We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“great traditional food”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Mi Viejo Ranchito

Mi Viejo Ranchito
Ranked #19 of 327 Restaurants in Managua
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $0 - $15
Cuisines: Latin, Central American, Grill
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Dining on a budget, Kids, Local cuisine, Large groups
Dining options: Lunch, Late Night, Breakfast, Brunch, Dinner, Delivery, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
14 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“great traditional food”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 7, 2014

Loved it!!!! Stopped here on our way to Granda and had a great traditional lunch. great food and atmosphere.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank benchsf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

201 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    90
    58
    31
    13
    9
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Miami Beach, Florida
Level Contributor
248 reviews
165 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“Weekend breakfast. ”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 2, 2014 via mobile

Have eaten here for breakfast several times. They serve the whole menu and I like that as I have had a craving for fried chicken and was able to order it at 9 AM. The service is usually good, but twice it was slow and once the waiter messed up my order twice. The reason for 4 instead of 5 starts. But for the most recent visits the service has been better. If this holds true I will be upgrading to 5 stars in the future.

Helpful?
Thank risitodeplata
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami Beach, Florida, United States
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Authentic Nica Food”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 9, 2014

This place is always full and you will find many Nicaraguans here. If you want authentic Nicaraguan food, this is the place to be!! Everything was delicious. I highly recommend the "repocheta a la plancha" instead of fried. The cacao drink has a unique flavor. Prices are good and the food is fresh. A must if you're in Managua!!

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Tamara V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Managua, Nicaragua
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Slow service and tasteless food.”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 13, 2013

Slow service, very uninteresting and food was pretty flavourless. Portions are average and some "hot" dishes weren´t hot when they arrived at the table.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Mick0602
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Great Nica Food”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 19, 2013

I was there 2 times. Went to their Catarina location and they didn't disappoint!
The restaurant decore and location was perfect. My mom is a picky eater and she said that their Tiste tasted just like "abuelita" used to make:) The food is fresh and delicious, their prices are fair just make sure to go there with a huge appetite since their portions are huge!
Buen Provecho:)

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank onejarquin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Mi Viejo Ranchito also viewed

Managua, Managua Department
Managua, Managua Department
 
Managua, Managua Department
Managua, Managua Department
 

Been to Mi Viejo Ranchito? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing