We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Service is Terrible”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Crowne Plaza Hotel Managua
Ranked #7 of 51 Hotels in Managua
San Francisco, California, United States
Level Contributor
13 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Service is Terrible”
Reviewed January 21, 2013

While checking in we had issues with our quoted price. The "manager" lied to us about being the one on duty then would switch between english to spanish depending on what he was saying.

Mosquitos in the lobby, restaurant and bedroom. Double pane windows keep them inside very well.

The complementary breakfast is not complementary, if the staff expects a tip (goes to even mention it) when serving only coffee. The buffets are recycled and its common to have things missing from your plate when ordering off the menu.

Food wasn't the only thing missing

By the time we checked out 2 cards went missing as well as some cash.

Room Tip: Kmart designs rooms Hear water pipes in walls "lake view" is roof of lobby ants in bedr...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Dottie P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Crowne Plaza Hotel Managua, responded to this review, February 6, 2013
Dear Dottie P,

First of all, thank you very much for your recent stay at our hotel. I am so sorry to see you did not enjoy your overall experience with us. We’d like to obtain some additional detail regarding your experience so we have sent you a private message. I look forward to hearing from you and being of further assistance.

Sincerely,

Krysllin G.
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

278 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    112
    89
    58
    11
    8
See reviews for
20
38
34
153
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (35)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
1,817 reviews
251 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 919 helpful votes
Reviewed January 5, 2013 via mobile

Spent two nights here on recent trip. Picked up at airport by staff member with sign. Short ride to hotel. Check in was quick. Received room on 4th floor with view out the back. Large room with desk/chair, sofa, king bed, nice closet, and modern bathroom. Nice towels, no wash cloths.

Bed was comfortable and linens nice. Coffee maker and coffee provided daily.

Carpeting was a bit soiled-looking, but otherwise room was very nice and quiet.

Pool area very nice and clean. Nice on-site restaurants as well.

Right across the street from the Mall if you're looking for local shops, want to see a movie, or eat cheaply in the food court.

We would definitely stay here again.

Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Saranger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MGAHA, Coordinadora de Gerencia at Crowne Plaza Hotel Managua, responded to this review, February 27, 2013
Dear Saranger

Receive warm greetings on behalf Hotel Crowne Plaza Managua

It is a pleasure for us to receive the feedback from all of our clients that have stayed at a certain time at our hotel with the purpose to become a better team every day in our different areas.

It is an excellent comment form you, thank you so much for your preference and it will be always a pleasure to receive you in our hotel.

Best Regards,

Crowne Plaza Managua Staff
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
manauga
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed December 23, 2012

i have stayed at the crown plaza manauga many times. i have some family here in nicurauga so i visit once every three months for about two weeks at a time. the staff is like my family away from home. the service is great. the front desk staff speaks great english sepecally cynthia gonzales and reyna vally. The Managers and food Manager are very accomidating. it's across the street from a small mall that has many open air concerts . I have travled all arround the country and found this hotel to be one of the best. Rooms are large , the pool is great.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank im f
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed November 24, 2012

Terrible Hotel. The rooms are dirty and worn out. When ordering from Room Service, they did not have half the menu on a Saturday evening, the gym seems to have stayed in the 90s. Last time I stayed at the Intercontinental, and I regret staying in the Crowne Plaza this time!!!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Juan Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MGAHA, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Crowne Plaza Hotel Managua, responded to this review, November 27, 2012
Dear Mr Juan

Receive warm greetings on behalf Crowne Plaza Managua

It is our pleasure to receive the feedback from all of our clients that have stayed at a certain
time at our hotel with the purpose to become a better team every day in our different areas.

We are grateful for the given time to write your comments and opinions about it, at the
same time we would like to let you know that we are taking the necessary corrective
measures to turn out better according to the bullet points that you mentioned; we will be
please to count with your visit again and offer you the quality of service that you deserve

Best Regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas, United States
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed October 31, 2012

I've been traveling to Managua for over 18 years and I guarantee you that you won't be disappointed when you stay at the Crowne Plaza Inter in downtown Managua. The front desk is impeccable in their attention to details and they are so friendly I often wonder where they find their employees because they are so unusual. Even with the change of personnel from time to time the exceptional friendliness and attention to details remains. There's a gentleman by the name of Tomas Mairena who works at the front desk and he is exceptional!! Francisco, Onel and Tatiana are also outstanding and deserve the highest recognition. I'd also like to mention Alejandro who's been working in the bar for many years and he's one of a kind! I have come to know the new night manager whose name is Jorge de Cancur and I find him to be extremely good with managing people. Please stay here the next time your travel plans take you to Managua, Nicaragua. Konstantinou

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Konstantinou R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barrington, Illinois
Level Contributor
14 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed October 25, 2012

It was a pleasure to stay this property this last month. Front desk staff was pleasant and helpful. Access to the internet was superb! Coffee in the room helped get the day off to a good start. Room was clean. Service was excellent.

Room Tip: If internet service is important for you, ask the front desk person for a room with excellent servic...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Randy J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tampa, Florida
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed October 15, 2012

Travelling the world on business it is very rare when you come across a hotel property that makes you feel like you are home with your family and friends. On a recent 6 day trip to Managua, Nicaragua we had the pleasure of stay at the Crowne Plaza Hotel which was our blessing as our trip ended up being 30 days.
The first staff you meet when you arrive at the hotel extend a warm welcome to you and this warmth is carried throughout the whole hotel in all the staff you meet from the front desk through housekeeping and the various restaurants to even the outside staff working and maintaining a fine property.
A majority of the staff speak both Spanish and English and are always willing to help you with any of your needs or requests. They can help arrange day trips to the outlying cities of Granada, Masaya, Leon or even some of the volcanic parks.
If you are a food person who enjoys a wonderful buffet breakfast you won't be disappointed here when you enter the restaurant you are surrounded by a vast wonderful selection of foods for a variety of taste’s.
Enjoy this Oasis as much as we did!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Rick W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Managua hotels
1.5 mi away
Hilton Princess Managua
Hilton Princess Managua
#2 of 51 in Managua
4.5 of 5 bubbles 638 reviews
1.3 mi away
InterContinental Real Managua at Metrocentro Mall
3.3 mi away
Barcelo Managua
Barcelo Managua
#14 of 51 in Managua
4.0 of 5 bubbles 331 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
Holiday Inn Managua - Convention Center
3.4 mi away
Hyatt Place Managua
Hyatt Place Managua
#1 of 51 in Managua
4.5 of 5 bubbles 358 reviews
6.1 mi away
Globales Camino Real
Globales Camino Real
#5 of 51 in Managua
4.0 of 5 bubbles 579 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Crowne Plaza Hotel Managua? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Crowne Plaza Hotel Managua

Property: Crowne Plaza Hotel Managua
Address: Octava Calle Sur Oeste 101, Managua, Nicaragua
Phone Number:
Location: Nicaragua > Managua Department > Managua
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Spa Hotel in Managua
#4 Luxury Hotel in Managua
#7 Business Hotel in Managua
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Crowne Plaza Hotel Managua 4*
Number of rooms: 140
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Crowne Plaza Managua is located in a entertainment and economic strategic place, in Nicaragua only 15 minutes away from the International Airport in Managua, the Hotel is very close to the City Life Center, is conveniently located close to the President Office and many embassies, you will be able to enjoy of a spectacular view, of the city, with the best facilities for your comfort, pleasure, business and conventions. The Hotel Architecture reminds us the Ancestral Mayas Pyramids.The Crowne Plaza Sleep Advantage was developed to provide our guests with a scientifically-based, holistic approach to better sleep. Hotel Crowne Plaza Managua has a luxury and nice environment. Enjoy of a splendid international food in our restaurants and for our casuals meetings and events, you will enjoy of your delight drink in our nice Bar and Lounge Concorde. The Convention Center of Hotel Crowne Plaza Managua, make an appropriate environment for your meetings congress, conventions success. Our convention center has the largest and moderns meetings lounges in Nicaragua, where you can be able to place groups from 10 to 2000 people, always assisted by our professionals, moderns audio-visuals equipment, video conference, and wireless internet band. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotwire, IHG, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Crowne Plaza Hotel Managua reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Crowne Plaza Managua

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing