We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“Convenient for early flights, but overall overpriced” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Globales Camino Real

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Globales Camino Real
Ranked #5 of 52 Hotels in Managua
Certificate of Excellence
Waterloo, Canada
Level Contributor
98 reviews
84 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 149 helpful votes
“Convenient for early flights, but overall overpriced”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 28, 2013

We stayed here one night as we were transiting through Managua. In truth we only spent about 6 hours here (and most of it sleeping) since we arrived late and had an early morning flight. But everything we experienced was fine. That said, at $122 a night I would have expected much much nicer which is why I could only give it a 3 star.

Check-in was straightforward and our room was clean and appointed with a desk, side chair and wall unit. Room was large with two very comfy beds and a super hot shower. But for this price range of a hotel, it should have been a better room - carpeted floors, not tiles, better artwork, not dingy green walls.

That said, we really appreciated the pastry cart they put out in the morning with juice and coffee; especially as we weren't sure we'd get it since we were leaving at the ungodly hour of 4:45am. The airport shuttle was ready and waiting and whisked us promptly to the airport. So for everything we needed and wanted it was great.

We didn't search too thoroughly for hotels in Managua as we had a strong preference to avoid a late night arrival into the downtown and being by the airport saved us a little extra time in the morning. So for us it was a mixed bag. We knowingly paid a premium for its location and to be close to the airport, and we appreciated the small things like the airport shuttle and pastry cart, but at the end of the day it’s wasn’t as nice as it should and can be. So for us, one of the worst value places we stayed in Central America.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank CEMMM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ventashcr, Director Comercial at Globales Camino Real, responded to this review, December 16, 2013
Thank you for your post in Trip Advisor. We work everyday to improve our service. If you need further help please do not hesitate to contact me.
Regards,
Danfer Escobar
Sales Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

500 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    191
    232
    50
    19
    8
See reviews for
86
160
53
86
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (61)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 16, 2013

Being that this hotel is located so close to the airport and still tucked away from heavy traffic makes it the perfect location for business and personal travel. There are tennis courts, weight rooms, a massage parlor and even a casino attached to the hotel. The rooms are well kept and clean. This is not a luxury experience, but it is perfect due to the location. Be sure and try out the restaurant attached to the main lobby. You cannot go wrong with any of the steak dishes while in Nicaragua.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kris K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ventashcr, Director of Sales at Globales Camino Real, responded to this review, November 18, 2013
Kris,

Thank you for your post in Trip Advisor. We are very glad that you enjoyed our steak dish in the restaurant. Feel free to contact me for future reservations.
Regards,
Danfer Escobar
Sales Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hickory, North Carolina
Level Contributor
122 reviews
59 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 16, 2013 via mobile

We stayed here with a group 2 nights total while coming and going from Matagalpa. There is a nice restuarant, pool, spa with massage service, and casio on the property. This place is a wonderful respite from the hectic pace of Managua. The rooms are all on one level and are easily accessed from the lobby, and surround the pools and courtyard. There is a small personal safe in each room. Ice machines are convenient, but there was no ice scoop for the machine near our room (521). The water for the ice machine was filtered so I did not worry about contamination. In fact both of the hotels where we stayed this week had good water that gave me no concern for bathing, brushing teeth, or shaving. Some of the group insisted on using bottled water for brushing, which I think was unnecessary. The only complaint I have is the beds are very hard. I did not go to the casino. There is a nice bar and restuarant. Servers are very attentive and professional, as are the desk staff.

Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
Helpful?
Thank Bill M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ventashcr, Director of Sales at Globales Camino Real, responded to this review, November 18, 2013
Hello,

Thank you for your post in TripAdvisor. We are making changes in our rooms and we hope we can offer a softer mattress next time that you visit us.
Regads,
Danfer Escobar
Sales Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Golden, British Columbia, Canada
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 8, 2013

Arrived 1030pm and left at 10am so not a lot of time spent here. It achieved everything we wanted. A shuttle bus arrived after about 5 minutes of waiting at the airport, a very short drive to the hotel. The check in staff were very helpful and gave us 2 vouchers for drinks at the bar. Breakfast was a buffet, beautiful spread, shame we were not starving hungry but had an omelette freshly made for us. Good coffee and juice. Bed was a bit firm and pillows a little lumpy. Air con worked fine. Swimming pool looked very welcoming.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jo-Anne B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ventashcr, Director of Sales at Globales Camino Real, responded to this review, November 11, 2013
Camino Real Hotel and our staff appreciate your review on TripAdvisor.
We are committed to a continuous improvement and your contribution is appreciated and welcome.
If you need to expand your comment or help for a future booking please contact us.

Danfer Escobar
Sales Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Valdosta, GA
Level Contributor
103 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2013

I love the Camino Real. I have stayed there twice for days at a time. Great food, great service and nice accommodations. The breakfast buffet is over the top! Be sure to make room for breakfast! The rooms are a bit dated and there's a quite battle for the air conditioner with the staff. They don't like it when you leave the AC on while you are not in the room. This is why they do not receive the Excellent rating from me. Stay there ... you will love it!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Robust54
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bradenton, Florida
Level Contributor
446 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 177 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 19, 2013

After a not-so-good experience in a resort we stayed in Camino Real before boarding a flight for home. The room was great, no complaints. The dining room experience was very good in the evening . What blew us away was the breakfast buffet in the morning. One of the best we have experienced....and we have been to many! Thank you Camino Real to send us away from Nicaragua with a great experience

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank pablocollier
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ventashcr, Director Comercial at Globales Camino Real, responded to this review, January 14, 2014
We're glad you had a good stay with us while you were in Nicaragua.
If you need help booking in the future do not hesitate to contact us.
Regards,

Danfer Escobar
Sales Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Mexico
Level Contributor
90 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2013 via mobile

All the Camino Real is missing is an Elvis Impersonator! The hotel style screams 1980's Las Vegas style. That said it is clean, comfortable, and fits the bill. The AC works great, the water runs hot, and the service is pleasant. There is a casino, pool, spa, tennis court, and restaurant on-site. It is a great stop on your way to or from Granada or San Juan del Sur. They offer free shuttles to and from the airport. The food in the restaurant is fair at best and expensive. A meal for two ran $50!

  • Stayed October 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank AbqErica
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Managua hotels
0.9 mi away
BEST WESTERN Las Mercedes
BEST WESTERN Las Mercedes
#15 of 52 in Managua
3.5 of 5 stars 610 reviews
5.7 mi away
Hilton Princess Managua
Hilton Princess Managua
#1 of 52 in Managua
4.5 of 5 stars 513 reviews
5.6 mi away
InterContinental Real Managua at Metrocentro Mall
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.9 mi away
Holiday Inn Managua - Convention Center
0.0 mi away
Hotel La Pyramide
Hotel La Pyramide
#3 of 52 in Managua
5.0 of 5 stars 333 reviews
14.1 mi away
Barcelo Managua
Barcelo Managua
#13 of 52 in Managua
4.0 of 5 stars 279 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Globales Camino Real? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Globales Camino Real

Property: Globales Camino Real
Address: Km 9.5 Carretera Norte, Managua 11052, Nicaragua (Formerly Globales Camino Real)
Location: Nicaragua > Managua Department > Managua
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Spa Hotel in Managua
#3 Luxury Hotel in Managua
#7 Family Hotel in Managua
#9 Romantic Hotel in Managua
#12 Business Hotel in Managua
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Globales Camino Real 4*
Number of rooms: 117
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Globales Camino Real Hotel is located only 3 minutes from the airport of Managua and very close to the Casino Pharaohs. Surrounded by the beauty of the area it creates a unique ambience that is the perfect blend of ecology and luxury comfort. The hotel has of 117 rooms of the highest standard combined the excellent service from the highly qualified and trained personnel, guaranteeing you the most pleasant stay. The Globales Camino Real Hotel also has 11 well-equipped halls with a 1,500 person maximum occupancy perfect for conferences, events and special occasions. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, Orbitz, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Globales Camino Real reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Camino Real Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing