We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Delicious, typical Nicaraguan flavors”

Restaurante El Gueguense
Ranked #9 of 9 Dessert in Managua
Price range: $6 - $30
Cuisines: Steakhouse
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Families with children
Description: We were born on the 1st. August 2006, with the sole purpose of providing a place Managua evoke them to the homes of our beautiful haciendas Nicaraguan villages, where you could eat a delicious roasted coal, surrounded by beautiful paintings and murals by renowned artists pinoleros; variety of plants that make you feel like in the field and our typical music, which we should all be very proud, all in accordance with our greatest cultural treasure ¨ ¨ Güegüense, Oral and Intangible Heritage of Humanity.
Reviewed June 9, 2013

We were referred here by our hotel, Hotel Internacional. The restaurant did not disappoint. The three of us chose a sampler platter of sorts and were pleased with the meal. Everything was delicious and the atmosphere was nice.

1  Thank Lindsay865
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Asados E, Propietario at Restaurante El Gueguense, responded to this reviewResponded June 11, 2013

Thank you very much for your comment, we are pleased to serve you as you deserve it.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (41)
There are newer reviews for Restaurante El Gueguense
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

9 - 13 of 41 reviews

Reviewed February 15, 2013

We ate at El Gueguense after being recommended to it by our hotelier at Hotel Internacional just 1/2 block away. At first I was leary that he had some connection and that it wouldn't be great, but honestly, in hindsight, it ended up being on of the best meals we had in Nicaragua!

I will say that it was the only restaurant we ate at in Managua, as the remainder were spent in San Juan (for which I was very dissappointed in the food quality overall, with a few exceptions.)

The food here was local and basic, but super tasty, well cooked and it was a fun place to be at with great drinks!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank D A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 19, 2012

If you want to enjoy the best of Nicaraguan beef at affordable prices, this is the place. Their breaded fish fillet is really good also. Asados El Gueguense is not fancy by any means, but rather closer to where the average Nicaraguan middle class family would go for dining out. An added plus is that they have Nicaraguan folk music live, from Thursday thru Saturday. Nice typical environment in the heart of Managua.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
4  Thank hemcruz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Asados E, Propietario at Restaurante El Gueguense, responded to this reviewResponded December 9, 2012
Google Translation

Amigo, Honor que nos hace con su opinion; estamos para eso: darles siempre lo mejor.. porque Al Carbon Sabe Mejor !!!.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile
Google Translation

Thank Flaco M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 18, 2017
Google Translation

Thank litusteruel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Restaurante El Gueguense also viewed

Managua, Managua Department
Managua, Managua Department
 
Managua, Managua Department
Managua, Managua Department
 
Managua, Managua Department
Managua, Managua Department
 

Been to Restaurante El Gueguense? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing