We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Very good food and value” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Rene Cafe

Rene Cafe
Ranked #18 of 850 Restaurants in Panama City
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $8 - $25
Cuisines: Spanish, Central American, South American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Dining on a budget, Families with children, Business meetings, Romantic, Special occasions
Dining options: Late Night, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
247 reviews
128 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 117 helpful votes
“Very good food and value”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

At the suggestion of the owners at Casa Sucre I tried Rene Cafe for a really fun lunch. It is a small restaurant with an exposed kitchen to the right of the entrance. You have a fixed price lunch for around $8.50 which included nice green salad, Spanish tortilla or omlette, a choice of fish,chicken or pork with a large bowl of rice, plus great crepe for dessert. I thought the service was excellent and loved the atmosphere and the food. It is on Calle Oedri J. Sossa across from the Catedral in Casco Viego

  • Visited March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Globalphile
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

411 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    230
    128
    38
    11
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Addis Ababa, Ethiopia
Level Contributor
68 reviews
41 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“Low variety, low quality, but cheap!”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 6, 2013

We had a family lunch on a Saturday there. The menu is simple: they offer meat, chicken, fish or vegetarian main dish. It comes with 2 "entradas" in our case a quite good tortilla and a salad.
The fish was salty, not very big. The vegetable rice pretty tasteless. Our kid's chicken was dry, not seasoned, not edible.
The "dessert" was a dry browny. But at least it was not overpriced.
A look to the open kitchen reveals a lack of hygiene, dirty windows, glasses and dishes, shelves that have not seen cleaning in ages. We wonder how this place is can display a Trip Advisor excellence reward With a 4.5 rating in 2012...?!
Won't come back!

  • Visited April 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank AbDurchDieMitte
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
des moines
Level Contributor
104 reviews
50 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
“Fun place to eat!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 1, 2013

Six course meal and then some. We ate too much but it was a blast. Had a bottle of wine and the owner is right there working hard like all the employees are.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank treeshaker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa
Level Contributor
74 reviews
53 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“Good value, okay food”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 30, 2013

I'm not sure why this restaurant gets such great reviews. I'm guessing because the food is cheap and the place has a quaint atmosphere. But, there are so many good restaurants in the area, I wouldn't go out of my way to eat here. If you want cheap food, walk along Avienda Central and eat from one of the store front local restaurants.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank Discocanuck
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
12 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Fabulous!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 29, 2013 via mobile

Adorable restaurant right off Plaza Cathedral that has a set menu of seven courses that were so filling as amazing for $22 a person! It was wonderful! Amazing food and fabulous service, just make a reservation. You can email them easily off their website and they respond quickly. Don't miss it!

    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank KVG_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Rene Cafe also viewed

Panama City, Panama Province
Panama City, Panama Province
 
Panama City, Panama Province
Panama City, Panama Province
 
Panama City, Panama Province
Panama City, Panama Province
 

Been to Rene Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing