We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Eat Here!”
Review of Mi Viejo Ranchito

Mi Viejo Ranchito
Ranked #18 of 345 Restaurants in Managua
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $0 - $15
Cuisines: Central American, Latin, Grill
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Kids, Local cuisine, Large groups
Dining options: Late Night, Breakfast, Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Delivery, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
East Bay, CA
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Eat Here!”
Reviewed January 24, 2013

Varied cuisine, priced well in an indoor/outdoor setting. Authentic Nicaraguan cuisine. Good service.

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank kimbbenson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

203 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    90
    59
    31
    14
    9
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Managua, Nicaragua
Level Contributor
105 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“popular local restaurant”
Reviewed December 3, 2012

It's a very popular restaurant for the locals. They have two locations, one around kilometer 18 on Masaya and the other on 40 or near there. The one on 18 km is usually full of people in the night. It is cheap for a nicaragua restaurant, prices around C$120, they have good grills.

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank KirbyPop
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maryland
Level Contributor
75 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
“Excellent food , service and value”
Reviewed September 29, 2012

We ate here approx 1.5 weeks back and truly enjoyed it. Service was great and the food was even better. They have a very extensive menu so the picky eaters should be able to find something. Three of us had lunch a few pops for around $25 and that included tax and tip. We will definitely be going back. We have drove by this place many time and its always busy, and now we know why!!

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank flames9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Managua, Nicaragua
Level Contributor
20 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“typical nicaraguan food, worth the drive? hardly.”
Reviewed July 24, 2012

mi viejo ranchito, a more upscale typical nicaraguan restaurant than most, yet only half as good. their antojitos (or appetizers) are delicious and will satisfy your nica cravings. their main courses? not so much. i had a steak with tostones and rice and was quite disapppointed. the beef was dry, the tostones had no cheese to go with it (a sin punishable by death) and the rice, was just rice. maybe i had the wrong dish...but even the relaxing rancho feel wasn't enough to impress me.

Visited April 2012
Helpful?
Thank ElCheleNica
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zurich, Switzerland
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Best bet for countryside gourmets”
Reviewed July 12, 2012

A distinguished atmosphere in terms of landscape, save, spacious parking area and service.
Choose between lower level ranchitos or the elegant Restaurant on top of the slope.
They offer some specialties hard to find in many oher eateries. There is even a playground for children. Good attention , polite staff. I personally consider the place as best choice to eat while heading for Managua or southbound.

  • Visited June 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank hermaaic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Mi Viejo Ranchito also viewed

Managua, Managua Department
Managua, Managua Department
 
Managua, Managua Department
Managua, Managua Department
 

Been to Mi Viejo Ranchito? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing