We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“high ratio quality to price”

Restaurante Costa Azul
Ranked #34 of 990 Restaurants in Panama City
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $15 - $20
Cuisines: Latin, Seafood, Spanish, Central American, International
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Kids, Local cuisine, Large groups
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Lunch, Brunch, Breakfast, Free Wifi, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Saronno, Italy
Level Contributor
28 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“high ratio quality to price”
Reviewed August 17, 2012

it is not a luxury restaurant, but it has a very good ratio quality to price. The menu is broad enough, and you can get satisfactory breakfast, lunch or dinner, at any time, being the it open 24/7. To be mentioned the pargo rojo intero frito, which is a very nice fish, served fried. I was there alone and with my wife, and the overall price was never higher that 15$/person. Food good, service acceptable.

  • Visited August 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank aantonini
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

371 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    101
    182
    69
    12
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Port of Spain, Trinidad
Level Contributor
198 reviews
102 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
“Great food and even greater prices!”
Reviewed May 16, 2012

We were in Panama for just one night and day, and came across Costa Azul by accident when walking in the area near our hotel in search of breakfast. We liked the outdoor seating and upon walking onto the terrace, were immediately attended to and given menus and glasses of water. The menu seemed quite extensive and we placed our order but, to be honest, our expectations weren't all that high. However, we were very pleasantly surprised firstly with the amazing orange juice that our waitress brought out for us....wow! It was super-fresh and delicious. Then this was followed by a serious "hungry-man" breakfast that we had no hope of being able to finish. The huevos rancheros were in a wonderful red sauce and were accompanied by freshly toasted bread and a stack of pancakes (only $2) that, given we had both thought would be a small order, was quite overwhelming! Because we didn't think the food would have been that much, we'd also ordered empanaditas which are these amazing meat or cheese filled pies that were so delicious we actually went back to Costa Azul later in the day just to have some more of them before catching our flight out. And of course, the greatest surprise of all was the $15 bill at the end of such a big meal, which beyond a shadow of a doubt was a steal of a deal given the fact that we couldn't even finish our meal. We'll most definitely be heading back there the next time we're in Panama.

  • Visited April 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Zelillem
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
40 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Best Value, great breakfasts and lunches”
Reviewed March 21, 2012

a very local restaurant next to Beirut Cafe and infront of the JW Marriott, consistent, good local service, excellent rich breakfasts (don't miss the empanadas, eggs and orange juice!!) at the same time a great place for high quality Sea food without beeing a bank breaker.

Helpful?
1 Thank AhmedFN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fairfax, Virginia
Level Contributor
45 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Convenient for Marriott Downtown guests, good eats, reasonable prices”
Reviewed March 10, 2012

If you are staying at the Marriott Downtown in Panama, this place is a short walk from the hotel and makes a good alternative to the hotel choices and the somewhat dodgey adjoining nightclubs. It is open 24 hours and has been in business for 30 years. The menus is diverse with lots of steak, fish and shrimp selections. I have had Corvina a la Plancha there a few times and it has been consistently tasty. This is not Cordon Bleu but it's good food at reasonable (by Panama standards) prices served fast. The wait staff are friendly and efficient and some speak a little English. There is a cat there named Lucio whose presence suggests that this place has heart - they haven't shooed him away and I saw him noshing on some leftover T-Bones on the terrace.

  • Visited March 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank GeorgeRex
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Heredia, Costa Rica
Level Contributor
32 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Great Restaurant”
Reviewed March 1, 2012

Good service, affordable prices. Delicious food !!!! And open 24 hours !!!

Visited February 2012
Helpful?
Thank sirmarcus7774
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Restaurante Costa Azul also viewed

Panama City, Panama Province
 
Panama City, Panama Province
Panama City, Panama Province
 
Panama City, Panama Province
Panama City, Panama Province
 

Been to Restaurante Costa Azul? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing