We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Old and Outdated”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Crowne Plaza Hotel Managua
Ranked #10 of 50 Hotels in Managua
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed June 20, 2010

This hotel may have been 4-star 20 years ago, but it certainly does not meet that standard now. The hotel is very old and outdated. My room had stains all over the carpet, and the bathroom left a lot to be desired. The room windows are not very thick allowing noise to easily pass through from outside. My room had a door that attached to the adjoining room - this was fine for the first night as there was nobody staying in that room; however, the second night I heard the other room guests straight through that door. The quietest noise would pass through very easily. The only English-speaking staff in the entire place were the front-desk staff.

Across the street is a small shopping mall with a food court and movie theater. There's absolutely nothing special about it. There are ATM machines located outside of the mall, and hotel security will provide an escort over there and back. The hotel has its own branded taxis outside and just about everywhere I went was C$100. None of the drivers speak English. There is a free airport shuttle that was running every 30 minutes.

Overall, I would not recommend the Crowne Plaza and would pay extra to stay at the Intercontinental or Hilton instead (which are in a better location anyway).

  • Stayed: June 2010, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kaix123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (303)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

152 - 158 of 303 reviews

Reviewed June 16, 2010

We needed a place to stay for one night in Managua, and chose this hotel because it was the cheapest that offered free transportation from the airport. They don't do a good job of advertising their free transportation, but all you have to do is email them your flight information. We weren't expecting much based on previous reviews. However, we were quite pleasantly surprised. We had a jovial little man representing the hotel greet us at the airport and wait with us for the hotel taxi to arrive. The hotel taxi driver, Gerald, was also really nice, gave us a good rate to take us to San Jorge the next day, and was generally very helpful. Anyway, back to the hotel, beautiful lobby, very friendly desk staff on both check-in and check-out, and a great bellboy who seemed excited to practice his English with us. The room was reasonably sized and very clean, with the amenities an American would expect. The bed was your average Nicaraguan bed (hard), but the linens were nice, the blackout curtains worked well and the room was quiet, so we slept just fine. The only thing I would have liked was WiFi for my iPhone, but for a night I could do without it. They did had a business center we could have used if we really needed internet access. I also recommend having the bellhop explain how to set the alarm before leaving, as we couldn't figure it out for the life of us, and our wake-up call never happened. Luckily, we always set up our own backup alarm when staying at a new place. I can't comment on it's location as it was irrelevant to us. However, I would especially recommend this to someone looking for a one-night stopover in Managua as an alternative to the standard airport-area hotels.

  • Stayed: June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank parslane
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 16, 2010

in comparison to other hotels in Managua not really worth the money. Bad service, unfriendly check-in, very small rooms that smell and location is not really next to anything interesting but a very small shopping mall with very basic shops. For a price of around 100$, I'd expect a little more and I think, you can get better deals in Managua.

  • Stayed: April 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mnbg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 29, 2010

Seeing the previous horror show reviews I was a little skeptical, but my friend in Nicaragua told me that this was the best place in town. So I indulged us for my winter escape from NY. Well, the hotel is beautiful. Yes it's older than the newer monstrosities, and our room was not really large, but it was big enough. No there were not 5 sets of shampoo and conditioner and skin lotion and 8 bars of soap, there was just enough, and whatever we used was replaced the next day. The bar was small but intimate and fun. The pool was beautiful and available. The restaurants were all very good. I recommend the Mongolian barbeque, really excellent food and their wine list is also probably one of the best in Nicaragua. The breakfast buffet was out of this world good in the 'coffee shop'. It was like a nice restaurant, and they had all the wonderful tropical fruits of Nicaragua available for sampling. Believe fresh passion fruit (maracuja) will really wake you up! The staff, from reception to the chambermaids and porters and bartenders, were all as friendly and pleasant as can be.
Yes I will come back, absolutely. Admittedly Managua is not the most beautiful city in the world, but the Crown Plaza is a welcome rest after traveling around the country, and it's also a welcome introduction to the warm hospitality of Nicaragua. Stay here. You won't regret it.

  • Stayed: February 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bklynbubba
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 13, 2009

I did not enjoy my stay here at all. To begin with, the location is not great, across from a mini-mall with not much to offer. The pool was closed during the entire week I was there. Breakfast was a fiasco almost every day, with the buffet dishes remaining empty for long periods of time before being replenished. The juice I ordered from room service was virtually non-drinkable, more like water with a bit of juice added. There was no selection of soft drinks, just one choice, but that ended up being a blessing in disgjuise since i could easily unplug the overly-loud refrigerator The bathroom drain was broken. The sheets were rough. Internet usage was confusing. There is no gift shop, and there was no lotion in the bathroom - only shampoo, soap, and conditioner.

  • Stayed: March 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank nomadcat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 29, 2008

This hotel was the last hotel we visited during our trip in Nicaragua; we did stay in room 318 for 2 nights here is what we found:

Keeping in mind that this hotel has some 30 plus years operational time and that it was one of the only 2 buildings which withstand the earth break which destroyed the city center; it is for sure a safe place to stay. However having said so this also means you have to make some cuts when it comes to basic hotel standards of today’s world.

The design concept for sure is way behind today’s standards, the guest rooms are extremely small and not well sound proved, even so all international amenities are on hand. The overall decoration is one of the down turns of the hotel; giving an image of presentation back from the mid 70. The Employees attitude and friendliness makes up for the short coming in some operational aspects.

The food quality even so good was not as good as in all other places we have seen, the breakfast buffet is the only part in the Food aspect which would not meet international standards. The other dishes we had were good and of good quality.

The lobby bar service, drink quality and price value was very good, the convention are in the hotel was fine; the Convention center (fit for up to 3000 persons) is located on the other side of the hotel however we were not able to see it.

Check in/out was quite well, most outstanding was their Butler and bell boy service, well briefed and very well trained; also the telephone service was also of good quality. The price value is fine for what you get, but do not think this is one of the more traditional Crown Plaza Hotels you may find in the Americas.

Further you will find a Casino and pool area in the hotel, the location is good for all business and meeting activities, however the overall hotel is by far not a 5 star hotel property by international standard.

  • Stayed: April 2008, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
3  Thank GlobetroterAmericas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 7, 2007

This hotel is NOT worth the money! My husband and I thought we would be ok staying in a place with a good name and good reputation. We were disappointed from the minute we checked in. No local calls are free - so that explains the large "freeze" they require on your credit card when you check in, our AC didn't work and someone had to come the first night to repair it, the bed was harder than the street outside, there are only about 10 parking spaces available on the grounds, our carpet in the room was horribly stained (I don't want to know with what!), the list goes on and on....

  • Stayed: December 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank travelingcouple22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Managua hotels
1.3 mi away
Real InterContinental Managua at Metrocentro Mall
1.5 mi away
Hilton Princess Managua
Hilton Princess Managua
#2 of 50 in Managua
683 reviews
3.3 mi away
Barcelo Managua
Barcelo Managua
#9 of 50 in Managua
418 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
Holiday Inn Managua - Convention Center
6.1 mi away
Globales Camino Real
Globales Camino Real
#4 of 50 in Managua
603 reviews
3.4 mi away
Hyatt Place Managua
Hyatt Place Managua
#1 of 50 in Managua
533 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Crowne Plaza Hotel Managua? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Crowne Plaza Hotel Managua

Address: Octava Calle Sur Oeste 101, Managua, Nicaragua
Phone Number:
Location: Nicaragua > Managua Department > Managua
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Spa Hotel in Managua
#5 Luxury Hotel in Managua
#7 Business Hotel in Managua
Price Range: $108 - $258 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Crowne Plaza Hotel Managua 4*
Number of rooms: 140
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Crowne Plaza Managua is located in a entertainment and economic strategic place, in Nicaragua only 15 minutes away from the International Airport in Managua, the Hotel is very close to the City Life Center, is conveniently located close to the President Office and many embassies, you will be able to enjoy of a spectacular view, of the city, with the best facilities for your comfort, pleasure, business and conventions. The Hotel Architecture reminds us the Ancestral Mayas Pyramids.The Crowne Plaza Sleep Advantage was developed to provide our guests with a scientifically-based, holistic approach to better sleep. Hotel Crowne Plaza Managua has a luxury and nice environment. Enjoy of a splendid international food in our restaurants and for our casuals meetings and events, you will enjoy of your delight drink in our nice Bar and Lounge Concorde. The Convention Center of Hotel Crowne Plaza Managua, make an appropriate environment for your meetings congress, conventions success. Our convention center has the largest and moderns meetings lounges in Nicaragua, where you can be able to place groups from 10 to 2000 people, always assisted by our professionals, moderns audio-visuals equipment, video conference, and wireless internet band. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotwire, HotelQuickly, TripOnline SA and Cancelon so you can book your Crowne Plaza Hotel Managua reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Crowne Plaza Managua

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing