We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Business Hotel at the Panama Canal (Pacific Entrance)”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Holiday Inn Panama Canal
Ranked #24 of 114 Hotels in Panama City
Certificate of Excellence
Panama City, Panama
1 review
“Great Business Hotel at the Panama Canal (Pacific Entrance)”
Reviewed July 19, 2014

I have stayed at this hotel many times per year as I conduct business in Panama City and the City of Knowledge. My usual stays are about 5 days. After just a few visits you can eventually determine if a hotel is poor, good or excellent. This hotel is excellent. Clean, quiet, very organized, and secure.

All staff are pleasing, knowledgable and professional. What ever you need, anyone will assist. The hotel General Manager is wonderful and keeps everyone working as a team. Diana, Reception Manager has always been a pleasure to work with and wonderful with my reservations or questions. Juliana is in the hotel restaurant. She meets me in the morning or should I eat lunch in the hotel. Juliana is always, always smiling, very helpful, attentive, and professional. Juliana is best overall leader I have seen in this restaurant. The hotel food is excellent as the Panama International Hotel School is contained within the hotel and, for the restaurant, produce outstanding food.

Give it a try.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled on business
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Al A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ArangoD1, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn Panama Canal, responded to this review, August 4, 2014
Dear Al A

Thank you for writing such a wonderful review on your recent stay and we are so happy to have you returning to our hotel on your visits to Panama. I don't always have reviews in which I am named personally so thank you for your generousity. I have forwarded your message to Juliana and the rest of the team. We know you have a many choices when visiting Panama and wanted to thank you for being a loyal Holiday Inn customer. Come back soon...

All the best

Diana
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

552 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    232
    204
    82
    21
    13
See reviews for
101
107
47
244
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (102)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Inglis, Florida
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed July 16, 2014

Our 12-day exploratory trip to Panama involved driving to meetings in the city as well as forays to different parts of the country. The hotel at Miraflores lock provided a convenient location for moving about, as well as a peaceful haven at the end of the day and a great place to watch ships transiting the canal
Breakfast at the hotel was a great way to start the day, including a cheerful greeting from Hostess Juliana. Hotel management was great and the staff attentive. Would definitely stay here again.

Room Tip: The higher the better to watch ships going through the locks.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Paul H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ArangoD1, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn Panama Canal, responded to this review, July 25, 2014
Greetings from Holiday Inn at the Panama Canal. Dear Mr. PaulThank you for share your experience on Trip Advisor. It's our goal to deliver an excellent service guest love and we are really happy to read that you enjoyed the view and comfort of our accommodations at our hotel. We will be shared with all the staff and we are pleased to hear such great comments. Thank you for choosing us, we hope to see you soon on your next visit to Panama and enjoy all the services that we have for you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greeley, Colorado
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed July 3, 2014

I stayed here for business while in Panama. This hotel is close to the canal locks and lots of decent restaurants within walking distance. The hotel is clean and the staff is professional. It is a bit outside the city so you'll need a car or to use a taxi to get around.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TheHareFamily
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ArangoD1, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn Panama Canal, responded to this review, July 29, 2014
Dear Guest, thank you for taking the time and share your experience at Holiday Inn Panama Canal. We are very committed to deliver an excellent service guest love. Thank you for choosing us, We hope to see you soon on your next visit to Panama and enjoy all the services that we have for you. Once again that you so very much for your comment, we really appreciate that.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
grand rapids, minnesota
Level 6 Contributor
107 reviews
91 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
Reviewed June 17, 2014

I spent two nights at the Holiday Inn Panama Canal because I wanted to see the Canal and Panama City. It is located literally right across the highway from the Canal and probably less than a mile from the Miraflores locks. It is about 10 km out of Panama City and in a pretty quiet neighborhood that is actually a decommissioned US military base.

The hotel itself is modern, clean, and well kept up. The staff is friendly and professional. The rooms are nice with modern furnishings, comfortable beds, and nice bathrooms. I even had a room with a great view of the Canal. There are large flat screen tvs with cable, and the free hotel wifi is very good. The only issue I had was that it was hard to control the room temperature and it was pretty cold in the room.

There is not too much right around the hotel except for the Canal. There is a restaurant and most of the area has been converted to the "Ciudad de Saber" or City of Knowledge which is a research and educational campus with quite a number of non profit corporate offices, private international schools, and some corporate offices. About 1 km away there is a plaza with some restaurants and shops. The visitors center at the Miraflores locks is definitely worth a visit ($15 admission)

The hotel restaurant is a fairly typical hotel restaurant. The breakfast buffet is excellent (usual price $15, $10 for hotel guests if paid at check in). The dinners were ok, although at $24 the itralina dinner buffet seemed a bit pricey - the regular menu was fine with burgers and sandwiches in the $10-$12 range.

There is a small pool that seemed nice and a nice fitness center. The business center was also ok, although I believe there is a charge for using their computers (it seemed to depend on who was working at the desk). When I checked in I was given a coupon for a free drink at the bar. It's a nice place to relax and chat with the friendly bartender.

One thing i would suggest is renting a car if you are staying at this hotel, as it is a ways out of town and it will give you much better mobility. Car rentals are cheap at the Panama City airport - I paid $10.39 for two days + $33 insurance. The one way cab fare from airport to hotel is upwards of $40. From the hotel into town it's about $10 (the cabbies will tell you $15 - it's not worth that as it isn't very far - coming back from town i was only charged $5 - so bargain with the cabbies if you're going by cab). A car will enable you to visit place sin the canal zone and go out to Amador along the causeway which is scenic with many restaurants. One the main roads driving is fairly easy - downtown it's a mess.

I look forward to returning to this hotel as it provides an excellent base for exploring the area.

Room Tip: A room with a view of the canal is quite nice
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Eric N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ArangoD1, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn Panama Canal, responded to this review, June 24, 2014
Greetings from Holiday Inn at the Panama Canal. Thank you for share your experience. It's our goal to deliver an excellent service guest love and we are really happy to read that you enjoyed the view and comfort of our accommodations at our hotel. The hotel offers a free shuttle to the Miraflores Locks and to the biggest Mall in Panama, Albrook Mall (schedule at the Front Desk). Recently we have a free shuttle from the Hotel to the Airport (schedule at the Front Desk). We hope to see you soon on your next visit to Panama and enjoy all the services that we have for you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rapid City, South Dakota
Level 6 Contributor
159 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
Reviewed June 14, 2014

This hotel was the perfect location for us to explore the Miraflores locks at the Panama Canal and the Panama Canal Museum. These are located just a few miles out of the city and the hotel is right across the road and provides free shuttle to the locks twice a day.

Staff was incredibly helpful and spoke English, which I appreciate since my Spanish isn't great. They answered all our questions and helped us with any requests.

Our room was beautiful, modern and clean. The restaurant had GREAT food, (we loved the pizzas and the incredible breakfast buffet with fresh fruit, including passion fruit) and the lobby coffee shop had yummy treats too.

Great outdoor pool and patio but sadly we didn't get to enjoy it with all the rainy season rains going on...just part of life in Panama.

Thanks so much for taking such great care of us!

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jardindemichelle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ArangoD1, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn Panama Canal, responded to this review, June 16, 2014
Greetings from Holiday Inn at the Panama Canal. Thank you for share your experience on Trip Advisor. It's our goal to deliver an excellent service guest love and we are really happy to read that you enjoyed the view and comfort of our accommodations at our hotel. We will be shared with all the staff and we are pleased to hear such great comments. Thank you for choosing us, we hope to see you soon on your next visit to Panama and enjoy all the services that we have for you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oslo, Norway
1 review
Reviewed June 5, 2014 via mobile

Thank you for a wonderful stay. The staff was superfriendly and very helpful. The breakfast buffet had a good variety of healthy options which I really appreciated. We spent our time visiting the Gamboa rainforest resort and went for a trip up the Panama canal and got to see crocodiles, turtes and monkeys. Furthermore, I can also recommend visiting the Embera community living in the national park up the Charges river. Truly amazing! Thank you, Panama!

Helpful?
Thank jegvetikk
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
ArangoD1, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn Panama Canal, responded to this review, June 16, 2014
Dear Guest thank you for taking the time and share your experience at Holiday Inn at the Panama Canal. We are very committed to deliver an excellent service guest love. The hotel offers a free shuttle to the City of Knowledge, the Miraflores Locks and to the biggest Mall in Panama, Albrook Mall (schedule at the Front Desk). Recently we have a free shuttle from the Hotel to the Airport (schedule at the Front Desk). We work with Gamboa Tours who offers excellent tours to GAMBOA Rainforest Resort. We hope to see you soon on your next visit to Panama.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Western Canada
Level 6 Contributor
97 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 86 helpful votes
Reviewed April 18, 2014

We chose this hotel because of the proximity to the Mirafores locks and the good reviews on tripadvisor.
The view of the locks is not great and the proximity is not a good enough reason to book this hotel.
We are a family of 4 and we tried to book on several websites but they prevented us from booking 4 people in 1 room so we had to book 2 rooms. When we arrived at the hotel we asked for adjoining rooms but were informed that there weren't any available. We couldn't even get 2 rooms close to each other. The whole thing is odd given that the hotel seemed empty (10 cars in the parking lot at night), there are 2 double beds in the rooms that could easily sleep a family of 4 and there are adjoining doors in the rooms.
There is an annoying high pitched noise that pierces the walls of the rooms and is uncomfortable when sitting around the pool. It surges in intensity and comes on at random times during the day and night and lasts for several hours. It is the type of sound that is used to disperse riot crowds. We have read about this noise in other reviews and everyone seemed to think it was the railway, road or locks. We asked the hotel staff about it but they don't hear it. Following the sound we found that it is the generators from the nearby Miraflores Power Generating Station located by the locks.
There are little food options available in the area except for an italian restaurant next door and an excellent food court located a couple of blocks away in the neighbourhood. We arrived at approx. 7 pm and found the pizza place and the Yogen Fruz still open. The neighbourhood was very quiet but would be interesting to visit during peak school times.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank P&ZH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Panama Canal, responded to this review, May 4, 2014
Dear P&ZH,

Thank you for taking the time to provide us with a review and for appreciating our hotel location. We strive to provide impeccable customer service and accommodations. Please accept our sincerest apologies for any difficulties that you may have encountered during your stay with us particularly with the noise challenges, room allocation and food selection received. We assure you that this is not up to our standards and corrective action will be taken to ensure this does not happen again.

Again, we are grateful for your valuable feedback. Shall your travels bring you to the area again we hope for the opportunity to provide you a quality stay with us all around.

Sincerely,

Zelyn N
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Panama City hotels
5.3 mi away
Radisson Summit Hotel And Golf
Radisson Summit Hotel And Golf
#25 of 114 in Panama City
915 reviews
4.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Panama Distrito Financiero
3.6 mi away
Crowne Plaza Panama
Crowne Plaza Panama
#36 of 114 in Panama City
505 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.0 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Panama Canal, Panama
3.0 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Panama City, Panama
3.8 mi away
Hyatt Place Panama City Downtown
Hyatt Place Panama City Downtown
#11 of 114 in Panama City
838 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Panama Canal? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Panama Canal

Property: Holiday Inn Panama Canal
Address: Ave. Omar Torrijos Herrera Clayton, Panama City 7336, Panama (Formerly Holiday Inn Panama City)
Phone Number:
Location: Panama > Panama Province > Panama City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #24 of 114 Hotels in Panama City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Panama Canal 3*
Number of rooms: 137
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Travelers looking for Panama hotel deals will appreciate the great location and outstanding array of amenities found at the Holiday Inn(R) City of Knowledge. Located just minutes away from some of the best attractions and businesses in Panama, our property offers both convenience and great value.Leisure guests are often drawn to our family-friendly Panama City hotel's close proximity to several of the city's best attractions including the visitor center at Miraflores Locks at the Panama Canal, the Albrook Shopping Center (with free shuttle service from our hotel), and the Gamboa Rainforest Resort. But our guests don't even have to leave the hotel to enjoy our sparkling outdoor pool in a beautifully landscaped courtyard, the well-equipped 24-hour Fitness Center, or our gift shop for a souvenir. Our hotel is only a few miles away from Panama City's banking district where many international transactions take place. Our fully-staffed Business Center provides guests with everything they need including copying, courier service, personal computer, and high-speed Internet access.When you're looking for great Panama hotel deals we offer the best. Make your reservations today to get the best Panama travel deals around at our Panama City hotel. You can be assured that when you stay at an IHG Green Engage Hotel, you are participating in an advanced, world-wide sustainability effort. We understand that it is important for you to have an active role in protecting our environment and that's why we've made it easier for you to choose a hotel that matches your sustainable values. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, IHG, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Hotwire and HotelQuickly so you can book your Holiday Inn Panama Canal reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn City Of Knowledge Hotel Panama City
Panama City Holiday Inn
Holiday Inn Panama Canal Panama City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing