We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“non-profit hotel big on savings”
Review of Hotel Europeo

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel Europeo
Ranked #32 of 50 Hotels in Managua
Reviewed October 20, 2011

My daughter and I travelled to Nicaragua (August 2009) to visit with our World Vision sponsored child and her mother. It is a beautiful country with many beautiful people! The Hotel Europeo is located within walking distance of a hospital as well as the World Vision offices in Managua. It is a lovely, clean hotel with many amenities that includes breakfast in the low rates! I learned that this non-profit hotel pays its staff a decent wage and any profits are used to provide education to so many who live in poverty. Whether in Managua on business, pleasure, or with NGOs, this is a super hotel and location. If you do not speak Spanish, try booking your tours of Nicaragua through Greyline, which offers guides as well as tours of this beautiful country!

Room Tip: rooms in the newer portion offer balconies and patios overlooking the pool area and have less moistu...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank wornout57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ComunicacionHotel, Director de Relaciones Públicas at Hotel Europeo, responded to this reviewResponded September 9, 2013

Thank for your comment

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (67)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

26 - 32 of 67 reviews

Reviewed October 14, 2011

I found this hotel on this website (TripAdvisor) and decided to stay there based on two things: one, it looked like a little resort (with the pool, restaurant in the center) which is not typical of the other places around that area in Managua, and two, they accept dogs.

We paid $95 for one night, a room with a queen bed and a twin bed, private bathroom. The room itself was typical Nicaragua. Nothing to write home about, but clean. It was not the room they were going to give us, however. They were taking us up to the 2nd floor, and we asked if we could have a first-floor room because of the dog and our enormous amounts of luggage. So we never saw the first room, which was probably nicer, it was in a newer section of the hotel.

They have a cute courtyard area with a pool, some palm trees and tables situated around the pool. And they have a decent open-air restaurant. The food there was a little better than your typical Nicaraguan fare. I had chicken cordon bleu and it was very good - priced right at $6.50 for the entree. My husband had traditional Nicaraguan Jalapeno Chicken and he said it was mediocre. My two boys split a hamburger and fries, and it was a good portion size and delicious!

The staff here was very friendly and accommodating. They allowed our dog to hang out poolside and never said a word. He was on a leash at all times. It was very quiet at this hotel when we were there (on a Wednesday night). I think we may have been the only people staying there at that time.

I would recommend Hotel Europeo to those wanting a little escape from typical Managua, bare bones hotels. If you are just going to be sleeping there, save your money and go to Los Balcones. But if you want to hang by a pool and enjoy some good food w/o driving anywhere, this is a GREAT PLACE!

Room Tip: Ask for a room in the newer section or at least one on the second floor overlooking the courtyard/po...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank carleegirl74
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ComunicacionHotel, Director de Relaciones Públicas at Hotel Europeo, responded to this reviewResponded September 9, 2013

thank for you comments we have updated our menu and recipes of each dish.
thanks

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 28, 2011

I spent an excellent working week in this very charming hotel, a peaceful and very welcoming “green net” in the city center. Very good food – with a rather slow service – and friendly staff.
A place to stay in Managua !

  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank danviares
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ComunicacionHotel, Director de Relaciones Públicas at Hotel Europeo, responded to this reviewResponded September 9, 2013

Thanks for your comment
European Hotel awaits more viewings.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 17, 2011

Since we have been robbed of a good amount of money in our room in this hotel we never went back there. Stangely enough, the cash was gone but not the jewelery or laptop…

Check that your balcony patio door is locked from inside before you leave your room.
Leave every valuable inside your locked luggage.

Bad experience.

  • Stayed: June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Ex_customer_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ComunicacionHotel, Director de Relaciones Públicas at Hotel Europeo, responded to this reviewResponded September 9, 2013

Thanks for your comment
Europeo Hotel apologizes for the problem
we have reinforced our security
we have more security cameras and we check for cleaning people, we have a selection of staff care.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 10, 2011

In the center of Managua, very good hotel, good service and verz devoted. Must go there in Managua!

  • Stayed: February 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank drbino
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ComunicacionHotel, Director de Relaciones Públicas at Hotel Europeo, responded to this reviewResponded September 9, 2013

Thank for you comments

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 17, 2009

I stayed in about 300 hotels around the world, beautiful hotels and resorts but Hotel Europeo is one of the most peaceful and hotels to spend tie in Nicaragua. Excellent management and staff.

Beautiful and well maintained place for you to relax.

Ernesto Salazar
Miami, Florida
Bolivar Trading/ExxonMobil installation supervisor

  • Stayed: October 2007, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ESALDABAR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ComunicacionHotel, Director de Relaciones Públicas at Hotel Europeo, responded to this reviewResponded September 9, 2013

Thank for you comments

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 16, 2009

a lot of people have talked about how beautiful and well-maintained Hotel Europeo is. All of it is true so I won't reiterate it too much. It is very much a piece of paradise, with an open-air bar/restaurant and pool all in a central courtyard, with lush palm trees and constant sun.

But i'd like to add that proceeds from the hotel go toward funding educational programs for low-income youth in the country. Not only are you getting a good deal and a wonderful stay, you're contributing something to Nicaragua's youth development.

Can you really go wrong?

  • Stayed: June 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank tchktchk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ComunicacionHotel, Director de Relaciones Públicas at Hotel Europeo, responded to this reviewResponded September 9, 2013

dear guest thank you very much for your comment
I hope to see you soon in our hotel because you are now a client of solidarity.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Managua hotels
0.4 mi away
Hotel La Posada del Arcangel
0.4 mi away
Hotel Mozonte
Hotel Mozonte
#19 of 50 in Managua
334 reviews
0.5 mi away
Mansion Teodolinda
Mansion Teodolinda
#18 of 50 in Managua
75 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
Hotel El Almendro Managua
Hotel El Almendro Managua
#16 of 50 in Managua
102 reviews
0.6 mi away
Art Hotel Managua
Art Hotel Managua
#29 of 50 in Managua
91 reviews
2.3 mi away
Hotel Brial Plaza
Hotel Brial Plaza
#39 of 50 in Managua
10 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Europeo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Europeo

Address: Del Canal 2 | 75 metros oeste Residencial Bolonia, Managua, Nicaragua
Location: Nicaragua > Managua Department > Managua
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #32 of 50 Hotels in Managua
Price Range: $65 - $82 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Europeo 3*
Number of rooms: 31
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We have been renovating for you since 2016, all rooms and areas are thought to be a Responsible Hotel. Hotel Europeo is surrounded by a pleasant and relaxed atmosphere, you can enjoy an exquisite drink near our gardens or by the pool. You can also taste delicious dishes in our restaurant El Ranchón. Less than 5 minutes from the new center of Managua, in a quiet and safe area of the city, our hotel is solidary. Every night that you enjoy at Hotel Europeo offers a little more hope and the vision of a better future for the beneficiaries of our projects led by DIANOVA NICARAGUA Whether you are visiting Nicaragua or holidays or for business, discover our little piece of paradise in the center of Managua! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Cancelon, TripOnline SA and Hotwire so you can book your Hotel Europeo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Europeo Hotel Managua

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing