We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“The city skyline was breathtaking”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Luna's Castle Hostel
Certificate of Excellence
Lynnwood, Washington, United States
Level Contributor
135 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 97 helpful votes
“The city skyline was breathtaking”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 27, 2013

Luna Castel Hostel located in the Casco Viejo part of the city. If this is the first time, or if you only have a few days to see Panama City, I do recommend this hostel. The location and staff are excellent. There are many things to see and do within an easy walk, and the view from my room of the city skyline was breathtaking

You can come and go anytime of the day or night a staff person is on duty 24/7. Breakfast of pancakes and bananas are free every day from 7am till noon, coffee and tea is available all day, no microwave oven. A large kitchen with plenty of room for many people to cook at the same time is in use constantly. Many bathrooms and showers (not hot) are on each floor. There are free lockers with electric plugins, in a verity of sizes (your lock, but they do sell them) are on the main floor. Sodas, beer, water, ice cream, and T-shirts are also for sell

They are in the process of upgrading the bunk beds to have large draws for your things and curtains. It is an ongoing process right now; I am looking forward to it on my return visit.

Their contact information is www.lunacastlehostel.com, lunasconcierge@gmail.com, tel: 507-212-2939

Room Tip: Make sure you get one with a view of the city
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Carol B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

549 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    179
    196
    103
    46
    25
See reviews for
5
129
179
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (95)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Brooklyn, New York, United States
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 22, 2013

Believe it when they say it's a castle, because it really does look like one!!! It's absolutely huge, including each of the dorms. But they're spacious and airy so even though there are like 10 bunks or something (20 beds total), everyone's stuff is all out and the windows are open (you're up pretty high), so you don't feel crammed for being in a dorm at full capacity. And it's still pretty clean and doesn't smell at all.

Plent of wi-fi computers, and you can make great pancakes for breakfast!

Book in advance as you as you can because this place is pretty popular in the hostel-world of this capital! Staff if helpful and there are lots of information binders about sites and tourist attractions in Panama.

Most innovative part of Luna's Castle: you leave a key deposit (as with most places these days) these days, but when you check out and return your key they give you the option of returning your deposit OR getting a Luna's Castle t-shirt instead. Maybe I'm overestimating, but its a pretty damn good marketing campaign if you ask me!! I still have AND wear my Luna's Castle t-shirt.

Room Tip: Dorms are spatious and airy
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Amanda W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Munich, Germany
2 reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 17, 2013

very restful hostel with big living room, nicly furnished and big dorm rooms.
very nice and helpful staff! delicious pancake every moring, even for late riser. all day long coffee and fresh water. best location in old town.
Thursday/friday/Saturday very loud and Party at the bar next door.
I loved it!

Room Tip: upstairs no 10-12 are the best dorms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jane B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
High Tatras
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 9, 2013

If hanging out with travellers whose only goal is to get wasted on their trip then this is place for you. The music was going all night the rooms were cramped and a mess, mine didnt even have a window to the outside world. The toilet was blocked for the days I stayed. People staying seemed to like it but not for me.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JimboHighTatras
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Crawley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
18 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 8, 2013 via mobile

I've stayed here twice and love it. Great atmosphere and a cool place to hang out in-between doing stuff around the city. Try and get a room with a window though as the ones without are a little stuffy even though have super powerful fans - but they can keep you awake!

Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank steveslaw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
35 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 7, 2013 via mobile

Stayed a couple of nights in a big dorm. This is a big hostel with a lot of people coming and going, kitchen is relatively small (pancake breakfast included) given the number of people but common areas are good and so are the showers. WIFI was fine when I stayed.

Dorms were dark but fairly loud, especially in the weekend when the bar was going. Beds were comfy enough and each bed has a locker to put your stuff in (separate valuable lockers in the lobby).

As mentioned in other reviews, great drink specials were offered to people staying at the hostel downstairs in the bar.

The front desk service was a bit inconsistent, some of the people were really helpful, others were terrible. I appreciate its only a hostel and there are lots of people coming and going but no need to be short with people.

And laundry service was not good, haphazardly thrown in the bag and still a little damp. Do your laundry elsewhere!

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kilometres9345
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, Colorado
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 4, 2013

Great hostel vibes - met tons pf people. it's a younger crowd for the most part with a bar below that will be very loud until late in the evening - they offer great beer prices to those staying at the hostel. no hot water at any hostel in panama. has wifi though!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ambergl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Panama City hotels
0.1 mi away
American Trade Hotel
American Trade Hotel
#6 of 116 in Panama City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 432 reviews
0.0 mi away
Tantalo Hotel / Kitchen / Roofbar
0.2 mi away
Central Hotel Panama
Central Hotel Panama
#40 of 116 in Panama City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 95 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Hotel Casa Panama
Hotel Casa Panama
#59 of 116 in Panama City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 165 reviews
0.0 mi away
La Isabela Suites
La Isabela Suites
#54 of 116 in Panama City
5.0 of 5 bubbles 34 reviews
0.1 mi away
Las Clementinas Hotel
Las Clementinas Hotel
#33 of 116 in Panama City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 407 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Luna's Castle Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Luna's Castle Hostel

Property: Luna's Castle Hostel
Address: Calle 9na Este 3-28 | Casco Viejo, Panama City, Panama
Location: Panama > Panama Province > Panama City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 110 Specialty Lodging in Panama City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set in a Spanish colonial mansion built upon the water’s edge. Luna’s Castle Hostel attracts those who seek the ideal Panama City backpacking experience. Following Captain Morgan’s plunder of Panama Vieja in 1671, stones from the ruins were used to construct the massive walls of Casco Viejo. Luna’s Castle, built in 1905, rests upon these original city walls. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and HostelWorld so you can book your Luna's Castle Hostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Luna`s Castle Hotel Panama City
Luna's Castle Hostel Panama/Panama City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing