We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Everything besides the sushi is good”
Review of Sushi Express

Sushi Express
Ranked #413 of 986 Restaurants in Panama City
Price range: $5 - $10
Cuisines: Japanese, Sushi, Asian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Delivery, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff
Rio de Janeiro, RJ
Level Contributor
244 reviews
59 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
“Everything besides the sushi is good”
Reviewed February 8, 2012

They have good dishes such as yakisoba, salad, curry, teriyaki, etc. Everything besides the sushi is good. The sushi is not well prepared as it falls apart with just a little of soy sauce. Also it's pretty much a lot of rice and almost no stuff inside.

Helpful?
Thank viajero2203
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

55 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    13
    22
    6
    9
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Geneva, Switzerland
Level Contributor
186 reviews
86 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 100 helpful votes
“Worst Sushis of my life”
Reviewed January 24, 2012

I know Panama isnt really known for its Sushis - but that is a disgrace. Try Sushi House if you are in a rush, or Sake wor the best Panama Sushi.

Helpful?
1 Thank oxygen11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles
Level Contributor
30 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“One of the worst sushi I've ever tried...”
Reviewed November 12, 2011

The sushi seemed to have been brought out of a fridge, and not fresh, and everything tasted the same, in a country and city that have great fish availability. While the service was good, the sushi was just terrible. Stay away.

Visited November 2011
Helpful?
1 Thank hernanusa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Texas
Level Contributor
39 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
“Good and fresh...”
Reviewed October 19, 2011

Nice to find fresh sushi in a mall, who would have thought!

Visited September 2011
Helpful?
Thank TexasKrysia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Linn, OR
Level Contributor
33 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Another awful experience in Panama”
Reviewed October 5, 2011

We kept eating at crappy restaurants -- Panama is full of them! This one came out of an urge for something Asian to vary it up. We found Sushi Express driving around aimlessly (that's how you get around in Panama City). We were excited at first and the sushi -- though one piece per order -- was pretty good, both the tuna and salmon.

Then the rest came out. They have a sautee "salad" that was drenched in dressing. We got through it with the help of an extra side of rice. The seaweed salad was drenched also in the vinegar dressing and so we sent it back. We asked for it to be taken off the bill, which really seemed to confuse the waiter (he had a blank look on his face). We then said fine, just make it better. He later did take it off the bill (without telling us) which was a positive.

We ordered additional food for the kids to take back to the hotel, and he got the order wrong. We clearly said beef and he brought chicken. When the correct order came back, the original leftovers we were planning to take got lost in the shuffle. What a mess!

Just don't go there. The name alone says it all. Staff was nice -- the manager helped us get the hotel number so we could call the kids -- but nice doesn't mean good dining.

  • Visited September 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank JoshBar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Sushi Express also viewed

Panama City, Panama Province
Panama City, Panama Province
 
Panama City, Panama Province
Panama City, Panama Province
 

Been to Sushi Express? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing