We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good airport option”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Globales Camino Real
Ranked #4 of 50 Hotels in Managua
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed January 5, 2012

We stayed two nights here: one after our late-night flight to Managua and one before our flight home. We found it to be a convenient, comfortable stay that suited our needs.

The hotel runs a free shuttle to the airport, which is just a few kilometres away. There's a fair-sized pool to help you cool down after a long day of travel, and a casino next door.

The staff were particularly helpful on arrival, after the airline lost one of our bags. The shuttle driver waited several minutes for us (thanks!) while we filled a claim ticket.

Both of the rooms we stayed in were spacious, clean and of a good size. There wasn't an over-abundance of character to the facilities - but then we were staying here mostly for the location, which is excellent.

  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank ldh_jcs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (596)
There are newer reviews for Globales Camino Real
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

404 - 410 of 596 reviews

Reviewed November 26, 2011

Not a bad place to stay and conveniently located about 4 minute shuttle to the airport. Appears to have a nice pool and outdoor gardens (with deer enclosed in a fenced in section). If you arrive MGA late in the evening, this is a good, decent place to rest before leaving early the next day.

Room Tip: "Free" shuttle service to and from airport included in price.
  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Tomthetraveler99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 25, 2011

This large hotel is modern, complete with free wifi in the lobby, great showers with great water pressure, room service (they have no extra charges for room service versus going to their restaurant, though the restaurant has a few more things on their menu), very comfortable beds, beautiful green spaces and a pool. There are smoking and non-smoking rooms. They also have a free airport shuttle service, though I think you have to arrange for it ahead of time. Location-wise, it's not close to anything else besides the airport unless you count the large casino next door. We paid 90USD/night for a room with a king sized bed with breakfast-- which is awesome!! So many options in their buffet! We met two private pilots from Costa Rica who also considered their breakfasts one of their perks. Breakfast starts at 6am so we missed it the second morning (we had to be at the airport by 5am), but they had a table with pastries, coffee and juices available. The main bad thing is that everyone besides the doormen and bellboys seemed to have a huge chip on their shoulders-- very patronizing, always acting like you were wasting their time even though the topic of discussion is something as necessary as paying the bill!

I will say though, that the amenities and proximity to the airport was close enough so we did end up staying here after we got back from Little Corn. It was a great place to get cleaned up and relax before hopping on our 12-hr transit back home.

Room Tip: be sure to specify smoking or non-smoking
  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank leisurelif3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 7, 2011

This is a very well-appointed hotel, with a casino. It is close to the airport and has a good shuttle service. Rooms seem spacious and have a large number of amenities. Food in the restaurant is of good quality and there is a separate, quiet bar area. The breakfast buffet is good and offers a good range of choice. There is free wifi in some public areas and in the bedrooms. Staff are helpful and friendly.

  • Stayed: November 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Peterj45
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 3, 2011

Even though we stayed for one night so we could catch our flight, I could see the value of this location. They are 5 minutes from the airport, offer FREE airport shuttle service on the 1/2 hour, offer FREE wireless in the lobby, bar and restaurant. The first floor is very open and you had the feeling of being in a large "Central American" home. The staff were very friendly and we even got a free drink on the house at check-in. Our dinner was good (not great, but good) and the food service was excellent.

The rooms where of average size to maybe a little small from an "American" view point, but really who cares. We were there to get some sleep and then hop on a plane. The room was clean and quiet, which is what is important.

I plan on staying there the next time the need arises.

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Luv2Travel_696969
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 27, 2011

Our check-in was smooth and without issue with our pre-paid reservation. Complimentary drinks at the bar were given with our room key. The premises were not elaborate but nice and well maintained. The staff was efficient, professional, and friendly. The room was nice with comfortable beds and quiet, efficient AC. The bath was also spotless. The pool is central to the project and quickly accessible. We enjoyed a private swim during our rainy season stay, and it was a perfect respite from the heat and humidity. We enjoyed the best mojitos of our lives in the bar and chose to order dinner from the menu there. The meals were unusually inexpensive for a hotel of this quality, and two more mojitos were offered 2 for 1 during an extended Happy Hour. Both entrees were well prepared and more than filling. The wait staff was attentive and friendly. We had a very early flight home the next AM, and check-out was a breeze. The shuttle (free) waited for us to load up on coffee, juice and a sweet bread and then took us the few minute drive to the airport. I can't imagine a better way to make either an early morning flight and arrive too late to continue further at the start of a vacation. You won't regret anything about a stay at this hotel.

  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank spyder3010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 27, 2011

I visit Nicaragua regularly and usually stay in this hotel because it is handy for the airport . There is a good shuttle bus service to the airport. The hotel is clean and service is good. I like the food in the dining room and there is an excellent pool . After probably a dozen vsits I would say that this is a well run and reliable hotel.
Nick

  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Nick946
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Managua hotels
5.7 mi away
Hilton Princess Managua
Hilton Princess Managua
#2 of 50 in Managua
672 reviews
6.4 mi away
Barcelo Managua
Barcelo Managua
#8 of 50 in Managua
398 reviews
0.9 mi away
Best Western Las Mercedes
Best Western Las Mercedes
#13 of 50 in Managua
721 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.6 mi away
Real InterContinental Managua at Metrocentro Mall
6.6 mi away
Holiday Inn Managua - Convention Center
5.4 mi away
Hyatt Place Managua
Hyatt Place Managua
#1 of 50 in Managua
474 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Globales Camino Real? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Globales Camino Real

Address: Km 9.5 Carretera Norte, Managua 11052, Nicaragua (Formerly Globales Camino Real)
Location: Nicaragua > Managua Department > Managua
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Spa Hotel in Managua
#3 Luxury Hotel in Managua
#6 Family Hotel in Managua
#8 Romantic Hotel in Managua
#11 Business Hotel in Managua
Price Range: $102 - $133 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Globales Camino Real 4*
Number of rooms: 121
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Globales Camino Real Hotel is located only 3 minutes from the airport of Managua and very close to the Casino Pharaohs. Surrounded by the beauty of the area it creates a unique ambience that is the perfect blend of ecology and luxury comfort. The hotel has of 121 rooms of the highest standard combined the excellent service from the highly qualified and trained personnel, guaranteeing you the most pleasant stay. The Globales Camino Real Hotel also has 11 well-equipped halls with a 1,500 person maximum occupancy perfect for conferences, events and special occasions. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, Booking.com, Orbitz, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Hotwire and HotelQuickly so you can book your Globales Camino Real reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Camino Real Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing