We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Managua Airport Location” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Globales Camino Real

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Globales Camino Real
Ranked #4 of 51 Hotels in Managua
Certificate of Excellence
Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Managua Airport Location”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 29, 2012

Spent 10 days driving Nicaragua. Camino Real was reserved for last night prior to departure. It is located towards the direction of Managua, approx. 1 mile from airport, rather than the direction of the junction to Tipitapa. It has a LARGE white sign along the highway, which we missed and drove right past, as we came from the direction of Managua city. The eyes go to “PHAROAH’S CASINO”, a rather opulent building, which sits directly in front of Camino Real and shares highway access. Incidentally, we passed the airport went into an unlined traffic circle (only vehicle in the circle), and were then the target of a “police shakedown” for money, as to being to one side or the other of the lane, to proceed through the circle. The shakedown was doing a rather hefty business. DO NOT MISS THE CAMINO REAL TURNOUT.

Camino Real had the cleanest rooms, we encountered during our Nica visit. Room had a “strongbox”, but no mini frig. There were ice machines which were appreciated. Beds were clean, firm, and comfortable. An additional pillow would have added an element of luxury. I killed 1 cucaracha, big and fast, in a “commons area”, but this was our first Nica room / house without the requisite spiders, ants, cucarachas, etc. (Remember this is Nicaragua.) And, it was actually clean under the bed!

Pool was a nice feature and even had a “deep end”. There was a separate children’s pool. We were the only guests using the pool. Room towel use was expected.

Lighting after dark was very dark. When we departed room at 4:30 AM to go to lobby for airport transport, it was actually a little spooky. They pulled coffee and fresh juice, out on a cart, along with pastries, as breakfast was not yet open. This was appreciated. Van driver was helpful with luggage and courteous.

They have “happy hour” nightly, 7-9 PM, with 2 for 1 drink purchases. There was even live music. Due to early flight, we went to bed at this time!
The grounds and gardens were noteworthy for their attractiveness. Comfortable chairs were available at the pool area and under roof, in open air.

Parking at Camino Real was in a gated area with an attendant. This is an asset for guests with vehicles, and we used their lot temporarily, while checking in, and getting prepared to return our rental vehicle to the airport. Incidentally, we had an attempted vehicle theft / break in, within 1 hour of our arrival in Nicaragua. DO NOT leave your vehicle unattended. We were in a supermarket lot (Super Pali / Masaya), which had multiple security personnel, present and visible. This was an expensive lesson and overshadowed our entire Nicaragua visit.
Incidentally, we inquired at the desk, before returning our rental vehicle, as to whether we could get airport pickup to return us to Camino Real. Desk staff could not relate to our request and oriented towards service from the Hotel. We walked the highway in order to return to Camino Real. We noted no “phone bank”, in the airport, for hotel contacts.

Also, tap water in hotel was drinkable. Bottle in room for “$1.00” should have been complimentary, if it is going to be placed there. Restaurant food was good, not “cheap”, but not overly “pricey” either. Sandwiches and entrees $7.00 and up, which could go up to approx. $20.00. They apparently have a breakfast and lunch buffet. We were not present during those times and ordered from the menu.

All in all, from our experience, Camino Real was good hotel to use for airport arrivals / departures, and for possible Managua day excursions, if that is what you wish to do.

Room Tip: Enjoy the grounds. Rooms are pretty much for sleeping or desk work.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank PaTraveler19
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MATIAS M, Community Manager at Globales Camino Real, responded to this review, September 20, 2012
Dear Guest,

Many thanks for your kind comments and positive feedback on TripAdvisor. We're happy to hear you enjoyed your recent stay with us and that our services and facilities met with your expectations.

We hope to welcome you back sometime in the near future and thank you for your preference.

Kind regards,
Matías Melo.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

566 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    222
    262
    51
    22
    9
See reviews for
100
185
56
95
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (72)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Los Angeles, California
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 19, 2012

I arrived on December 24th, 2011. This hotel is awesome. It' clean, rooms are big, bathroom are big and clean. The staff are very friendly. The only bad things is that they don't have a 24 hour cafeteria or restaurant. But I had an amazing time. The pool is beautiful. Free Wi-Fi. I was here for 3 days and my waitress aleady knew what I wanted. I forgot her name. Tennis court, Spa and lobby are great. Near to the Airport and to Downtown Managua. It's also only $60 a day. But, you have to buy your breakfast, lunch and dinner. But overall I would come back to this hotel and would recommended it. The language wasn't a problem for me since I speak Spanish and English. I have family in Managua but I needed a few days for myself.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ChrisEfren
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MATIAS M, Community Manager at Globales Camino Real, responded to this review, August 3, 2012
Dear guest:

Thank you very much for your kind words about our products, services and facilities. About the items that you are not agree, we will take note of them because all the points are always checked by our staff to achieve the satisfaction of our guests.

We hope to see you again in any of the hotels of the "Globales family".

Kind regards,

Matías Melo,

Commercial department.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aubrey, Texas, United States
Level Contributor
16 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 14, 2012

We stayed at this hotel just a couple of days ago. We came in on a 12:30am flight so the hotel was practically dark when we got there. We checked in fine and found our rooms to be very clean, good ac units, hot water for showers. The breakfast buffet was also VERY tasty. Everyone, guests and workers were very nice. Only the front desk speaks English by the way, so you need to know some Spanish.

They have 2 pools one is normal and the other is for small kids. They also have two rental car agencies there. Hertz and one other one.

Only downer was that it was really dark when we came. I mean the hallways to the rooms were so dark you couldn't even read the door numbers. My husband was with me but this might have scared me if he hadn't have been there.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MelissaCalvertHayes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Washington
Level Contributor
46 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 29, 2012

Lots of natural greenery everywhere. Almost everything is on one level. I was told that although it appears relatively new it has actually been around for a number of years. It seems that all aspects of the hotel are of a relatively high standard except that they charge about $ 3/hour for the internet and the WiFi is quite slow. Also the electricity went off several times during my two day stay. I know some Spanish but was surprised that some of the staff do no not speak any English especially when I was in the main entrance seeking some information as to shuttle times to the airport. The one hour massage (at the spa) was only $ 30.00 and well done but the masseur again did not speak English. The shuttle driver knew very little English. Your stay here will be enhanced depending on your knowledge of Spanish.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank eztourist
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Jose, California
Level Contributor
31 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 8, 2012

My travel companion and I stayed one night before returning home. We flew the early La Costena flight from Big Corn Island and were pleased that the shuttle driver from Camino Real was waiting for us when we arrived. In three minutes we were at the hotel. I reserved a room for us with two queen beds. The room was not that large, but had everything we needed for the night. We were very happy that our room was available hours before check-in time.

We enjoyed an early lunch in their restaurant “Casablanca” before deciding what we wanted to do for the remainder of our day. We spoke with Juan at the front desk and he summoned Leonardo, a taxi driver for Camino Real to take us to the Mercado Roberto Huembes to shop for souvenirs. Within minutes we were on our way to the market. We told him to pick us back up in 2 hours. We were all "shopped out" in an hour and decided we would find a place to sit and have a beverage. We then noticed that Leonardo was still at the market. I guess he decided to just wait for us. Parking is wild at the market. I guess he figured keeping his parking space was more important. It cost us $20 round trip.

After shopping, we decided to relax at the pool. There was no one there when we arrived in mid-afternoon. There also weren't any pool towels. When we asked, we were told to use our room towels. It took us some time to get a couple of dry replacement towels to use in the shower as we prepared for the evening. I guess that would be my only complaint about the property.

We decided to eat dinner at the bar while taking advantage of their two for one happy hour beginning at 7:00pm. The food was very good and reasonably priced.

The next morning, we enjoyed the breakfast buffet. The food selection was enormous. There was a large selection of fresh fruit, juices, meats, eggs made to order, and bread and pastry selections. Breakfast was not included with our room and cost $12.50 tax inclusive per person. It was well worth it and filled us up until we had dinner in Miami.

The free shuttle to the airport left on the hour. We took the 10:00am shuttle to arrive in plenty of time to catch our American Airlines 12:30pm flight to Miami. Arriving early, we beat the crowds at check-in and security, leaving us time to shop Duty Free and relax before our long journey home.

I would not hesitate to stay at Camino Real next visit to Managua.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank LadyGBD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leesburg, Virginia
Level Contributor
42 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 1, 2012

I stayed here with a large group for one night before catching our flight home the next day, as we had spent the rest of our trip in Leon. The room and common areas were very clean. We had a double-room which was a decent size, and the bathroom was up-to-date with a large shower. The air-conditioner did a decent job to cool off the room. The pool was very nice; plenty of chairs and tables around the pool, and also kept clean. Though our room was near the pool, there were not any noise concerns. The continental breakfast in the morning was very diverse, with omelets made to order, cereals, meats/cheese, and other warm foods. They had a shuttle service to take you to the airport, which is very close by. The free wi-fi was also appreciated, though was only in the common areas. We did not go in the Casino or use the spa services, so I cannot speak to that. Overall a good value near the airport.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank rxbecca22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dayton, Ohio
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 29, 2012

We ended up staying at this hotel after our flight from Managua to Miami was canceled. It was a very clean place. The rooms were average, but the pool was phenomenal. We spent a little bit of time in the Casino attached, it was quite interesting (but fun)!!!

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ASMills10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Managua hotels
0.9 mi away
BEST WESTERN Las Mercedes
BEST WESTERN Las Mercedes
#11 of 51 in Managua
3.5 of 5 bubbles 674 reviews
5.6 mi away
InterContinental Real Managua at Metrocentro Mall
6.7 mi away
Barcelo Managua
Barcelo Managua
#14 of 51 in Managua
4.0 of 5 bubbles 308 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.7 mi away
Hilton Princess Managua
Hilton Princess Managua
#2 of 51 in Managua
4.5 of 5 bubbles 613 reviews
5.4 mi away
Hyatt Place Managua
Hyatt Place Managua
#1 of 51 in Managua
4.5 of 5 bubbles 285 reviews
5.9 mi away
Holiday Inn Managua - Convention Center
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Globales Camino Real? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Globales Camino Real

Property: Globales Camino Real
Address: Km 9.5 Carretera Norte, Managua 11052, Nicaragua (Formerly Globales Camino Real)
Location: Nicaragua > Managua Department > Managua
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Spa Hotel in Managua
#3 Luxury Hotel in Managua
#6 Family Hotel in Managua
#8 Romantic Hotel in Managua
#11 Business Hotel in Managua
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Globales Camino Real 4*
Number of rooms: 117
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Globales Camino Real Hotel is located only 3 minutes from the airport of Managua and very close to the Casino Pharaohs. Surrounded by the beauty of the area it creates a unique ambience that is the perfect blend of ecology and luxury comfort. The hotel has of 117 rooms of the highest standard combined the excellent service from the highly qualified and trained personnel, guaranteeing you the most pleasant stay. The Globales Camino Real Hotel also has 11 well-equipped halls with a 1,500 person maximum occupancy perfect for conferences, events and special occasions. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, HostelWorld and Priceline so you can book your Globales Camino Real reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Camino Real Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing