We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Hotel Review in Managua Nicaragua”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Crowne Plaza Hotel Managua
Ranked #7 of 51 Hotels in Managua
Bakersfield, California
Level Contributor
13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Hotel Review in Managua Nicaragua”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 6, 2014

A nice hotel located in a secure area of the city. Room a little small and dated, carpets worn and bathroom generally a little run down for the status and price. HOWEVER - Dining Room Exceptionally clean and well managed, comfortable and secure; excellent quality of food whether from menu or buffet line; Dining staff exceptionally attentive and bi-lingual (English important and a plus for me). Took most of my meals there.Desk staff very helpful despite some occasional language barrier - Presidential level dignitaries staying there at the time added to security - no inconvenience to guests observed. Bar small but cozy comfortable and service there exceptional also. Service staff really responsible for the positives. No furniture, chairs umbrella for room patio - Refrig but no microwave, coffee maker inconvenient. Close to small plaza and other food options. Hotel authorized taxis sometimes a bit higher but service and vehicles consistent and safe. To avoid nuisance - Rx using the USA Dollar currency vs Nic Cordoba

Room Tip: Rooms on the front of hotel offer more all around view, interest, End rooms have patios, air freshn...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank A F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

276 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    111
    88
    58
    11
    8
See reviews for
20
36
34
153
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (35)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
18 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 17, 2014

I usually stay at this property when visiting Nicaragua. I rate their staff 5+star. Their courtesy and willigness to help is beyond my excpectations. Every time I entered the hotel, the doors were opened for me. I have no idea how everyone remembers my name with so many guesst on a daily basis.. The free breakfast is delightful, fresh fruits, eggs made to your liking along with many local and international dishes. Mr. Morgan and Connie make you feel just as if you are eating breakfast at home. A convention center is located accross the street along with a well supplied supermarket, movie theather, banks and a few restaurants.
I give it a 3 star because the hotel is oudated, crying for refurbishment. The rooms are clean.A/C works great. The carpet and bathrooms are showing their age. The hotel staff will make you forget the small inconvenieces of an older hotel. If you are in a business trip and planning not to spend a lot of time in your room go for it! I would stay at the Crown rather that at the newer Intercontinental Hotel near Metro Center. I found the staff borderline rude and arrogant.

Room Tip: upgrade to a suite if it is within your budget.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank marcella k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Crowne Plaza Hotel Managua, responded to this review, July 4, 2014
Dear marcella k,

Thank you for taking the time to provide feedback on your stay. I appreciate the compliments on the staff and the level of service provided. It encourages our team members to work even harder and consistently delight our guests. However, I would like to apologize for any inconvenience the hotel conditions may have caused you. Your comments will be forwarded to the ownership of the hotel to take into consideration for future upgrades. Thank you again for your review and we hope to have an opportunity of welcoming you back again soon.

Kind Regards,

Charisse V
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
15 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 17, 2014

I went to Managua for Business. I booked this hotel not expecting much because before this time, I stayed at the Holiday Inn Express and it was very disappointed. As soon as I get there, I found that the hotel is much better located; nice area, closest to the Malecon and, at least my room, has the lake view.

Nice and warming reception at Friont Desk and they recognize the Status of my IHG. I arrived at 10am and no matter of that, I did get the room.

Clean, big space, nice view and very good internet speed and coverage at the room. No complaints. The hotel has a nice outside pool and gym.

The hotel food was OK, my reason to not give 5 stars, but if you want, you can try external restaurants around the hotel.

Also, there is a small shopping mall just crossing the street, in case you want to see a movie or do some last minute shopping.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mandrake29
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Healdsburg, California
Level Contributor
181 reviews
93 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 114 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 14, 2014

A business class hotel similar to the IHC Metro Center but not nearly as nice, or luxurious. Common areas seem older, more worn. I paid extra for a suite but and was given a very large but odd shaped room with a small bed not at all what I expected. Given the choice, I would stay at Metro Center instead of here, but it will do in a fix.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank john_northbay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Crowne Plaza Hotel Managua, responded to this review, June 1, 2014
Dear john_northbay,

Thank you for staying with us. I am glad you liked our friendly staff service. Our hotel is very proud of its level of service, cleanliness and quality of its product and for this reason your comments are very troubling and will certainly be looked into. While we understand that your stay was not 100% satisfactory, we would hope that you would give us another chance to make your stay as best as it can be.

If there is anything we can do to make your next stay more comfortable, please do not hesitate to ask the Manager on Duty.

Sincerely,

Jaime W
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Metro Manila, Philippines
Level Contributor
658 reviews
55 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 223 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 6, 2014

I was on a short business trip and the hotel was just convenient for me. The lobby is ok but the room was really old and small. I guess it is really starting to show its age. The bed is very firm . There is a convention center just across the road which i guess is why it is convenient. There is a small supermarket nearby. There are 3 dining options, a Japanese restaurant, ala carte and a Chinese restaurant. We tried the Chinese place and it was good. Service is fast and the food was not too bad.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank combat66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Crowne Plaza Hotel Managua, responded to this review, May 23, 2014
Dear combat66,

Thank you for taking the time to review our property. We take our guest comments very seriously and always strive to provide comfortable and friendly accommodations. We’re very sorry you were not satisfied with the condition of the room. We are also sorry for any inconvenience you experienced due to the bed. The feedback we receive from our valued guests, like you, enables us to target problem areas. We welcome any opportunity to improve.

If there is anything we can do to make your next stay more comfortable, please do not hesitate to ask the Manager on Duty.

Sincerely,

Ferdinand G
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marbella, Spain
Level Contributor
56 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 3, 2014

While the hotel seems stuck in another era and needs urgent refurbishment, the staff are a delight!
Breakfast was certainly decent too.

The odor in our room and quality of bedding were rather suboptimal and it certainly wasn't terribly clean.

Anyway, staff gets maximum points!

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ChickCam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Crowne Plaza Hotel Managua, responded to this review, May 19, 2014
Dear ChickCam,

Thank you for taking the time to express your thoughts and concerns. We are so glad you liked the friendliness of our staff and the breakfast selections we offer. We would like to apologize for the shortfalls you have experienced during your stay. We take our guest comments very seriously and always strive to provide comfortable and friendly accommodations. Your review will be used to consider improvements needed and we hope that you can give us a chance to show what we have done.

Sincerely,

Anthony M
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Campbellford, Canada
Level Contributor
116 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 95 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 3, 2014

I've been told this hotel has been a landmark in Managua for almost 50 years (Howard Hughes stayed here). It looks like the hotel hasn't been renovated in all that time. The lobby was clean, but my room was dirty and very dated. The carpets were absolutely filthy.
On the other hand, the service was wonderful. Everyone was friendly and helpful.
Overall, I found this hotel to be over-priced. It would not be my first choice on my next stay in Managua.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank petercam56
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Crowne Plaza Hotel Managua, responded to this review, May 19, 2014
Dear petercam56,

Thank you for taking the time to express your thoughts and concerns. We are glad you liked the service you received. We would like to apologize you were not well satisfied with the over-all condition of our hotel. It is regrettable that we fell below your expectations. Your feedback is very important to us as this continually helps us improve the facilities and guest services we offer to our guests. Thank you for staying and we hope you give us another chance to show you how great our hotel is.

Sincerely,

Anthony M
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Managua hotels
1.5 mi away
Hilton Princess Managua
Hilton Princess Managua
#2 of 51 in Managua
4.5 of 5 bubbles 628 reviews
1.3 mi away
InterContinental Real Managua at Metrocentro Mall
3.3 mi away
Barcelo Managua
Barcelo Managua
#14 of 51 in Managua
4.0 of 5 bubbles 315 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
Holiday Inn Managua - Convention Center
3.4 mi away
Hyatt Place Managua
Hyatt Place Managua
#1 of 51 in Managua
4.5 of 5 bubbles 322 reviews
6.1 mi away
Globales Camino Real
Globales Camino Real
#4 of 51 in Managua
4.0 of 5 bubbles 574 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Crowne Plaza Hotel Managua? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Crowne Plaza Hotel Managua

Property: Crowne Plaza Hotel Managua
Address: Octava Calle Sur Oeste 101, Managua, Nicaragua
Phone Number:
Location: Nicaragua > Managua Department > Managua
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Spa Hotel in Managua
#4 Luxury Hotel in Managua
#7 Business Hotel in Managua
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Crowne Plaza Hotel Managua 4*
Number of rooms: 140
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Crowne Plaza Managua is located in a entertainment and economic strategic place, in Nicaragua only 15 minutes away from the International Airport in Managua, the Hotel is very close to the City Life Center, is conveniently located close to the President Office and many embassies, you will be able to enjoy of a spectacular view, of the city, with the best facilities for your comfort, pleasure, business and conventions. The Hotel Architecture reminds us the Ancestral Mayas Pyramids.The Crowne Plaza Sleep Advantage was developed to provide our guests with a scientifically-based, holistic approach to better sleep. Hotel Crowne Plaza Managua has a luxury and nice environment. Enjoy of a splendid international food in our restaurants and for our casuals meetings and events, you will enjoy of your delight drink in our nice Bar and Lounge Concorde. The Convention Center of Hotel Crowne Plaza Managua, make an appropriate environment for your meetings congress, conventions success. Our convention center has the largest and moderns meetings lounges in Nicaragua, where you can be able to place groups from 10 to 2000 people, always assisted by our professionals, moderns audio-visuals equipment, video conference, and wireless internet band. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, IHG, Priceline, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Crowne Plaza Hotel Managua reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Crowne Plaza Managua

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing