We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Well not really sushi after all”
2 of 5 bubbles Review of Sushi Express

Sushi Express
Ranked #408 of 978 Restaurants in Panama City
Price range: $5 - $10
Cuisines: Japanese, Sushi, Asian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Delivery, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Well not really sushi after all”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 22, 2012

I never ate sushi in a triangular shape, that was a first. Even if the shape was not really sushi I tought the flavour was worst than the shape itself. I think it will be quite hard to find a good place for suhi in panama

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank casagrandecolonia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

55 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    13
    22
    6
    9
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Playa Coronado, Panama
Level Contributor
153 reviews
87 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
“quick and easy”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 7, 2012

Quick service, friendly servers, no English. Be prepared to struggle thru the ordering process by pointing at pictures and smiling if you don't speak or understand Spanish.

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Bob H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Canada
Level Contributor
17 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“The kfc of sushi”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 11, 2012

This isn't sushi, it's more like kfc. They will put ranch sauce on the sushi and fried fish inside it. Not pricey (15$ for 30 pieces) but i would not have paid anymore than that... Of course service is slow and bad, as everywhere in panama city.

Visited June 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank onormandin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Level Contributor
19 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Uninspiring Sushi”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 9, 2012

The only reason I tried this was because it was within walking distance from the hotel, and Panama is known for its fish. The sushi I ordered was probably the worst I have ever had, tasteless and warm....I tried the Edamame beans to try and make up for the poor sushi, even these were bad.

Bypass this place - I believe there are some really good sushi restaurants.

  • Visited July 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank patcass
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rio de Janeiro, RJ
Level Contributor
243 reviews
59 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
“Everything besides the sushi is good”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 8, 2012

They have good dishes such as yakisoba, salad, curry, teriyaki, etc. Everything besides the sushi is good. The sushi is not well prepared as it falls apart with just a little of soy sauce. Also it's pretty much a lot of rice and almost no stuff inside.

Helpful?
Thank viajero2203
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Sushi Express also viewed

Panama City, Panama Province
Panama City, Panama Province
 
Panama City, Panama Province
Panama City, Panama Province
 

Been to Sushi Express? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing