We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Absolutely superb!”
Review of Hotel La Pyramide

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Hotel La Pyramide
Ranked #6 of 50 Hotels in Managua
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed April 28, 2014

This is a brilliant place to stay. And we say this despite having an earthquake on our first night there- it was still probably our favourite hotel in nicaragua! Manfred is a wonderful host who could not do enough to help us. He drove us out to change money, took us to sights, suggested things to do, and even turned our AC on before coming to collect us, so that the room would be cool on our return. The hotel itself is really quirky and a great place to base exploration of the city from. The food is fine. It was the only hotel we came across which had a fridge. Highly recommended in every respect.

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DeborahRobert
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (365)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

107 - 113 of 365 reviews

Reviewed April 21, 2014

If you want to feel like home, choose Manfred's La Pyramide as your hotel in Managua. We went to Nicaragua for sightseeing allover the country and had our basis at Managua in La Pyramide. Manfred has a multitude of invaluable hints for Managua and was always obliging to us. We mostly appreciated the hotel's own taxi (around 18 $ to the airport) as we did not trust the taxi drivers in Managua. In that way, we had always safe trips in Managua. If you speak a bit Spanish to find your way and do not have too much luggage, you can also take the public buses in Managua, which are ridicularly cheap and also safe.

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MichalR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 18, 2014

Manfred deserves a 20 on a scale of 1 to ten for being an exceptional host. He's in the category of "travel angel." I also enjoyed the quirky one-of-a-kind character of the hotel. Stay in the top floor room if you can. This was everything we needed and more to begin and end our trip to Nicaragua on a good note.

Stayed: March 2014, traveled with friends
1  Thank rebeccapatt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 12, 2014

La Pyramide is a wonderful oasis in Managua. It sits in a nice residential neighborhood near Metro Centro, the rooms are delightfully quirky (all named after Egyptian deities or pharaohs), breakfast (and other meals) are quite good (the place actually started as a restaurant), and the owner (Manfred) is simply wonderful to deal with. When you check in, you're greeted with a large glass of cold juice, Manfred can arrange transport to sites/bus stations around the city, and gives great advice about what to see in Nicaragua and how to get there.

The two rooms I stayed in (Ra and Tutenkamen) were both large and had good AC and wireless connection. Bathrooms, too, are good size; as with many budget accommodations in Nicaragua, water is solar heated, so not very warm for showers.

Heartily recommended.

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LMOverby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 7, 2014

What the other reviewers are saying is true. Our first trip to Managua and it worked out very well, in large part because we had Manfred's advice. We came to Managua to visit our daughter and to see whatever we had time to see. From the time we got off the airplane and picked up our bags we had a great time. The hotel driver was waiting out front and took us right to our hotel room. Manfred gave us directions and filled us in on the available tours. He led us to one tour company that worked out excellently and on another day we hired the hotel driver for a trip to a volcano and a Lake Nicaragua boat ride. We got stuck without a cab outside of the city and Manfred rescued us in the hotel van. Good meals in the hotel. Clean, safe, a couple blocks from several restaurants, and very quiet.

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Randolph G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 22, 2014

I am so glad that we stayed at La Pyramide for a night in Managua, for it was incredibly relaxing and so enjoyable. The service here is impeccable! Manfred went out of his way for us by dropping us off at a dinner hot spot as well as the ATM late at night, and even gave us two rooms for our party (1 couple and family member) at no extra cost or anything. WiFi is great, food is good, and the pool is cold...what more could you need?! I definitely enjoyed the large amount of space we had in our rooms (in the pyramid) and the shower was a treat as well :)
All in all, a perfect place to stay!

Room Tip: Try to stay in the pyramid suites!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank landuyt0218
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 19, 2014

The hotel is great and clean and the food is good. Manfred is a total gem. At the beginning of our trip he gave me excellent travel advice and recommendations of places to visit. I actually had to come back to Managua for a medical emergency and Manfred recommended me to an excellent facility. Definitely recommend.

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank BentonBrown
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Managua hotels
1.4 mi away
Barcelo Managua
Barcelo Managua
#9 of 50 in Managua
426 reviews
2.6 mi away
Art Hotel Managua
Art Hotel Managua
#26 of 50 in Managua
92 reviews
1.6 mi away
Hotel Mozonte
Hotel Mozonte
#17 of 50 in Managua
342 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Hilton Princess Managua
Hilton Princess Managua
#2 of 50 in Managua
690 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Los Robles
Hotel Los Robles
#16 of 50 in Managua
150 reviews
1.8 mi away
Hotel La Posada del Arcangel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel La Pyramide? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel La Pyramide

Address: Gimnasio Hercules, 1c. al sur, 1c. al este, 2 1/2 c. al sur, Managua 1234, Nicaragua
Location: Nicaragua > Managua Department > Managua
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Managua
#1 Best Value Hotel in Managua
#2 Family Hotel in Managua
#4 Business Hotel in Managua
Price Range: $56 - $58 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hotel La Pyramide 2.5*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Having traveled quite a lot, we really do understand that a traveler would like to find in a hotel a sense of home while on the road. This is why we offer a concept that combines professional attention with a ‘home sweet home’ feelings and international standard. La Pyramide, your hotel, is located in the best zone of the capital: it’s the most safe residential area of town, while very close to the new center. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotwire and TripOnline SA so you can book your Hotel La Pyramide reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
La Pyramide Managua
La Pyramide Hotel Managua

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing