We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great spot to stop for a night before an early flight home”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Globales Camino Real
Ranked #4 of 50 Hotels in Managua
Certificate of Excellence
Seattle, WA
Level 4 Contributor
23 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Great spot to stop for a night before an early flight home”
Reviewed March 7, 2012

Clean, air-conditioned, surprisingly quiet...and free shuttle at 5am to take us in our 3 minute drive to the airport.

Part of what made Camino Real a great destination for us was it's size. I am not usually a fan of big hotels, but the grounds gave my kids something to do. We explored the conference rooms, found the giant parrot cage, the mango trees, the deer habitat and the playground. And then, we were in the pool. While not all of these attractions were fantastic, they did give my kids lots to do and explore.

The prices for our meals were definitely the highest I saw anywhere in Nicaragua -- $1US for a small water bottle, $3.5 for a large. Chicken sandwich (no salad, no beans, etc) was $9. Again, from the US, chicken sandwich at a restaurant for $9 is a deal. In Nicaragua, any other location would be $3-5....and would come with sides.

The staff was a bit cool. Helpful when asked -- but always answering questions while giving off an air of "I'm being patient with you, and have many other important things to do"

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BytownMom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

593 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    235
    272
    54
    22
    10
See reviews for
104
189
61
107
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (75)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Colona, Illinois
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed March 5, 2012

Nice, clean place with helpful friendly staff. Great place to stay to start off or finish a trip in Nicaragua as the airport is just minutes away.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Eric B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ahsahka, Idaho
Level 5 Contributor
15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed March 4, 2012

This was a great place to stay near the airport. We stayed two nights a night each way arriving and leaving Managua. Don't try walking for the airport as it is a ways away, they do have a shuttle service. Very nice grounds, good meals, friendly, helpful staff.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank idahoraghorn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Kingstown, Rhode Island
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed February 27, 2012

My 14 year old son and I stayed here on our first and last nights in Nicaragua. It is very convenient to the airport with free shuttles running every half hour. Don't be fooled and get a taxi when you arrive if the shuttle isn't there to pick you up. Just wait a few minutes and it will arrive. The hotel is clean and the rooms are adequate. There is only wifi in the lobby area which is about a 20x20 space. If you venture too far from there you're out of luck. Everyone was very friendly and helpful. There is a restaurant on site. The food is just okay but the pool area is decent.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank scluff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Platte, Nebraska
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed February 17, 2012

My wife and I spent the first two nights and the last night of our two-week trip to Nicaragua at the Camino Real. We are so glad we did! After a long flight, it was so nice to have a free ten- minute shuttle ride waiting for us as we came out of the arrivals door. The hotel grounds are enclosed in a warm, beautiful and private tropical setting. Although close to the airport, aircraft noises were distant and few and far between. All of the hotel staff were very friendly and accommodating. The rooms were clean, with modern bathroom facilities. The restaurant's food was excellent and we enjoyed lounging around the pool in the early evenings. There was a wedding celebration on the go when we checked-in for our last night. The awesome reception staff went out of their way to make sure our room was far enough away from the action to provide us with a much needed good-night's sleep.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Michael S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boulder, Colorado
Level 6 Contributor
191 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 103 helpful votes
Reviewed February 16, 2012

We stayed at this hotel because we had an early morning flight so thought it would be easier than leaving Granada at 4:00 in the morning.

It is about 5 minutes to the airport and early in the morning the shuttle leaves every 1/2 hour. The shuttle was right on time and check out was very quick.

The hotel is comfortable and quiet with huge grounds. The rooms are in one-story blocks so there is little noise from neighboring rooms.

The rooms a little small but fine and the finishings are dated. Still it is a comfortable place to stay on your way in our out of Nicaragua. Next trip we would stay there our arrival night also rather than traveling to Granada or San Juan del Sur in the dark.

The service is superb.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TripAffine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edmond, Oklahoma
Level 4 Contributor
37 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed February 11, 2012

Close to the airport to catch wary flight back to the states. Nice clean room it appears to have been remodeled the last time I stay. Bedding is new, flat screen TV, lamps etc. Free Wi-fi is a plus

  • Stayed February 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mfeigel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Managua hotels
5.7 mi away
Hilton Princess Managua
Hilton Princess Managua
#2 of 50 in Managua
663 reviews
0.9 mi away
Best Western Las Mercedes
Best Western Las Mercedes
#12 of 50 in Managua
710 reviews
6.4 mi away
Barcelo Managua
Barcelo Managua
#13 of 50 in Managua
375 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.6 mi away
Real InterContinental Managua at Metrocentro Mall
6.6 mi away
Holiday Inn Managua - Convention Center
5.4 mi away
Hyatt Place Managua
Hyatt Place Managua
#1 of 50 in Managua
433 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Globales Camino Real? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Globales Camino Real

Property: Globales Camino Real
Address: Km 9.5 Carretera Norte, Managua 11052, Nicaragua (Formerly Globales Camino Real)
Location: Nicaragua > Managua Department > Managua
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Spa Hotel in Managua
#3 Luxury Hotel in Managua
#6 Family Hotel in Managua
#8 Romantic Hotel in Managua
#11 Business Hotel in Managua
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Globales Camino Real 4*
Number of rooms: 121
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Globales Camino Real Hotel is located only 3 minutes from the airport of Managua and very close to the Casino Pharaohs. Surrounded by the beauty of the area it creates a unique ambience that is the perfect blend of ecology and luxury comfort. The hotel has of 121 rooms of the highest standard combined the excellent service from the highly qualified and trained personnel, guaranteeing you the most pleasant stay. The Globales Camino Real Hotel also has 11 well-equipped halls with a 1,500 person maximum occupancy perfect for conferences, events and special occasions. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, HostelWorld, Orbitz, Priceline, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Hotwire, Agoda and HotelQuickly so you can book your Globales Camino Real reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Camino Real Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing