We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“Very good food and value” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Rene Cafe

Rene Cafe
Ranked #16 of 889 Restaurants in Panama City
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $8 - $25
Cuisines: Latin, Spanish, Central American, South American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Special occasions, Dining on a budget, Romantic, Local cuisine, Kids
Dining options: Lunch, Late Night, Dinner, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
250 reviews
129 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 119 helpful votes
“Very good food and value”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 8, 2013

At the suggestion of the owners at Casa Sucre I tried Rene Cafe for a really fun lunch. It is a small restaurant with an exposed kitchen to the right of the entrance. You have a fixed price lunch for around $8.50 which included nice green salad, Spanish tortilla or omlette, a choice of fish,chicken or pork with a large bowl of rice, plus great crepe for dessert. I thought the service was excellent and loved the atmosphere and the food. It is on Calle Oedri J. Sossa across from the Catedral in Casco Viego

  • Visited March 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Globalphile
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

421 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    237
    131
    38
    11
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Addis Ababa, Ethiopia
Level Contributor
68 reviews
41 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“Low variety, low quality, but cheap!”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 6, 2013

We had a family lunch on a Saturday there. The menu is simple: they offer meat, chicken, fish or vegetarian main dish. It comes with 2 "entradas" in our case a quite good tortilla and a salad.
The fish was salty, not very big. The vegetable rice pretty tasteless. Our kid's chicken was dry, not seasoned, not edible.
The "dessert" was a dry browny. But at least it was not overpriced.
A look to the open kitchen reveals a lack of hygiene, dirty windows, glasses and dishes, shelves that have not seen cleaning in ages. We wonder how this place is can display a Trip Advisor excellence reward With a 4.5 rating in 2012...?!
Won't come back!

  • Visited April 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank AbDurchDieMitte
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
des moines
Level Contributor
105 reviews
51 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
“Fun place to eat!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 1, 2013

Six course meal and then some. We ate too much but it was a blast. Had a bottle of wine and the owner is right there working hard like all the employees are.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank treeshaker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa
Level Contributor
74 reviews
53 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
“Good value, okay food”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 30, 2013

I'm not sure why this restaurant gets such great reviews. I'm guessing because the food is cheap and the place has a quaint atmosphere. But, there are so many good restaurants in the area, I wouldn't go out of my way to eat here. If you want cheap food, walk along Avienda Central and eat from one of the store front local restaurants.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank Discocanuck
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
12 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Fabulous!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 29, 2013 via mobile

Adorable restaurant right off Plaza Cathedral that has a set menu of seven courses that were so filling as amazing for $22 a person! It was wonderful! Amazing food and fabulous service, just make a reservation. You can email them easily off their website and they respond quickly. Don't miss it!

    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank KVG_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Rene Cafe also viewed

Panama City, Panama Province
Panama City, Panama Province
 
Panama City, Panama Province
Panama City, Panama Province
 

Been to Rene Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing