We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Comfy bed & hot water, but could be a lot better”
3 of 5 bubbles Review of Dos Mares

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Dos Mares
Spain
Level Contributor
22 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Comfy bed & hot water, but could be a lot better”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 7, 2012

If you are familiar with hotels in developing countries and are looking for a simple, clean and cheap place to stay, this was not bad. If you've never been to a developing country before, I would recommend looking for a hotel in a more touristy part of town. There are not many good restaurants nearby. Most of the people around this area were definitely locals, so if you're an out of towner, you'll feel more out of place. There really wasn't anywhere that you could walk to in general. We usually took a taxi out to find a restaurant for lunch and dinner. The breakfast was included with our stay and I was very happy with mine! I stayed at this hotel for 4 nights.

The good: great A/C, hot water in the showers, comfortable beds, clear rooms and a restaurant attached to the hotel that is open 'til late into the night, good housekeeping staff

The bad: broken window locks (in 2 rooms that I stayed in), door jambs that extended far enough to hit your knuckle, loud A/C that turned on and off through the night

Some things to note: The majority of staff that we encountered in the hotel and the restaurant did not speak much English. The door locks work, but they seemed like they would be easy to break into. However, I did leave my things in the room along with several others in my party, and nothing was stolen. The housekeeping staff, in my opinion, did a great job keeping the room neat and were nice.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Faye G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

60 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    6
    12
    14
    11
    17
See reviews for
15
17
6
6
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 31, 2012

Stayed 20 days.

Everything in reach
Bus stops,supermarket,cheap taxis ,restaurants of various grades,store on corner, street food stalls of good quality.

Air conditioning noisy but effective. Staff happy to give a room with good ocean view if you can communicate with them. Some with good English most not as hotel caters mainly to Hispanic
holiday makers .

free breakfast adequate cereal, fruit salad,eggs,sausage or pancakes with orange juive and excellent coffee.

Hotel restaurant high priced for area with surreal service.

If in a hurry it's best to go directly to cashier and order and pay her when you have finished as most locals do.

Chinese at end of street has fish and chips and steak or chicken and rice to die for at three or four dollars.

Lobster at $16 at fancy cleaner resteraunt round the corner if you want to splurge.

Jewel of the place is the roof swimming pool with majestic view of the city and the Pacific with giant ships waiting to enter the Panama Canal and the jungle stretching to Columbia on thr other side.

At weekends a little bar opens up their at night with loud Caribbean Spanish Reggae music.

Cubans , Jamaicans, Cayman Islanders, Columbians, Venezualans,Equadorians, Ukranian sailors, And the odd American or Brit all mingle with local Panamanians.

A Hotel with a strong character that I suspect folk will either love or hate .

Cheap, safe , friendly.

Noisy,shabby and changing as we sat there.
You have to rent a fridge if you want one but there is a corner store and 24 Hr restaurant/cafe next door but one and the hotel drinks aren't "too" much of a rip off in the heat.

Room Tip: Tell them you want a room with a view the higher the better but bear in mind the higher the room the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank traveltr0tter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas
Level Contributor
15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 31, 2012

We made reservations thru Hotels.com, and won't be making that mistake again. We arrived by taxi from airport (at a price 5 times higher than was originally quoted), only to find that the hotel claimed to have no record of our reservations.
We spent an hour in the lobby trying to find other accommodations (with no assistance from the vacant-eyed front desk girls), while watching hotel guests (residents?) parading in and out....Party Music was loud from nearby nightclubs, many of the "Guests" seemed to be working girls, and many of the "occupants" seemed clearly to be under the influence of drugs and/or alcohol. The neighborhood was rough, edgy, and frightening to our children. The attached restaurant seemed to be the type place people go when the bars close (if they ever close in this particular neighborhood).
I kept an advertising brochure for this hotel, just for the comic irony. It advertises itself as a family friendly budget hotel, and might one day be just that, if they can push out the drug dealers and hookers.
This is not a good place for a family to stay.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank BStoneMoore
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Panama City hotels

Arcadia, California
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 31, 2012

Having never been to the third world before I was a bit shocked when I first saw the room and all I wanted to do was catch the first plane back to the states. But I calmed down and we stayed for three weeks . I guess the hotel was good for the area. At first they tried to put us in a room on the second floor with a view of nothing but an empty lot full of garbage. Then they moved us up the 6th floor where we had a small view of the Pacific. The rooms were clean and the view from the roof was nice.
We had to be careful shutting the door to our room to keep from smashing our knuckles. I slipped and hurt my toe on water sweating off the toilet. I also caught my eye on the bathroom light switch in the night and got a small black eye. This was because the bathroom was so small.

Our daughter got cut on the foot by the pool ladder and needed 4 stitches at the nearby Hospital Del Nino. The staff was concerned about her accident but no one apologized. The mattresses were filthy saggy and old but they changed the sheets every day. The window air conditioner was missing a knob and there was not filter, just a gaping hole and you could see daylight between the unit and the wall. The unit worked but it was very loud. I did not mind the noise it made at night because it helped block out the street noise, but I did mind the noise during the day. Room service was strange, they seem to only have one set of towels so they take them away, wash them and then bring them back in the evening. We were only given two towels a day. No washcloths, no hand towels, no floor towel (except on two days that they did give us a floor towel). The towels were delivered in a plastic bag with two small bars of soap. That was it, no shampoo, toothbrush or anything else.
The room did come with a pitcher and two glasses that we could take down to the hotel restaurant and get filled with ice water. We had to ask to get the glasses washed; otherwise it never would have happened. There was a lot of construction on the hotel; the terrace was often closed due to welding and such. The elevator was shut down for several hours at one point. One day they were painting something in the hallway and the fumes were so bad that we had to leave our room for the afternoon and we could not go to the terrace because they were welding there and the pool was closed so we gave up and went to the mall.
The free breakfast was okay, most of the servers were good . Maria provided good quick and friendly service behind the bar, so we learned to bypass the wait staff and order directly from her. The fruit salad was good. The "sausage stew" was just fried hot dogs YUCK. Like all Panamanian restaurants we ate at we had to chase the staff down for the bill. They would not wait on us on the terrace at all unless we went all the way in and told them we wanted service. In the end it was just too much work to eat there having to chase down service and the bill and the prices were high for the area. We tipped well, so we don't really understand why the service was so slow and hard to come by.
There were cockroaches in the pool bathroom and on the restaurant terrace, but I suppose that can't be avoided in such a hot place. There were no cockroaches anywhere inside the hotel.
The front desk staff was friendly and they all spoke a little bit of English. One woman spoke very good English. The owner speaks good English as well and he helped us make a phone call once. The janitor was a bit rude, pushing past us and into the elevator with his mop pail several times during our stay.
Check out was really awful. When we brought down the key they had a maid rush up to the room to investigate... wow.. Maybe that’s normal in Panama. We had used a towel to wipe salsa off the floor and the maid brought the towel all the way to the lobby and gave me withering looks and there was a huge debate involving many people about the towel and if they were going to charge us or not. Then a manager came down gave me horrible withering looks too. They did not give these horrible looks to my husband. Did they think it was menstrual blood? We told them it was salsa.. What a scene, it did not leave a pleasant memory for us.
In the end they did not charge for the towel. I think they thought the salsa was blood from when my daughter got cut on the pool ladder, so they decided to let it go. I was trying to say to them how can you charge us for a towel after we paid $1,000 to stay 20 days and our daughter was seriously injured and scarred for life on your crappy pool ladder? After they decided not to charge us for the hotel we exchanged friendly goodbyes and left with Jose who seems to be their semi official taxi driver. Jose gave us a ride to the airport for $28 including tolls.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Shawna W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Plano, Texas, United States
Level Contributor
27 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 27, 2012

Showed up with our children and they did not have our reservation for 2 rooms. Spent an hour in the lobby racking up international cell charges trying to find another hotel while staff just stared at us, did not help at all. Loud music, dirty facility, not a good area of town. Security guard came inside long enough to grab his billy club for protection and go back outside. Working girls outside on nearby corners. So glad to get away finally.

Room Tip: do not stay here
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Margaret M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boca Raton, FL
Level Contributor
35 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 3, 2012

On my first (and maybe last) trip to Panama, I was disappointed in the hotel we had made reservations for four of the ten nights we were gone. While we were not looking for first class accommodations, these were more sub-par than we had planned for. It was not dirty, the beds were fine, there was hot water, and the air conditioning worked. Those are the positives. BUT it was pretty run down, you had to watch your hands as you opened doors due to poor construction that could cause you to smash your knuckles, and the front desk people were not very helpful. There were almost no restaurants in walking distance, and none that were good. The service we had at the restaurant next door was awful, BUT the servers and service at the breakfast were wonderful - friendly, quick, and simple, but filling and good food & coffee. The a.c. was loud as it cycled on and off all night, and the street sounds loud all night. We would not go back there at all. It kind of equals our opinion about the city as a whole.

Room Tip: Choose a different hotel - go to Boquete - NICE city
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank srcsingr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Curacao
Level Contributor
59 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 19, 2012

We were placed in this hotel by the organization which invited us to the city supposedly because of budgetary reasons. But in my opinion filthy bathrooms and terraces and the very unfriendly service half the staff provided can never be excused in the hotel business because of low prices. The A/C window unit, made so many noise during the nights that I stayed their that it woke me up.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank JSalomonCuracao
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Panama City hotels
0.2 mi away
Centroamericano Hotel
Centroamericano Hotel
#66 of 116 in Panama City
3.5 of 5 bubbles 296 reviews
0.1 mi away
Caribe Hotel
Caribe Hotel
#77 of 116 in Panama City
3.0 of 5 bubbles 32 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Acapulco
Hotel Acapulco
#69 of 116 in Panama City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 36 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
City House Soloy & Casino
City House Soloy & Casino
#97 of 116 in Panama City
3.0 of 5 bubbles 149 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Roma Plaza
Hotel Roma Plaza
#83 of 116 in Panama City
3.5 of 5 bubbles 189 reviews
0.1 mi away
Bahia Suites Hotel
Bahia Suites Hotel
#96 of 116 in Panama City
3.0 of 5 bubbles 221 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Dos Mares? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dos Mares

Property: Dos Mares
Address: Peru Avenue and 30th Street, Panama City, Panama
Location: Panama > Panama Province > Panama City
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #69 of 110 Specialty Lodging in Panama City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Dos Mares 3*
Number of rooms: 8
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Dos Mares reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dos Mares Hotel Panama City
Dos Mares Panama/Panama City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing