We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Excellent old Panama!!!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Rene Cafe

Rene Cafe
Ranked #18 of 849 Restaurants in Panama City
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $8 - $25
Cuisines: Spanish, Central American, South American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Local cuisine, Business meetings, Special occasions, Dining on a budget, Families with children
Dining options: Late Night, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Los Angeles
Level Contributor
29 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Excellent old Panama!!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 6, 2012

Although this lovely old Casco restaurant has already been found, it was still a find on a rainy afternoon! This was our first and likely our best meal in Panama City.

The simple and cheap lunch set was perfect - starter salad, simple grilled corvina, rice pilaf and light cake all for $10 a head!!! The wine choices were a little disappointing but that was so even in the priciest restaurants.

The ambiance is pure old time Casco Viejo - go before it is priced out from all the reconstruction!

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
Thank Ri-write
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

411 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    230
    128
    38
    11
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Cincinnati, Ohio
Level Contributor
20 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Please avoid this place”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 27, 2012

The prices are high, the food is not fresh, the cooking is mediocre at best. The only plus is that the staff is super friendly. The night we went they had a pre fixed menu. My wife had a vegetarian meal, while I had the usual. We both started with Salads, the lettuce and carrots had a stale taste to it. We ordered some cocktails. They added egg white to it, and it wreaked of eggs in them. The food was international, but something that an amateur home cook could easily cobble together. I got a chicken steak with barbeque sauce on it, a spring roll, plantains stuffed with beef (which was the only decent thing we got), fried fish, ravioli stuffed with cheese in a spinach sauce. All in all the meal was lackluster and unimaginative. Most certainly not worth the price they charge.

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
Thank Kaushik G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“What a great surprise!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 22, 2012

We found this on trip advisor and it was close to where we stayed so gave it a go. Thought that we weren't too hungry but they only offer 6 courses for dinner! As each course came out we were pleasantly surprised by how delicious it was! The restaurant does not look like much, but it was delicious and the service was very friendly and they were very accommodating and it was a wonderful experience sitting out on the square. I would highly recommend it for something casual but delicious. Not fancy, great food. We were overly full afterwards, as we couldn't stop eating the great food!

  • Visited November 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank ellie m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
23 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Great cheap eat”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 18, 2012 via mobile

Simple food, fantastic service and really good value. I was in the mood for chicken with some rice and the great location and friendly atmosphere was a nice surprise. Don't expect gourmet but for what it is, I recommend. I enjoyed the tres leches cake at the end

    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Yookyung
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
15 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Great lunch choice”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 17, 2012 via mobile

We had a delightful lunch. It's right in the center of Casco Viejo. The lunch was great from appetizers to dessert for $8.50 each.

Helpful?
Thank Panamachristina
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Rene Cafe also viewed

Panama City, Panama Province
Panama City, Panama Province
 
Panama City, Panama Province
Panama City, Panama Province
 

Been to Rene Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing