We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“There are better places to stay”
Review of Hotel Estrella

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Estrella
Ranked #29 of 50 Hotels in Managua
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“There are better places to stay”
Reviewed May 27, 2014

We stayed here on our first night, thinking that as the cheapest option for an airport hotel it would be a good way to save some money. The place was fine, rooms nice and spacious, very clean, quiet etc, but it turned out not to be a very cheap option as we had to spend $20 each way to get to the airport and back. Their shuttle service only operates at quite limited hours of the day, and even though our pick up fell into those hours, because it was the Easter week we were charged for it. The night before we left to go home at the end of our holiday we stayed at the Camino Real which I would highly recommend. Their shuttle bus is genuinely free and runs at all hours that the airport is operational.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Keith_A72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

49 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    16
    24
    5
    3
    1
See reviews for
14
4
7
7
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed April 21, 2014 via mobile

AC in the room. Awesome tv with 80+ channels. Good bed.

Was worried that the sheets weren't clean, but I asked to have them changed and they did it promptly.

They picked me up from the airport. They were very friendly, and most importantly they didn't try to rip me off.

Had to pay $11.50 for the ride from the airport. The hotel has a guard who closes the gate at night and I assume stays up and watches the place-I saw him out there at 12:30 at least.

So, I'd try to stay closer to the airport, but this place is ok also. The AC and tv made it good. Managua seemed too dangerous to me so I stayed in.

Stayed April 2014, traveled solo
Helpful?
Thank CommonB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Albuquerque, New Mexico
Level Contributor
206 reviews
114 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 196 helpful votes
Reviewed January 30, 2014

There are not many airport area hotels in Managua. The Best Western Las Mercedes is mediocre and overpriced - but is right across the street from the airport. The Camino Real is 1.2 miles away. The Hotel Hex is 4.1 miles away, and the La Estrella is about 4.3 miles away. It is considerably cheaper than the others. The Best Western and the Camino Real are clocking in at over $100 per night, before taxes. The Hex runs about $70 per night, and the La Estrella at about $50 per night before taxes.

Property is an old 1960's style motel but is well maintained. Staff was very nice. Not much English spoken. Breakfast and airport shuttle (starting at 8 AM) are included in the price. In a light use industrial area but within walking distance of the multicentro las americas shopping center (Hotel Hex is right next to the shopping center).

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank 505badgolfer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed January 28, 2014

A friend and I stayed there on 01/27/2014 for one night and I was $84.00+ dollars for one small single room with one double bed because that was all that I was offered at the time.
so I told my friend to ask for a small cot bed mattress for him to sleep on.
They charged me $11.99 for a stinky kid's cot.
later that night my friend fell off the bed because it was so small..
after one crappy night I was charged almost $100 dollars for a crappy room with crappy service.
everything that is shown on their website is actually really old.
the rooms shown in their website are nothing compared to the real thing.
www.hotelestrella.com.ni

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank digitalnikka
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
137 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 89 helpful votes
Reviewed January 22, 2014

Has a late check in but two smiling faces at the the front desk to greet us, told them a long bus ride from San Jose, Costa Rica to Managua and they said that the restaurant was open for 10 more minutes that we could just drop everything and they would watch if we were hungry, a great suggestion, genuine concern for their customers, a great start at a very nice and accommodating property. Not plush but very adequate, hot water, good TV, Internet could be a little stronger but OK and I have found in my travels that if people are kind and genuinely try to help you any small thing and sometimes big things can be overlooked…. Service to customers is king & queen…. Everyone here is genuinely nice from the maids on up and if they don't know the answer they get right back to you…. The manager here should be proud of the employees and kudos to them also….. The facilities are nice, clean rooms, and you know they are trying to keep the grounds clean when you see a girl on her hands and knees with a putty knife scraping gum off the interior parking lot ramp,,,, the whole property easily accessible to physically challenged travelers, very secure, for those driving an excellent secure, enclosed place for your vehicle and watched 24 hours a day…. Pool Clean,,, Food, decent and fair priced, Nice little area for dining outside, for every meal, plenty of shade to sit outside, I noticed a very nice meeting room for business meetings, comfortable and well laid out with some video accessories there…I would definitely come back to Hotel Estrella,,,, Thank You all for making our stay pleasant…..

Room Tip: Most rooms away from the main road, so quiet… If physically challenged ask for room on ground leve...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Robert H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Flower Mound, Texas
Level Contributor
29 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed April 21, 2013 via mobile

Stayed here for a week with a group of friends while visiting Managua. The hotel is nice but no frills. Pool was clean, staff was nice, rooms were clean and A/C worked great, restaurant and staff were good, and the property was safe. Like others said, I wouldn't go here for a romantic getaway, but definitely worthy of a business trip stay. For the wifi, my advice would be to connect to the hotel network for the room and the bar network for around the pool.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank aubrntigers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Green Lane, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
66 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed November 6, 2012

Stayed here with a group for a medical missions trip. Hotel was clean, well maintained, and perfectly adequate for our purpose. Nice community room for meetings, nice restaurant area with good food. Rooms were clean and beds comfortable. Hot water was abundant for showers.

Would recommend for reasonably priced business hotel. Not sure I'd stay here for a romantic getaway but there was nothing wrong with it. Just doesn't have a romantic ambience to the rooms. More practical and comfortable. Nice hotel.

Room Tip: Rooms overlook the parking area. Can get loud at night. Don't forget to lock the door, no auto l...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank travelgirl502
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Managua hotels
0.0 mi away
Hotel El Almendro Managua
Hotel El Almendro Managua
#15 of 50 in Managua
100 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hotel Mozonte
Hotel Mozonte
#25 of 50 in Managua
315 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hotel HEX
Hotel HEX
#17 of 50 in Managua
176 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Hotel Internacional Managua
0.0 mi away
Hotel Brial Plaza
Hotel Brial Plaza
#41 of 50 in Managua
10 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hotel Seminole
Hotel Seminole
#11 of 50 in Managua
196 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Estrella? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Estrella

Property: Hotel Estrella
Address: Gasolinera Esso Rubenia 200 mts al Norte, Pista Portezuelo, Managua, Nicaragua
Location: Nicaragua > Managua Department > Managua
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #29 of 50 Hotels in Managua
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Estrella 3*
Number of rooms: 40
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotwire, Travelocity, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets and Priceline so you can book your Hotel Estrella reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing