We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good food, Good value, and Clean Restaurant”

Restaurante Costa Azul
Ranked #38 of 980 Restaurants in Panama City
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $15 - $20
Cuisines: Latin, Seafood, Spanish, Central American, International
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Kids, Large groups, Local cuisine, Families with children, Dining on a budget
Dining options: Brunch, Dinner, Breakfast, Lunch, Late Night, Free Wifi, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
NEW JERSEY
Level Contributor
46 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Good food, Good value, and Clean Restaurant”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 9, 2013

I went to this restaurant twice during my stay in Panama City in Feb 2013. This restaurant is located around the corner from the hotel I was staying at. It offered a lot of food choices and the food tasted good. I thought that the price of the food was very reasonable (e.g. Langostino with mantequilla, with white rice and house salad was at less than $16). The restaurant was very clean in the two ocassion that I ate there. I would recommend this restaurant to others who are looking to get a decent meal at affordable price, in a simple and clean place.

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank haydee2007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

361 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    99
    175
    68
    12
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Ojai, California
Level Contributor
252 reviews
120 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 226 helpful votes
“Best Value in Panama City”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 22, 2013

This establishment classifies itself as a restaurant/cafeteria/bar. Strangely enough it is just that. Costa Azul is just across from the Marriott Hotel and the "One Stop" shop. It is open 24 hours, has an outside dinning area as well as an indoor counter. The restaurant is fairly large, extremely clean and very modern looking. The wait staff are many, in uniforms and are very efficient.

The menu is varied with something for everyone. You can order from the breakfast, lunch or dinner menu any time of day. The menu is in Spanish and the English translations are a little lacking.

The food is very good and of large portions. The prices are really inexpensive. Local beers are $1.00.

The place fills up at lunch time with local workers in the financial district.

Asking hotel staff and cab drivers where this restaurant is located will yield blank expressions. My hotel was right around the corner from Costa Azul and no one I asked at the hotel was aware of it's location. I found it from another TA review.

If your looking for great food, any hour day or night and at ridiculously low prices, try Costa Azul.

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank CarlOjai
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ulverston, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
166 reviews
108 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
“Excellent value breakfast”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 9, 2013

Rather than eat in our nearby hotel we were recommended by the hotel staff to try this restaurant. Not a wide selection but what I would imagine you could call authentic and excellent value with it.

We had breakfast for two with fresh pineapple juice for about $12.

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Mark C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
nyc
Level Contributor
38 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Great for breakfast”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 1, 2013

Alot of locals eat here. I bet it is fine for lunch too. Cheap, better than eating at the hotel. Omlets were great. Very pleasant service, but be prepared to wait once you order

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank acetravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Panama City, Panama
Level Contributor
46 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Typical Panamanian cafeteria”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 4, 2012

If you are looking for a cafeteria style restaurant that serves Panamanian foods, Costa Aqul is a cut above the competition.

Helpful?
1 Thank panamamover
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Restaurante Costa Azul also viewed

Panama City, Panama Province
 
Panama City, Panama Province
Panama City, Panama Province
 

Been to Restaurante Costa Azul? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing