We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good value, good service, good location”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel El Almendro Managua
Ranked #17 of 50 Hotels in Managua
Spokane, Washington
Level Contributor
85 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
“Good value, good service, good location”
Reviewed July 23, 2013

We stayed 5 days at this hotel in Managua
Pros:
Good service. The hotel staff was very polite, helpful and responsive
Good location. Very near shopping mall, buses to Granada, restaurants and walking area
Good value: Not superfancy but clean, well kept, includes continental style breakfast
Cons:
Internet is weak. We had to change rooms because signal would not reach our room. Check your internet connection when they assign your room.
Even when connected, the signal is good enough for email but don't expect to download or upload a lot of files or movies
No restaurant. If you are hungry late at night they'll call for a pizza or fried chicken to be brought in...but no dining on the premises. There are restaurants nearby but I was a little leery of walking the streets at night.
No English spoken: only one of the people at the front desk spoke any English and she wasn't there a lot of the time. Carry a Spanish dictionary with you. We speak broken Spanish so we were OK

Room Tip: Try the internet in the room before you unpack your bags
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TheTourist2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

100 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    65
    30
    3
    1
    1
See reviews for
28
19
8
22
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Houston, Texas
1 review
Reviewed July 15, 2013

this is my favorite place in Managua to stay people are very friendly, its clean, close to everything mall, restaurants movie theater bus stop college .its in a very safe area if your looking for a hotel in Managua this is a great place to stay. the manager Ericka is the best!!!

Ron Stein
Texas

Room Tip: all the rooms are great
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ron S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fallbrook, California, United States
1 review
Reviewed June 28, 2013

Had the opportunity to stay at the El Almendro last week. We found the place to be super clean with large rooms and a beautiful pool area. Slept like a baby and felt rested in the morning. Our flight was early and we our wake up call was on time and friendly. The people made our stay seamless, safe and comfortable. I look forward to staying at the El Almendro when I return to Nicarauga in the future.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lenny E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
2 reviews
Reviewed June 26, 2013

I discovered this little gem as I was leaving Nicaragua and was so impressed that I will definitively be visiting again. The hotel is very conveniently located next to Metrocentro but it is a complete different world than the hustle and bustle of Managua. I found a quiet oasis of tranquility complete with peaceful and lovely grounds, spacious, vibrant rooms, that are very tastefully decorated and a full dinette to boot!
Just minutes away there is so much to do as we visited and had dinner at the Galeria with it's world class restaurants and entertainment in a very safe and clean atmosphere.
I had a plane to catch early in the morning and the staff was more than helpful and available at 4:00 am in the morning!!
This place definitively gets all of my stars....I just wish I had more to give. A return visit is a sure thing! Thanx El Almendro!!

Room Tip: I stayed in room #5 which had brand new linens, 2 comfortable queen sized beds, A/C, a kitchenette c...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mauricio B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Flagstaff, Arizona
2 reviews
Reviewed June 23, 2013

This was a great hotel for our trip to Nicaragua. We were only in Managua one night, but this hotel was great. Nice comfy rooms with ac and a delicious breakfast!! Fresh fruit, gallo pinto and eggs anyways you like. The staff was fabulous and let us pull our car onto the property so it was watched all night. There was also a guard who roamed the property all night as well. Wold stay here again on my next visit to Nicaragua.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Erin M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rome, Italy
Level Contributor
14 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed April 21, 2013

I stayed at El Almendro for 3 days by myself and was extremely pleased with everything about my stay. The room was comfortable and clean: large bed, TV, air-conditioning and ceiling fan, phone, private bathroom. Couldn't think of anything else to ask for. Breakfast is a great mix of eggs/gallo pinto, fresh fruit, juice, coffee, toast. I had my breakfast sitting next to the pool and the tropical flowers and plants - very relaxing! The hotel is centrally located - you can walk to Metrocentro and you can catch a taxi down the block at the main road to anywhere you need to go. I also felt very safe inside the hotel; it was an oasis from the rest of chaotic Managua. I had a car with me and they had a secure parking spot inside the hotel. There are common areas around the hotel that are also very nice for sitting and relaxing, reading, meeting with people, ordering food in to eat, etc. The staff was very friendly and accommodating. They were always willing to help me with whatever I asked - and that includes everybody: receptionists, cleaning staff, breakfast staff, security guards. I thought the price was very reasonable considering the location and how comfortable and pleasant it was inside the hotel.

Room Tip: I stayed in a room right across from the kitchen where breakfast was prepared, and that could be a l...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank amybalto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anchorage, Alaska
Level Contributor
18 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed March 27, 2013

My family spent one night here after we first arrived in Nicaragua. The staff is helpful and pleasant. The rooms are nice, as are the grounds, the pool, and the breakfast. It is on a side street adjacent to a busy main road lined with street vendors, which is a fun place to walk around and buy some local fruits. There's a mall right there, but honestly, skip this--it's a carbon copy of any mall you've ever been to. Everything I read before going to Nicaragua made Managua sound like a mess, but this particular neighborhood was safe and pretty cool. The pool is small, but my 5 year old son loved it.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Alba B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Managua hotels
0.4 mi away
Hilton Princess Managua
Hilton Princess Managua
#2 of 50 in Managua
648 reviews
2.2 mi away
Barcelo Managua
Barcelo Managua
#14 of 50 in Managua
348 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Seminole
Hotel Seminole
#12 of 50 in Managua
195 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Holiday Inn Managua - Convention Center
0.8 mi away
Hotel La Pyramide
Hotel La Pyramide
#5 of 50 in Managua
359 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hotel Los Robles
Hotel Los Robles
#11 of 50 in Managua
140 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel El Almendro Managua? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel El Almendro Managua

Property: Hotel El Almendro Managua
Address: Rotonda Ruben Dario 1 cuadra al sur, 3 cuadras al oeste. | 1/2 cuadral al Sur, Managua, Nicaragua
Phone Number:
Location: Nicaragua > Managua Department > Managua
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #17 of 50 Hotels in Managua
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel El Almendro Managua 3*
Number of rooms: 23
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel El Almendro is located in the center of Managua Nicaragua, just a few steps from the Metrocentro Mall. Offers spacious single and double rooms, studios full equipment wich kitchennet.For Reservations visit our web site. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Cancelon, TripOnline SA and HRS so you can book your Hotel El Almendro Managua reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing