We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wicked hotel, wicked owner!”
Review of Hotel La Pyramide

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Hotel La Pyramide
Ranked #5 of 51 Hotels in Managua
Certificate of Excellence
Fernie, Canada
Level Contributor
27 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Wicked hotel, wicked owner!”
Reviewed October 6, 2011

This place is pretty amazing. The owner us up from the airport and drive us to the hotel. He's very friendly and very informative. The hotel is lovely. We were upgraded to the suite at the top of the pyramid. Comfy bed, warm water, a/c or fan. Will
Definitely be staying again upon our return to Managua.

  • Stayed October 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kdubber10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

359 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    301
    44
    10
    4
    0
See reviews for
39
141
72
40
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (46)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed September 26, 2011

We stayed in Managua for only one night and choose la pyramid after reading all the good reviews. We got intouch with manfred the owner via e-mail and he answered us right away which was awesome of him. We asked him for detailes about buses going to Guatemala and he checked it for us and made sure will have places on the bus. Never during our 3.5 months of traveling have we encountered such a nice and helpful hotel owner. He even made sure we will have sandwiches and juice for the bus ride. What a wonderful stay. Thank you manfred!
We highly recommend la pyramid.

  • Stayed September 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dana_te
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Geneva, Switzerland
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed September 11, 2011

I went to Managua for work for the 3rd time -- usually I stay in the big chain hotels (Intercontinental, Seminole, Hilton, etc.) since this is what is usually booked for me or I am with a group of collegues and it is the easiest thing to book from abroad. This time, nothing was free in our usual hotel options so I went onto TripAdvisor to see what it had to say -- La Pyramide came out as #1 and I'm so glad I booked it! The decor is beautiful and unique, the owners Manfred and Sandra so friendly and welcoming and willing to help you out with anything you need, and I was treated with made-to-order vegetarian food. I'll be staying here next time too:)

Room Tip: Tutankamun is on the 2nd floor (1st for Europeans), is spacious, and has a beautiful balcony
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Drajan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Carolina
Level Contributor
9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed September 1, 2011

I stayed at La Pyramide based on all the reviews on Trip Advisor and especially because of Manfred's reputation. Manfred was very quick to respond to my emails and questions. After making my reservation, I found out that Manfred would not be there and I almost changed my reservation. I am so glad that I decided to stay because the staff was so wonderful. I was greeted with a cold glass of jamaica juice- which was perfect after a hot ride from Granada. The staff paid attention to me, but did not hover. I had a very yummy dinner on the porch upstairs while watching a storm come into Managua. The beds were comfortable and the rooms had air conditioning which was a welcome relief from the humidity. William even got up at 4:00 in the morning and made me breakfast and coffee before my 5 am departure. I am disappointed that I had less than 12 hours at the hotel and will definitely stay at La Pyramide when I return to Nicaragua. Maybe on that trip, I will be able to meet the wonderful Manfred y Sandra.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank chai_turtle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pittsburgh
Level Contributor
19 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed August 9, 2011

The title is a direct quote from Manfred, after I reminded him of some items I used from the reasonably-priced minibar that he missed on the bill. He goes out of his way to make sure you are comfortable; in fact, he sent his driver to the airport to pick us up from the Corn Islands, even though we never told him which flight we would be on. The food is excellent, the place is very nice (and in a safe area), and Manfred and his staff go out of their way to make you comfortable in every way. He wasn't busy the second night we stayed there nad he upgraded us to the honeymoon suite at the top of the pyramid for no charge. Stay here -- no question about it.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bellini23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Allerød, Denmark
1 review
Reviewed August 3, 2011

We went to Nicaragua to visit our daughter who was volunteering as a hiking guide and stayed for two separate nights before and after our trip to the Corn Islands. Manfred arranged for transportation both to and from the airport both times, which was very nice and convenient. He drove us himself three of the four times and is very knowledgeable about all aspects of Middle America. He even included a city tour on one of the occasions, which was really great. The hotel is very nice and clean with very fast Internet and nice rooms. Our daughter even got her own room for free both times, because business was slow at those particular days. Meanwhile my wife and I slept in the Ramses room which was great. It was a bit difficult to find our way to the restaurants and back, so it would be a good idea for the hotel to hand out a small, custom-made map. There is no doubt that we will visit again if we should ever go back to Nicaragua. Well done Manfred!

Room Tip: Reserve in advance! You will get a fast reply and will not be disappointed.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank eclipse_fan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, Alabama
Level Contributor
92 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed August 3, 2011

I just got back from Nicaragua three days ago and wanted to share my experience at Las Pyramides. I was there with a church group, and we had a wonderful experience. Manfred was an amazing host and even spent time teaching us about local fruit. He gave us gifts of fruit to take with us, and was so very kind. We will go back next year and you can be sure we will be visiting the pyramid! Thanks Manfred!

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank awyeth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Managua hotels
0.6 mi away
Hilton Princess Managua
Hilton Princess Managua
#2 of 51 in Managua
4.5 of 5 bubbles 636 reviews
2.6 mi away
Art Hotel Managua
Art Hotel Managua
#25 of 51 in Managua
4.0 of 5 bubbles 88 reviews
6.1 mi away
Globales Camino Real
Globales Camino Real
#4 of 51 in Managua
4.0 of 5 bubbles 577 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.8 mi away
Hotel La Posada del Arcangel
1.6 mi away
Hotel Mozonte
Hotel Mozonte
#24 of 51 in Managua
4.0 of 5 bubbles 310 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Los Robles
Hotel Los Robles
#12 of 51 in Managua
4.5 of 5 bubbles 139 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel La Pyramide? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel La Pyramide

Property: Hotel La Pyramide
Address: Gimnasio Hercules, 1c. al sur, 1c. al este, 2 1/2 c. al sur, Managua 1234, Nicaragua
Location: Nicaragua > Managua Department > Managua
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Managua
#1 Best Value Hotel in Managua
#2 Family Hotel in Managua
#4 Business Hotel in Managua
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hotel La Pyramide 2.5*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Having traveled quite a lot, we really do understand that a traveler would like to find in a hotel a sense of home while on the road. This is why we offer a concept that combines professional attention with a ‘home sweet home’ feelings and international standard. La Pyramide, your hotel, is located in the best zone of the capital: it’s the most safe residential area of town, while very close to the new center. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hotwire and Priceline so you can book your Hotel La Pyramide reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
La Pyramide Managua
La Pyramide Hotel Managua

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing