We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“My Nicaraguan Home away from Home”
Review of Hotel Seminole

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Seminole
Ranked #13 of 50 Hotels in Managua
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed July 11, 2007

I have traveled to Managua three times now on business. My client books this hotel for me. If I ever go there at my own descretion I will definately book this hotel if available, which may be harder and harder to do as business investment picks up steam.

This is a relatively small 4-story hotel built to modern standards, with very clean and spacious rooms. It has local architectural and decor influence; it is definately not like the Hilton Princess across the street, which is Hilton US corporate standard appearance inside and out.

The staff is very hospitable and friendly. They pick you up at the airport and take you back- a 30 min. ride in a very new Toyota van.

Now, my favorite breakfast buffet in the world is in the Lanai restaurant of the Royal Hawaiian Hotel Honolulu because of the setting and view. But by far my second choice would be the Seminole's. Actually, it ought to be first because not only is the food selection fantastic ( fresh local tropical fruits and juices, cheese, hot and cold cereals, cooked to order omelets and eggs, scrambled eggs, refried bean paste, ham tacos, "gallopinto", bacon, sausage, breads, local "1820" coffee, and a lot of other local dishes) but it is included in the already economical room rate!

Their evening menu selection is also quite appealing and excellent. However, just a few steps down the street is the very heart of Managua's night life with all kinds of eating places featuring just about every kind of food you could want. And lots of friendly people. NO CRIME.

But a real highlight of the hotel's restaurant is their Friday Seafood Festival Lunch Buffet.: fresh Lobster, squid, octopus, muscles, oysters, fish,scallops, shrimp, etc, which you simply select, put on your plate, and hand to the chef who either grilles the whole thing or stir fries it. This is on top of the other appetizers and food selections to go with it, especially the hotel's
version of ceviche. Now this costs- but considering what you get and the relative economical price by US standards, it is worth it.

Needless to say, I'm sold 100% on the Seminole.

If you are real picky about noise and temperature, avoid room 108.

A word of warning to first time travelers to Nic: the country suffers from a chronic, systemic power crises. Just during my last journey, the government insituted mandatory power outages for Managua twice a day. The hotel and nearly every other service establishment is equipped with generators, so they can keep the lights on and carry on with business. All part of the Nicaraguan experience! Also, do not expect the local Nicaraguan cuisine to be spicey a-la the Mexican variety. Their national dishes are simple, wholesome, mild and filling; even if you order steak with Jalopeno sauce to go with it, you won't find that "kick" you would expect.

Stayed: July 2007
3  Thank gjones
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (215)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

66 - 72 of 215 reviews

Reviewed March 29, 2007

Stepping into the lobby was like stepping into Spain. The staff mainly Spanish-very helpful and efficient.(I speak very little). The rooms were spacious and the bathrooms huge. We enjoyed the pool and the surroundings. I agree the buffet breakfast is delish!
Location of the hotel was perfect to escape Managua and enter into the real Nica. Thanks for the welcome.

  • Stayed: March 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank lemonheart
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
London, England
115
Reviewed October 26, 2005

The hotel itself was comfortable (with the slight exception that the communal spaces were too cold because the air conditioning is too fierce) and the staff kind and friendly.

For me, the best, best, best thing was the buffet breakfast, with masses of fresh fruit (including two kinds I had not seen before). My Sunday breakfast on 16th October was superb, and included the interesting local dish of 'Nacatamales' which I would recommend to anyone: wrapped in a plantain leaf package, a savoury steamed maize flour dumpling (the flour having been ground from young maize cobs) delicately spiced and flavoured with mild green chilli and amaranth and with a small piece of chicken in the centre. Delicious!

Stayed: October 2005
15  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 1 week ago
Google Translation

Stayed: February 2018, traveled on business
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank chenriquez332
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelSeminole, Gerente at Hotel Seminole, responded to this reviewResponded 6 days ago
Google Translation

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 4 weeks ago
Google Translation

Stayed: January 2018, traveled on business
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank camadoralfaro
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelSeminole, Gerente at Hotel Seminole, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago
Google Translation

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 8, 2017
Google Translation

Stayed: November 2017, traveled on business
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank CarmenSamayoa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelSeminole, Gerente at Hotel Seminole, responded to this reviewResponded December 12, 2017
Google Translation

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 4, 2017
Google Translation

Stayed: December 2017, traveled with family
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank azucenah333
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelSeminole, Gerente at Hotel Seminole, responded to this reviewResponded December 5, 2017
Google Translation

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Managua hotels
1.9 mi away
Barcelo Managua
Barcelo Managua
#7 of 50 in Managua
453 reviews
0.3 mi away
Real InterContinental Managua at Metrocentro Mall
0.1 mi away
Hilton Princess Managua
Hilton Princess Managua
#2 of 50 in Managua
703 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Hotel Mozonte
Hotel Mozonte
#19 of 50 in Managua
349 reviews
0.9 mi away
Holiday Inn Managua - Convention Center
2.3 mi away
Art Hotel Managua
Art Hotel Managua
#29 of 50 in Managua
92 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Seminole? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Seminole

Address: De Bancentro carretera a Masaya 1c oeste 1c al sur, Managua 00505, Nicaragua
Location: Nicaragua > Managua Department > Managua
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #13 of 50 Hotels in Managua
Price Range: $90 - $148 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Seminole 3.5*
Number of rooms: 84
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, getaroom.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, TripOnline SA and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Seminole reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Seminole Plaza Managua

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing