We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excelenté”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel El Almendro Managua
Ranked #15 of 50 Hotels in Managua
Reviewed February 9, 2014

We stayed at Hotel Almendro for a week. Our "room" was a two bedroom two bath air conditioned apartment. It was very spacious and clean. The staff was extremely friendly and helpful. Each morning we awoke to a full breakfast, complete with cooked to order eggs, gallo pinto, fresh fruit, hot coffee, juice, toast, and more! Some mornings we were even served delicious nacatamales! I will definitely be staying here again. For the price and service, you just can't get much better. Oh, did I mention there's also a pool?

Stayed: January 2014, traveled with friends
2  Thank Rachel D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (106)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

34 - 40 of 106 reviews

Reviewed December 3, 2013

We stayed at this hotel for two nights. It was our first stop after arriving in Nicaragua and we were pleasantly surprised at how nice this hotel was. It is a bit of a drive from the airport (in city traffic) but once we arrived we were greeted by a very welcoming receptionist who was very helpful in providing information about the surrounding area and Nicaragua in general.

The rooms provided just enough space for comfort and the bathroom were nice and spacious. The breakfast was delicious and the common spaces, including the pool, were very nice and kept clean.

We have no complaints about this hotel and while everyone advices it's not safe in Managua, we did walk to a local restaurant around the corner from the hotel (at night) and were fine and satisfied with our experience.

For those curious, we stayed in Managua for two days to have better access to Leon for day trips to the volcanos.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank ezratravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 21, 2013

Had 2 queen beds, 2 adults in each bed. Kitchen and fully functional bath, with fridge and safe. Receptionist named Evelyn was more than helpful and spoke english. Rooms were clean and safe with a great working fridge and AC unit, NO bugs. Didnt care for the breakfast eventhough it was free. Overall experience was great and cheap, $122 usd for 4 people....not bad ehh. Location was good we were able to walk to 4-5 bars and restaurants and even the mall within 5 minutes. Would highly recommend area and hotel to other guests even family...hotel was kinda quiet unless we were the loud ones...take care hope this helps.

Room Tip: Grocery store at the mall is called La Colonia.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Vinay S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 28, 2013

We have an extended stay in Managua while in the process of adopting our boys. This hotel is the perfect place for our family to stay. The rooms are large and very, very clean. The grounds are beautiful, quiet and very safe. Our boys have enjoyed the pool, and we've all enjoyed the common areas.

The location is great as well. It's a very easy walk to the mall, restaurants, and supermarkets. The convenient super market is great because our room has a nicely equipped kitchen so we can eat in. The staff here is also friendly and very helpful. They assist with ordering from many delivery options and are responsive to any other need as well.

My husband travels to Managua a few times each year and definitely plans to return to the Hotel El Almendro!

  • Stayed: September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PamSteveW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 29, 2013

We have stayed at this peaceful and beautiful hotel on many occasions over the last 5 years. I can't explain it, but somehow in the middle of the hustle and bustle in Managua, this hotel is so lovely, quiet and peaceful. The same staff has worked there for years and they are polite and friendly. Breakfast is included in the price and it is fun to sit by the pool and visit with people who come from all over the world to see the beautiful country of Nicaragua. I highly recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed: August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Terrirein
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 23, 2013

We stayed 5 days at this hotel in Managua
Pros:
Good service. The hotel staff was very polite, helpful and responsive
Good location. Very near shopping mall, buses to Granada, restaurants and walking area
Good value: Not superfancy but clean, well kept, includes continental style breakfast
Cons:
Internet is weak. We had to change rooms because signal would not reach our room. Check your internet connection when they assign your room.
Even when connected, the signal is good enough for email but don't expect to download or upload a lot of files or movies
No restaurant. If you are hungry late at night they'll call for a pizza or fried chicken to be brought in...but no dining on the premises. There are restaurants nearby but I was a little leery of walking the streets at night.
No English spoken: only one of the people at the front desk spoke any English and she wasn't there a lot of the time. Carry a Spanish dictionary with you. We speak broken Spanish so we were OK

Room Tip: Try the internet in the room before you unpack your bags
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TheTourist2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 15, 2013

this is my favorite place in Managua to stay people are very friendly, its clean, close to everything mall, restaurants movie theater bus stop college .its in a very safe area if your looking for a hotel in Managua this is a great place to stay. the manager Ericka is the best!!!

Ron Stein
Texas

Room Tip: all the rooms are great
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ron S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Managua hotels
0 mi away
Barcelo Managua
Barcelo Managua
#9 of 50 in Managua
427 reviews
0 mi away
Hotel Mozonte
Hotel Mozonte
#17 of 50 in Managua
342 reviews
0 mi away
Art Hotel Managua
Art Hotel Managua
#26 of 50 in Managua
92 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0 mi away
Hotel Los Robles
Hotel Los Robles
#16 of 50 in Managua
150 reviews
0 mi away
Holiday Inn Managua - Convention Center
0 mi away
Hotel La Pyramide
Hotel La Pyramide
#6 of 50 in Managua
365 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel El Almendro Managua? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel El Almendro Managua

Address: Rotonda Ruben Dario 1 cuadra al sur, 3 cuadras al oeste. | 1/2 cuadral al Sur, Managua, Nicaragua
Phone Number:
Location: Nicaragua > Managua Department > Managua
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #15 of 50 Hotels in Managua
Price Range: $71 - $87 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel El Almendro Managua 3*
Number of rooms: 23
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel El Almendro is located in the center of Managua Nicaragua, just a few steps from the Metrocentro Mall. Offers spacious single and double rooms, studios full equipment wich kitchennet.For Reservations visit our web site. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Orbitz, Priceline and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel El Almendro Managua reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing