We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“best pre or post flight rest stop”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Globales Camino Real
Ranked #4 of 50 Hotels in Managua
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed March 28, 2012

we have stayed at camino real several times now, it is very close to the airport, they have excellent shuttle service, driver there waiting for us before we had even picked up our luggage. the hotel rooms are clean and very nice, and the pool is a delight. the breakfast buffet is excellent, be sure to get it included with your room, unless you are leaving at five or six a.m. for an early flight, then they have coffee and pastry in the lobby for your enjoyment before you leave. try and get a referral from another hotel and it will reduce your price somewhat, it is well worth the price and far superior to the other airport hotel.

Room Tip: all rooms are good, but they have handicapped rooms, also it is large and sprawling so if you want c...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank judy k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (602)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

392 - 398 of 603 reviews

Reviewed March 21, 2012

We stayed here our last night in Nicaragua and had an early 6am flight the next day. We are pretty middle of the road travelers --we don't do hippie hostels but we don't stay in resorts either-- and we wanted to be close to the airport so we thought we'd splurge on this place for our last night. It was not worth it! The rooms are nice and clean, but we stayed in much much nicer places in Nicaragua for 1/3 of the price! The service was disappointing. Our room wasn't ready when we got there, they told us 20 minutes and we waited for an hour! They could have at least just showed us the room so we could leave our stuff and enjoy the pool while we waited. The restaurant was awful! Again for the price we paid, the food was really poor, edible at best. And since we choose to be close to the airport, there was no where else to get food.

Also, they advertise a free shuttle but the first one wasn't early enough for our flight. We aren't picky travelers but this place was a huge disappointment. We would have been better off finding a nicer place in town for cheaper and waking up a little earlier.

  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank GreenChili_Gone_Wild
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 20, 2012

We were pleasantly surprised with this hotel. It is older but the staff seems to take care to keep it clean and comfortable. The restaurant is very good...especially breakfast. Ordering from the menu takes longer than it does in the US but I think that's because they make things from scratch. We had 2 rooms with 5 people and we never ran out of hot water in the shower. While u can't drink the water from the room faucet it is safe to eat fruits/veg from the restaurant. You can also drink the water and ice as it has been purified. Don't want to forget to mention $30 massage! Not a luxury experience but very good massage nonetheless. Overall, extremely pleased.

  • Stayed: March 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Abrown64
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 16, 2012

Hotel Camino Real is just 2 minutes from the international airport and has a free shuttle that even starts at 5 AM. Its rates are reasonable, the rooms clean and of good quality. If you are staying late in the AM (i.e. until 8 or 9) get the breakfast included rate. Their lunch and dinner offering on the other hand are to so good and limited bu sort of OK. We have stayed there (and will continue to do so) about six times.

When arriving in Managua and driving yourself somewhere it is probably a good idea to stay overnight if you get in the the evening. The early AA flights through Miami get you there about midday. It is a challenge to find your way even in the day and at night critters (oxen etc) and random (sometimes staggering) pedestrians are hard to miss at night.

  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Carl C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 12, 2012

I stayed at the Camino Real one night. The hotel is one story and the open hallways lead from the pool area. Noisy neighbours in the hall could be clearly heard in the rooms, but otherwise the room was fine, although furniture, plumbing etc. is dated.

WiFi works in the rooms and I did notice a business centre. A small bar and restaurant were located off the lobby. A local beer (Victoria) was only $USD2.50. I used the restaurant only for breakfast and found the included menu (for my $98 room rate) was excellent with prepared eggs, crepes etc.

There is a casino attached but I did not venture in.

Room Tip: Far from the pool area.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ScoutW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 7, 2012

Attentive staff, well dressed and friendly, room was a little dated but clean and comfortable. Awesome pool area, great landscaping, good food from restaurant. We enjoyed a personal tour around town via the hotels personal transporation service (taxi), he was very accomodating and made sure that we saw all parts of Managua and that we got pictures of the round about statues. He was very patient during a crazy Friday night rush hour traffic. Nice and close to the airport, 5 minute shuttle ride.

  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank David S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 7, 2012

Clean, air-conditioned, surprisingly quiet...and free shuttle at 5am to take us in our 3 minute drive to the airport.

Part of what made Camino Real a great destination for us was it's size. I am not usually a fan of big hotels, but the grounds gave my kids something to do. We explored the conference rooms, found the giant parrot cage, the mango trees, the deer habitat and the playground. And then, we were in the pool. While not all of these attractions were fantastic, they did give my kids lots to do and explore.

The prices for our meals were definitely the highest I saw anywhere in Nicaragua -- $1US for a small water bottle, $3.5 for a large. Chicken sandwich (no salad, no beans, etc) was $9. Again, from the US, chicken sandwich at a restaurant for $9 is a deal. In Nicaragua, any other location would be $3-5....and would come with sides.

The staff was a bit cool. Helpful when asked -- but always answering questions while giving off an air of "I'm being patient with you, and have many other important things to do"

  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BytownMom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Managua hotels
5.7 mi away
Hilton Princess Managua
Hilton Princess Managua
#2 of 50 in Managua
682 reviews
6.4 mi away
Barcelo Managua
Barcelo Managua
#9 of 50 in Managua
416 reviews
5.6 mi away
Real InterContinental Managua at Metrocentro Mall
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.6 mi away
Holiday Inn Managua - Convention Center
6.1 mi away
Crowne Plaza Hotel Managua
0.9 mi away
Best Western Las Mercedes
Best Western Las Mercedes
#13 of 50 in Managua
730 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Globales Camino Real? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Globales Camino Real

Address: Km 9.5 Carretera Norte, Managua 11052, Nicaragua (Formerly Globales Camino Real)
Phone Number:
Location: Nicaragua > Managua Department > Managua
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Spa Hotel in Managua
#3 Luxury Hotel in Managua
#6 Family Hotel in Managua
#8 Romantic Hotel in Managua
#11 Business Hotel in Managua
Price Range: $107 - $135 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Globales Camino Real 4*
Number of rooms: 121
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Globales Camino Real Hotel is located only 3 minutes from the airport of Managua and very close to the Casino Pharaohs. Surrounded by the beauty of the area it creates a unique ambience that is the perfect blend of ecology and luxury comfort. The hotel has of 121 rooms of the highest standard combined the excellent service from the highly qualified and trained personnel, guaranteeing you the most pleasant stay. The Globales Camino Real Hotel also has 11 well-equipped halls with a 1,500 person maximum occupancy perfect for conferences, events and special occasions. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cancelon, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Globales Camino Real reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Camino Real Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing