.0 mi away
Tryp by Wyndham Panama Centro
Tryp by Wyndham Panama Centro
#22 of 114 in Panama City
1,165 reviews
1.4 mi away
Luna's Castle Hostel
Luna's Castle Hostel
#6 of 107 in Panama City
587 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 mi away
Hostel Casa Nativa
Hostel Casa Nativa
#8 of 107 in Panama City
35 reviews
1.3 mi away
Los Mostros Hostel
Los Mostros Hostel
#11 of 107 in Panama City
152 reviews
0.7 mi away
Panama Central Loft
Panama Central Loft
#18 of 107 in Panama City
19 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hostal Mamallena? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hostal Mamallena

Property: Hostal Mamallena
Address: Casa 7-62 Calle Primera | Perejil, Panama City, Panama
Location: Panama > Panama Province > Panama City
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 107 Specialty Lodging in Panama City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 20
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld so you can book your Hostal Mamallena reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mamallena Backpackers Panama City
Hostal Mamallena Panama/Panama City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing