We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“I always stay here”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Globales Camino Real
Ranked #4 of 50 Hotels in Managua
Certificate of Excellence
St Andrews
Level 6 Contributor
155 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
“I always stay here”
Reviewed February 26, 2013

When arriving or leaving from managua I always stay in the Camino Real. It is very handy to the airport. Always a warm welcome. The rooms are great and the pool is fantasticc. Breakfast is first class and if you want to have lunch or dinner the food is good.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nick946
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

591 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    234
    271
    54
    22
    10
See reviews for
103
189
61
106
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (75)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
NY
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed February 25, 2013

Property and rooms are really great. The pool area is beautiful and exceeded expectations for an "airport hotel." The rooms are well done, staff is helpful (bag storage is free for example) and airport shuttle when we took it left right on time.

While the atmosphere of sitting poolside is quite nice, the food is nothing to write home about--pretty average and considering the price vs. local restaurants not a great value. There's nothing wrong or bad about it, it's just nothing special.

All in all, a great place to spend a day when coming into or out out the airport or if looking for a place to relax for a couple of days.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank IHateDaysInn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bethlehem
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed February 24, 2013

Let's get this out of the way: As a contrarian, I was predisposed to discount the other comments critical of the food. Well, sadly I must concur, which is unfortunate given that this really is a luxe property hitting all the stops for a bargain-basement price of around $100.
Over several years, I stayed nearby at the Best Western. At roughly the same price, no comparison to the Stalinesque passageways reminiscent of the 1950s.And the Camino Real provided a drinks coupon at check-in -- that counts as an equalizer.
The rooms are very handsome, as one would expect from a Camino Real property.
I will return, and order a salad.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DanielBethlehem
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed February 23, 2013

I traveled through Managua, Nicaragua on my way through to Chinandega, Nicaragua. Was in Chinandega for four days and thern returned to Managua and stayed at the Hotel Camino Real. The hotel has a large resort feel with a one-on-one feeling of service. Almost-- but you need to take the hotel shuttle-- walking distance to the airport. The hotel's pool was where the action was at. Gorgeous pool and great drink service. Lots of college-age girls from up north and Canada basically thawing out. Rooms were very, very nice and comfortable although my air conditioning wasn't what I'd call cold. The food was fantastic. I drank the tap water and ate salads, vegetables, fruit, etc and had not a single problem. Another note, the bathroom soaps, etc were the really high quality kind-- the kind you don't leave when you depart.

Room Tip: My room was near the very back of the hotel so I had no WiFi in my room (didn't reach far enough...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank walton4605
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guatemala City, Guatemala
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed February 21, 2013 via mobile

This hotel is making a better job now, in the past I stayed here and the experience was bad. But now I was happy to stay. My favorite thing there is the breakfast buffet; here you can enjoy local food and a lot of variety.
If you go to the lobby bar and not on the diet try the nachos, those were fantastic

  • Stayed February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JC8210
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rivas, Nicaragua
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed February 21, 2013

The hotel and rooms and decor are older, but the rooms are very clean. The breakfast was awesome very filling and generous. It was nice and quiet when it came to sleep. The pool is large. The service is slow, for example it takes about 30-45 to receive your complimentary welcome beer at the poolside. Otherwise the staff themselves are very friendly and nice.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank corey l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Oregon
Level 6 Contributor
129 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
Reviewed February 20, 2013

We stayed two times at Hotel Camino Real, once as we were preparing to fly to the Corn Islands and once when we returned. This is an excellent hotel --- great swimming pool, large rooms which are very clean and very well appointed, good bar and restaurant, an unbelievable buffet breakfast, a business center --- the list goes on and on. Best of all, if you have a reservation at Casa Iguana on Little Corn Island, you can contact Camino Real for a special rate, much lower than the lowest published rate. When you fly back from the Corn Islands, you may be wet and salty from the boat from Little Corn, usually you're hot and sticky and hungry. The Camino Real shuttle picks you up at the airport, quick trip to the hotel, check-in is fast and efficient, you're in the pool in 20 minutes! Negatives? Well, the bar service could be quicker, but most people feel that way anywhere around 6:00 p.m. Otherwise, I think it's great, and the price is greater. As a Managua hotel, I'll never look further.

Room Tip: The king rooms are great. And definitely pay the $ 5.00 each for the breakfast --- you won't be...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DaveWells
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Managua hotels
5.7 mi away
Hilton Princess Managua
Hilton Princess Managua
#2 of 50 in Managua
658 reviews
0.9 mi away
Best Western Las Mercedes
Best Western Las Mercedes
#13 of 50 in Managua
704 reviews
5.6 mi away
Real InterContinental Managua at Metrocentro Mall
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.4 mi away
Barcelo Managua
Barcelo Managua
#14 of 50 in Managua
362 reviews
6.6 mi away
Holiday Inn Managua - Convention Center
6.1 mi away
Hotel La Pyramide
Hotel La Pyramide
#5 of 50 in Managua
359 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Globales Camino Real? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Globales Camino Real

Property: Globales Camino Real
Address: Km 9.5 Carretera Norte, Managua 11052, Nicaragua (Formerly Globales Camino Real)
Location: Nicaragua > Managua Department > Managua
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Spa Hotel in Managua
#3 Luxury Hotel in Managua
#6 Family Hotel in Managua
#8 Romantic Hotel in Managua
#11 Business Hotel in Managua
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Globales Camino Real 4*
Number of rooms: 121
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Globales Camino Real Hotel is located only 3 minutes from the airport of Managua and very close to the Casino Pharaohs. Surrounded by the beauty of the area it creates a unique ambience that is the perfect blend of ecology and luxury comfort. The hotel has of 121 rooms of the highest standard combined the excellent service from the highly qualified and trained personnel, guaranteeing you the most pleasant stay. The Globales Camino Real Hotel also has 11 well-equipped halls with a 1,500 person maximum occupancy perfect for conferences, events and special occasions. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, Orbitz, HostelWorld, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Globales Camino Real reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Camino Real Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing