We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“2 minute bus ride from airport, good value”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Globales Camino Real
Ranked #4 of 50 Hotels in Managua
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed March 10, 2014

Very close to the airport, free shuttle offerd and will meet you according to your flight schedule. Really good breakfast, wide offering of fruits, fresh juices, hot and cold dishes. You can change 100 usd at good rate and welcome drinks from the lobby. Ok and big rooms, flat Tv. Rooms a bit dusty in some corners, but no big deal.

Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
Thank Nina S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (604)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

250 - 256 of 604 reviews

Reviewed March 6, 2014

Otherwise like major hotels in the area, this one is ground floor level only surrounded by gardens.
Wide corridors and spacious rooms with all facilities.
A fine open air pool in the middle with a separate shallow one for kids, both surrounded by chairs and stretchers.
A pleasant bar and a good restaurant, though getting noisy when filled with guests due reflection from the hard walls and ceiling (the acoustics being the only minor point we have on this hrestaurant).
The hotel runs a shuttle service to and from the airport and fortunately we could leave our rental car (collected at the airport) at the hotel as the rental company we used also had an office there.
Though the hotel is close to the airport there is no aviation noise.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank AbrahamPotappel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 4, 2014

We stayed here one night after arriving in Managua late in the afternoon. We were heading to Little Corn Island the next morning and this location was ideal to quickly make it to the airport. The hotel has a shuttle which can quickly whisk you back and forth in less than 5 minutes. The rooms are nice and have AC which makes sleeping very comfortable. The hotel also has a pool, casino, and restaurant. We had dinner here and all the food was tasty and well prepared. If you are looking for a place close to the airport than look no further.

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank travelingduo8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 2, 2014

Stayed at the hotel camino real on the first and last night of our vacation. It was by far the most expensive hotel of our vacation but it's convince and pool made it worth it. Beds were comfy, showers were hot. They gym was sufficiently equipped for our needs although the a/c was not turned on. The pool was clean and provided a great cool off post workout. The restaurant had a menu with options for anyone, everything we ate we enjoyed. The airport shuttles were always on time.

Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
Thank bailey F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 1, 2014

We stayed here twice during our trip to Nicaragau. This is your best choice of airport hotels and is far more luxurious than the Best Western just down the road.
Let me start by saying do NOT change your money at the airport where the rate was 20 cordobas to the US dollar.This is one big rip off. The exchange rate at this hotel is really, really good and was at 25.4 cordobas when we were there In Feb 2014.

The hotel is quite upscale and perfectly comfortable and has nice grounds. Be sure to check out the aviary with talking parrots. Breakfast buffet was excellent. The pool here is really clean and a nice place to hang out while waiting for your plane departure. We also stayed at the best western down the road and the pool was really dirty there. This is definitely your best choice close to the airport.

Room Tip: Stayed here a couple of times and all rooms were good. 100% non-smoking which is great!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Oldbackpack
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 28, 2014 via mobile

~15 Min from the Airport you will find a great place to relax. The rooms are large, the beds are just perfect, hard with a wide selection of pillows. The AirCon is easy to handle and quiet - all very clean. The best part is the service. The stuff is extremely friendly and speak well English. Happy hour I the bar, the pool area is a great place to relax after a long business trip.
I am here the fourth year in a row and will come back next year as well

  • Stayed: February 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Nufi2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 27, 2014

My husband & I and our two friends were searching for a hotel in Managua for our final night in Nica before catching an early flight back to the states the next morning. Before departing SJDS, I did some research. We knew about the Best Western that is located directly across the street from the airport that was about $100 a night, but my husband thought he had seen another hotel near the airport when we arrived. I searched and discovered that Hotel Camino Real was less than 5 minutes from the airport, and the hotel provided a free shuttle to and from. I price compared Camino with Best Western, and Best Western was slightly higher (about $5). What sold me on going with Camino Real were the pictures of the hotel. Way better than Best Western, and when we arrived to the hotel the afternoon before our departure of the country, we were truly stunned at what a beautiful hotel it was. We were also pleasantly surprised to receive 2 vouchers for complimentary drinks in the bar at happy hour.
My husband and I took advantage of the swimming pool, which was great! And we also utilized the spa (specifically the sauna). Wow! The facility was so clean and was a treat to us after our long stay in the country.
We had dinner at the restaurant, and all 4 of us Loved our meals! Comparatively to the rest of our meals on our trip, this was pricey, but it really wasn't any more expensive than a meal at a chain restaurant back home.
Our room (2 double beds) was also super clean and very comfortable. When we first got to the room, we thought there was a blown fuse or something as the bathroom light and a couple other lights didn't work. We soon discovered we had to put one of our room keys into a holder/card reader on the wall next to the door in order for the lights to work. It's some sort of energy saver or something to make sure you dont leave your room with all the lights and AC still on. Brilliant!
The only complaint I have about our stay is the following morning when I went to check out. There was no option for an in-room check out, and so there was a long line of people waiting to check out, with only one person working the front desk at 6am. We were trying to catch the 6am shuttle to the airport to make our 8am flight to Houston, but I was held up for 15 minutes waiting to check out (which only took 30 seconds once I reached the from of the line). Thankfully the shuttle driver ran us over to the airport right away when he returned from his previous trip. (As a note, the shuttle starts at 5am and runs every half hour to the airport).
So the only negative was overturned by the very helpful shuttle driver! All in all, this is a fabulous hotel, and if you like to gamble, it's right next door to Pharaohs Casino (which we didn't check out). Our next trip to Nica we'll definitely be returning to Hotel Camino Real!

Room Tip: When searching for the best deal on Kayak.com, I found that Orbitz had a good rate, but then I did a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Klgerencer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Managua hotels
6.4 mi away
Barcelo Managua
Barcelo Managua
#9 of 50 in Managua
420 reviews
5.7 mi away
Hilton Princess Managua
Hilton Princess Managua
#2 of 50 in Managua
685 reviews
5.6 mi away
Real InterContinental Managua at Metrocentro Mall
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.1 mi away
Crowne Plaza Hotel Managua
6.6 mi away
Holiday Inn Managua - Convention Center
0.9 mi away
Best Western Las Mercedes
Best Western Las Mercedes
#13 of 50 in Managua
733 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Globales Camino Real? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Globales Camino Real

Address: Km 9.5 Carretera Norte, Managua 11052, Nicaragua (Formerly Globales Camino Real)
Phone Number:
Location: Nicaragua > Managua Department > Managua
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Spa Hotel in Managua
#3 Luxury Hotel in Managua
#6 Family Hotel in Managua
#8 Romantic Hotel in Managua
#11 Business Hotel in Managua
Price Range: $106 - $135 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Globales Camino Real 4*
Number of rooms: 121
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Globales Camino Real Hotel is located only 3 minutes from the airport of Managua and very close to the Casino Pharaohs. Surrounded by the beauty of the area it creates a unique ambience that is the perfect blend of ecology and luxury comfort. The hotel has of 121 rooms of the highest standard combined the excellent service from the highly qualified and trained personnel, guaranteeing you the most pleasant stay. The Globales Camino Real Hotel also has 11 well-equipped halls with a 1,500 person maximum occupancy perfect for conferences, events and special occasions. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Hotwire, Orbitz, Cancelon, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Globales Camino Real reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Camino Real Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing