We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Surfside inn”

Ranked #153 of 352 things to do in Panama
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Due to its world-class wave action, this beach is a popular spot for experienced surfers.
Kralendijk, Bonaire
Level Contributor
112 reviews
40 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Surfside inn”
Reviewed November 3, 2013

Santa Catalina is a laid back small surfers town on the Pacific side of Panama. We stayed in the Surfers Inn. The hosts were just fantastic and were wiling to help with everything. We were unlucky - due to the heavy rainfall the trip to Coiba was cancelled and since the weather forecast was not very good we decided to leave. Our advice is not to go in October/November and to go in the whaleshark season.

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Marijke W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

48 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    24
    15
    5
    4
    0
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Orosei, Italy
Level Contributor
14 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Pamanas Surfer and Diver paradise”
Reviewed September 21, 2013

Santa Catalina is a very small town on the southern tip of the Veraguas Penisula, west of Santiago.
Here you will find Panamas best waves for surfers and the Coiba Marine Park, a real paradise for scuba divers and snorkelers. Scuba Diving and Snorkeling at the dive sites at Isa Coiba means the close encounter with whale sharks, giant manta rays, white tip sharks and turtles. It takes about one hour boat ride over there and the the fun begins, after the first dive/snorkel you usually check-in at the ranger station and will have lunch - don't forget to bring your own lunch! - and after a relaxing stay on thes tropical paradise beach you will do a second dive/snorkel on a different location and hide home then.
Coiba Dive Center organize 2/3 night stays on the simple bungalows on Coiba and you will have the possibilities to dive the most remote places rarely visited.

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank ChrigelKarrer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tampa, Florida
Level Contributor
631 reviews
279 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 486 helpful votes
“VERY GOOD WEEKEND GETAWAY FROM EVERYONE AND EVERYTHING”
Reviewed July 31, 2013

I enjoyed the atmosphere and quiet of Santa Catalina, Panama. However, after the bus dropped me and my friend off, we had to hike to our hotel. This is a great place to stay for a few nights if you like peace and quiet with minimum tourism. I enjoyed the seafood plates prepared, there is a local supermarket to buy food (if you wish to cook), beer, water, and soft drinks. The restaurants in the area are all fairly priced. I would come here again but with an automobile. I would call it a nice weekend get away from everyone and everything.

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Easylivingtravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
El Palmar, Panama
Level Contributor
89 reviews
18 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Santa Catalina”
Reviewed April 1, 2013

Only stayed for two nights - way too short - very relaxing end of the road treasure. Planning another trip for January for Coiba and sailing...can't wait!

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Carmen I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
colorado
Level Contributor
13 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Surfside Inn and Santa Catalina”
Reviewed February 11, 2013

We just returned from Panama a week ago and can't wait to go again. Santa Catalina was such an unexpected treasure that our 4 days quickly turned into 8. This is not the place to be unless you enjoy a tiny, tranquil, seaside town with few amenities and enjoy walking in very hot conditions for supplies. We loved it for all the reason above and many more! We stayed at the Surfside Inn with the most amazing view of the ocean possible. It was alittle out of our budget but we made up the difference by using their well-equipped kitchen and eating at the "chicken man's" stand "downtown". He offered a plate of chicken and plaintains for $3 which was enough to fill us up on a budget. I am hesitant to write a review as I hate to see this beautiful town become a tourist destination that it is destined to be. All the ingredients are there. We hope to return before that happens.

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
4 Thank lovinglifeColorado
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Isla Santa Catalina also viewed

Santa Catalina, Veraguas Province
Panama City, Panama Province
 
Santa Catalina, Veraguas Province
Panama, Central America
 

Been to Isla Santa Catalina? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing