We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great Food, Local Color and Location!!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Mi Ranchito

Mi Ranchito
Ranked #38 of 963 Restaurants in Panama City
Cuisines: Caribbean, Latin, Seafood, Central American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Dining on a budget, Large groups, Kids, Families with children, Special occasions, Local cuisine, Bar scene, Scenic view
Dining options: Lunch, Brunch, Late Night, Dinner, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: Mi Ranchito Restaurant is the perfect environment to enjoy with family, friends and tourists; a familiar restaurant that offers a menu of varied Panamanian foods, with particular attention in preparing seafood at affordable prices to all visitors.Our style and decoration provides an opportunity to spend an enjoyable time. Part of its structure is a ranch of indigenous Panamanian style in an open-air environment. It is a good place for breakfast, lunch or dinner; enhanced with a happy and live music.
boquete
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great Food, Local Color and Location!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 20, 2014

Of all the restaurants on Amador causeway, this is where we choose to go whenever we can.
Get there early and enjoy the sunset over Panama City. Later on, most nights, there is real Panamanian folk music to enjoy.
It's busy most nights for good reason. The service is helpful, quick and competent. The Pescado entero [whole deep-fried fish] is a favorite. I love the Almejas [little clams] in garlic sauce as an appetizer.
The staff is friendly. The prices are very fair.
My favorite restaurant in Panama City!

  • Visited January 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank mitahari
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

480 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    135
    237
    73
    20
    15
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Shaka's Rock, South Africa
Level Contributor
314 reviews
160 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 82 helpful votes
“Enjoy the food.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 9, 2014 via mobile

Three adults shared a lunch of clams in a garlic sauce and plantains, 2 beers and a piña colada for less than USD 33.
Service okay. Great place for tourists. That is what it is about.

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
Thank Stephne A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Parrish, Florida
Level Contributor
28 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Too "Tourist"-y on the Causeway”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 4, 2014

Ventured out on the Panama Causeway for an evening walk and dinner at Mi Ranchito. The walk along the water was very picturesque, beautiful sunset and a nice vibe with lots of people rollerblading, riding bikes, and window shopping in the many shops along the way. Cab fare from downtown Panama City was pricey for a 15 minute ride ($25 each way), but a local told us it would be well worth it. It wasn't. The restaurant is a loud, chaotic outdoor dining space with some of the worst service I have ever seen. Ceviche appetizer was rubbery and not at all fresh tasting, grilled octopus was way over-done, dried out and was crying out for a dip of some sort, langoustines were greasy and tough. Service during the meal is nonexistent, just hope you do not need anything. It takes forever in Panama to get your check at the end of the meal, and this place may have been the worst of any we experienced. The water views are the only positive from a very underwhelming meal that seems like a tourist trap as opposed to a good local food option. Although the prices appeared to be reasonable, this was a very poor value. We should have frequented one of the smaller outdoor venues along the causeway.

  • Visited December 2013
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank roberdel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gamboa, Panama
Level Contributor
3 reviews
“Excelent Corvina!!!!!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 3, 2014

Excellent Fried whole Sea Bass
----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------Excelente Corvina frita

But theyy have lately raised the price on this dish way to high!!!!

  • Visited December 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank BirderGamboa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reston, Virginia
Level Contributor
59 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
“We always stop at Mi Ranchito when we are in Panama!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 31, 2013

We've been to Mi Ranchito a number of times, and each time we always have a great meal, with great service. I know there are some mixed reviews regarding service and slow service seems to be a bit common in Panama, however I can tell you we have never had a problem with poor service at Mi Ranchito. My wife and I were in Panama last week and we went to Mi Ranchito with a group of 8 people. The waitress we had was excellent! She was very accomodating and very friendly. My only complaint was that they ran out of plantains, which was a disappointment. However, the pulpo, fish, ceviche were all excellent. The restaurant also has a great view of a small marina, as well as the Casway and Panama City in the distance. It's an open air restaurant, which really adds to the atmosphere.

My wife and I went back again 2 days later for lunch and the service and food were just as good as the previous time there. Their fish is always good. It's fresh, cooked to order and they always give you sizeable portions.

Mi Ranchito is a fun place to dine. As I said, each time we go to Panama we always make a point to go to Mi Ranchito at least once during our visit.

  • Visited December 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank estrnmountain
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Mi Ranchito also viewed

Panama City, Panama Province
Panama City, Panama Province
 
Panama City, Panama Province
Panama City, Panama Province
 

Been to Mi Ranchito? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing