We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very pleasant hotel/ not a great location”
Review of Hotel Europeo

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel Europeo
Ranked #32 of 50 Hotels in Managua
Eugene, Oregon
Level Contributor
44 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Very pleasant hotel/ not a great location”
Reviewed February 22, 2012

Hotel Europea is a delightful hotel in a somewhat crappy neighborhood. It has a delightful courtyard filled with gorgeous tropical plants, birds, tables and a very nice swimming pool. A pleasant bar/restaurant opens onto it. There is a very modern supermarket a few blocks away but not much else. The restaurant serves good food at reasonable prices but can be overwhelmed if a tour group eats there. The rooms are spacious and the AC works. rooms next to the pool can be noisy if a groups is sitting our late talking.

Room Tip: Next to the pool was noisy one night, quite the next.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Texybert
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ComunicacionHotel, Director de Relaciones Públicas at Hotel Europeo, responded to this review, September 9, 2013
Google Translation
Gracias a su comentario Hotel Europeo ha creado un guía de lugares recreativos cercanos al hotel donde usted puede ir y así hacerme mejor su estadía.

Gracias
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

62 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    26
    23
    5
    5
    3
See reviews for
8
20
8
19
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Edmonton, Canada
Level Contributor
19 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed October 20, 2011

My daughter and I travelled to Nicaragua (August 2009) to visit with our World Vision sponsored child and her mother. It is a beautiful country with many beautiful people! The Hotel Europeo is located within walking distance of a hospital as well as the World Vision offices in Managua. It is a lovely, clean hotel with many amenities that includes breakfast in the low rates! I learned that this non-profit hotel pays its staff a decent wage and any profits are used to provide education to so many who live in poverty. Whether in Managua on business, pleasure, or with NGOs, this is a super hotel and location. If you do not speak Spanish, try booking your tours of Nicaragua through Greyline, which offers guides as well as tours of this beautiful country!

Room Tip: rooms in the newer portion offer balconies and patios overlooking the pool area and have less moistu...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank wornout57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ComunicacionHotel, Director de Relaciones Públicas at Hotel Europeo, responded to this review, September 9, 2013
Thank for your comment
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlantic Beach, Florida
Level Contributor
51 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
Reviewed October 14, 2011

I found this hotel on this website (TripAdvisor) and decided to stay there based on two things: one, it looked like a little resort (with the pool, restaurant in the center) which is not typical of the other places around that area in Managua, and two, they accept dogs.

We paid $95 for one night, a room with a queen bed and a twin bed, private bathroom. The room itself was typical Nicaragua. Nothing to write home about, but clean. It was not the room they were going to give us, however. They were taking us up to the 2nd floor, and we asked if we could have a first-floor room because of the dog and our enormous amounts of luggage. So we never saw the first room, which was probably nicer, it was in a newer section of the hotel.

They have a cute courtyard area with a pool, some palm trees and tables situated around the pool. And they have a decent open-air restaurant. The food there was a little better than your typical Nicaraguan fare. I had chicken cordon bleu and it was very good - priced right at $6.50 for the entree. My husband had traditional Nicaraguan Jalapeno Chicken and he said it was mediocre. My two boys split a hamburger and fries, and it was a good portion size and delicious!

The staff here was very friendly and accommodating. They allowed our dog to hang out poolside and never said a word. He was on a leash at all times. It was very quiet at this hotel when we were there (on a Wednesday night). I think we may have been the only people staying there at that time.

I would recommend Hotel Europeo to those wanting a little escape from typical Managua, bare bones hotels. If you are just going to be sleeping there, save your money and go to Los Balcones. But if you want to hang by a pool and enjoy some good food w/o driving anywhere, this is a GREAT PLACE!

Room Tip: Ask for a room in the newer section or at least one on the second floor overlooking the courtyard/po...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank carleegirl74
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ComunicacionHotel, Director de Relaciones Públicas at Hotel Europeo, responded to this review, September 9, 2013
thank for you comments we have updated our menu and recipes of each dish.
thanks
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Geneva, Switzerland
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed September 28, 2011

I spent an excellent working week in this very charming hotel, a peaceful and very welcoming “green net” in the city center. Very good food – with a rather slow service – and friendly staff.
A place to stay in Managua !

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank danviares
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ComunicacionHotel, Director de Relaciones Públicas at Hotel Europeo, responded to this review, September 9, 2013
Thanks for your comment
European Hotel awaits more viewings.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami, Florida
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed May 17, 2011

Since we have been robbed of a good amount of money in our room in this hotel we never went back there. Stangely enough, the cash was gone but not the jewelery or laptop…

Check that your balcony patio door is locked from inside before you leave your room.
Leave every valuable inside your locked luggage.

Bad experience.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Ex_customer_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ComunicacionHotel, Director de Relaciones Públicas at Hotel Europeo, responded to this review, September 9, 2013
Thanks for your comment
Europeo Hotel apologizes for the problem
we have reinforced our security
we have more security cameras and we check for cleaning people, we have a selection of staff care.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Geneva, Switzerland
Level Contributor
118 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed February 10, 2011

In the center of Managua, very good hotel, good service and verz devoted. Must go there in Managua!

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank drbino
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ComunicacionHotel, Director de Relaciones Públicas at Hotel Europeo, responded to this review, September 9, 2013
Thank for you comments
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MIAMI
1 review
Reviewed December 17, 2009

I stayed in about 300 hotels around the world, beautiful hotels and resorts but Hotel Europeo is one of the most peaceful and hotels to spend tie in Nicaragua. Excellent management and staff.

Beautiful and well maintained place for you to relax.

Ernesto Salazar
Miami, Florida
Bolivar Trading/ExxonMobil installation supervisor

  • Stayed October 2007, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ESALDABAR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ComunicacionHotel, Director de Relaciones Públicas at Hotel Europeo, responded to this review, September 9, 2013
Thank for you comments
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Managua hotels
0.4 mi away
Hotel La Posada del Arcangel
0.3 mi away
Hotel Los Cisneros
Hotel Los Cisneros
#47 of 50 in Managua
42 reviews
0.5 mi away
Mansion Teodolinda
Mansion Teodolinda
#16 of 50 in Managua
73 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 mi away
Hotel Los Pinos
Hotel Los Pinos
#28 of 50 in Managua
43 reviews
0.5 mi away
No photo provided
Hotel Montserrat
#48 of 50 in Managua
5 reviews
2.0 mi away
Hotel La Pyramide
Hotel La Pyramide
#5 of 50 in Managua
359 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Europeo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Europeo

Property: Hotel Europeo
Address: Del Canal 2 | 75 metros oeste Residencial Bolonia, Managua, Nicaragua
Location: Nicaragua > Managua Department > Managua
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #32 of 50 Hotels in Managua
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Europeo 3*
Number of rooms: 31
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We have been renovating for you since 2016, all rooms and areas are thought to be a Responsible Hotel. Hotel Europeo is surrounded by a pleasant and relaxed atmosphere, you can enjoy an exquisite drink near our gardens or by the pool. You can also taste delicious dishes in our restaurant El Ranchón. Less than 5 minutes from the new center of Managua, in a quiet and safe area of the city, our hotel is solidary. Every night that you enjoy at Hotel Europeo offers a little more hope and the vision of a better future for the beneficiaries of our projects led by DIANOVA NICARAGUA Whether you are visiting Nicaragua or holidays or for business, discover our little piece of paradise in the center of Managua! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotwire, TripOnline SA and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Europeo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Europeo Hotel Managua

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing